We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Bretton Woods

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Bretton Woods to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2653 Route 302 East, Mount Washington Resort, Bretton Woods, NH 03575   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Bretton Woods
Portsmouth UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

We recentley stayed at The Lodge to ski at Bretton Woods and my advice is go somewhere else. The Lodge first appearence is that it is run down however it is not quite that bad. The receptionist were effecient and friendly and the rooms were clean with all the basic requirements. That said it is never a $99/199 motel. The main problem is that if any other guest get up during the night you can hear them walking around and you dread anyone using the toilet setting off the extractor fan which is more akin to a helicoptor motor! The restaurant was only open for breakfast which was OK however the room was more like a works canteen. In relation to the location/resort it is miles from anywhere and is simply not worth being so remote. My advice is pick somewhere nearer civilisation and that is more reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    24
    30
    26
See reviews for
38
41
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2006

We (a couple) stayed at the hotel as a get away for two nights from Boston...what a waste of money.

The good: The lodge is close to the hotel, resort, and golf course. Beautiful location.

The bad: If you aren't stuck up, prepared to wear a button down shirt, sleeves rolled exactly twice, a sweater, slacks and nice loafers, you'll be looked down upon at Bretton Woods.

The ugly:
The $30/pp dinner buffet at the Hotel featured a grill where the meat was literally cold when I bit into it (asked for well done), the fish was very fishy, the shrimp was stocked once and never refilled (even upon request).

The check in at the lodge took 25 minutes and we were the only ones there. The room was small and very basic. The faucet made a loud whining noise and there were only towels for one person.

The pool at the lodge was excessively chlorinated -- worse than the local YMCA.

Breakfast was worse than a continental with plastic wrapped muffins (unwrapped for display), mediocre coffee, and sticky red and white plastic picnic style table clothes with flies everywhere.

We rented bikes to go riding through the mountains, my bike had a non-true wheel (wheel wasn't round), I asked for another bike -- the manager of the outdoor shop took it for a test ride and determined it would be fine. I later fell over at a high speed because the rear brakes were missing a brake pad. The bike was destroyed at that point and I had a golf course attendant drive a golf cart the two miles out to pick up the bike.

We discussed our situation with the manager of the resort, he was exceptionally uninterested. We didn't receive a response from them, and wrote a letter sent it with delivery confirmation. We talked with the credit card company and they refunded 1/2 the money because they agreed that our experience didn't meet what was listed on the website.

Don't bother -- it's a waste of your time. If you're going for skiing or golfing, stay at a non >$200/night motel and you'll get more localized and personal customer service. The resort tries to do too much with the staff and training they provide.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

Our family (two adults and two girls aged 8 and 10) stayed at the Lodge for two nights. The other parts of the Bretton Woods resort were full, so we booked the Lodge. We thought that because it was part of this well-regarded resort the quality would be good. We were wrong. The room was extremely musty, the airconditioner was very loud, and the lodge is in need of a major overhaul. It was not up to the standards of the average chain motel.

There were several motels we saw near the Mt Washington Auto Road and in North Conway that looked very well maintained. I would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2004

My family (family of 5) stayed at the Mt Washington Lodge for a full week during July'04. Staying at the Lodge allowed full access to the amenities of the Resort, across the street, and at the Bretton Woods facility. Free shuttle service was provided between all properties.
My whole family had a great time. The room at the Lodge was clean and roomy. The continental breakfast was plentiful and had variety.
The people were friendly and helpful.
The Resort was spectacular! My family never ran out of things to do. There was horseback riding, lounging at the indoor or outdoor pools, tennis, mini-golf, nightly movies, lounging on the longest veranda I have ever seen, enjoying the Cog Railway,and exploring the shops and restaurants on the property. The scenery was fantastic.
This is definitely on our list of places to re-visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2004

Went in mid-May to the Lodge, and the Mt. Washington Hotel. We couldn't justify, financially, paying 400/night for 4 nights, when we knew that we would be out hiking the majority of the time. So, we spent three at the Lodge and the last night at the hotel. The diner was closed b/c off season, and finding a meal after 10pm was impossible without driving 45 minutes down the road. We're on NYC eating time. The rooms were clean, and i really enjoyed the terrace - had a nice view of the hotel and the grounds. the cost was less than 1/3 of the hotel, and the shuttle to the property, and use of the facilities really made you feel like you were a part of the resort. would definitely recommend it for budget conscious people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Bretton Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Bretton Woods

Address: 2653 Route 302 East, Mount Washington Resort, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Bretton Woods 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located in the heart of the White Mountain National Forest in Bretton Woods, NH, The Lodge offers easy access to countless outdoor adventures, great balcony views overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and a soothing indoor heated pool. It's your base for outdoor adventures in New Hampshire's White Mountains.

In the shadow of Mt. Washington on Route 302, The Lodge is part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. Or simply enjoy the spectacular views on walks, bike rides and hikes on and around the property. Take a short stroll to the Omni Mount Washington Hotel, where you can sit on the veranda of this historic grand hotel or tour rooms where history was made.

The Lodge is ideally situated to take advantage of five ski areas just minutes away. Bretton Woods, New Hampshire's largest ski area, offers a friendly atmosphere, superior snow and four high-speed quads, while Nordic fans can ski 100 km of some of NH's best cross-country trails at the Bretton Woods Nordic Center. Your whole family will find plenty to do, and there's even the Kids' Club with activities that range from cooking with the chef, to trips, to snowshoe nature walks. And when you're ready to go out, you can use the convenient Resort shuttle to get around.

Each room at this conveniently-located motel has a private balcony or patio overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and the Omni Mount Washington Hotel. Our indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and sauna offer a soothing retreat. The Lodge's Hearthside Lounge is welcoming and cozy, perfect for a meeting or reception. With activities, restaurants, lounges, live nightly entertainment and other special attractions, there are plenty of opportunities to relax -- but no chance you'll be bored.

The Lodge is located in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, only 2 1/2 hours from Boston.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Bretton Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Bretton Woods Hotel Bretton Woods
Hotel Bretton Woods

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Bretton Woods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.