We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great value and delicious coffee...would definitely stay there again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Bretton Woods

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Bretton Woods to your Saves list
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2653 Route 302 East, Mount Washington Resort, Bretton Woods, NH 03575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great value and delicious coffee...would definitely stay there again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Last minute trip to ski Bretton Woods. We read some of the reviews, some good, some not-so-good but we are SO glad we decided to stay there! The location is perfect, right next to the mountain with free shuttle anytime door to door. The pool and hot tub are inside, really hot but great for after a long day of skiing. Rooms are a bit outdated but clean...request a top floor room, better view. The Lodge is also right across from the Mt. Washington hotel and you can even use their pool, charge to your room or go to "the cave" which is a nightclub (with shuffle board) that opens at 9:00. One thing we wished we did was bring stuff to make s'mores in their (mt washington hotels) fire pit!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    39
    37
    28
See reviews for
56
54
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This motel is right across the street from the Omni Mt. Washington hotel, so the location couldn't be better. What a great view of the historic hotel from our room! Of course, the driveway leading to the Mt. Washington hotel looks to be a mile long, so good luck walking it when the temps drop. They do offer a shuttle bus, though. The Lodge's great potential is squandered with torn carpets and towels, a tv from the 1980's, a loud heater, AND, the sonic booms coming from upstairs. Be sure to book an upstairs room because we didn't, and were awoken at 6am by what could only be described as a troupe of sumo wrestlers with a passion for bowling. It got so loud with the ceiling vibrating that I just had to see who (or what) could possibly be making so much noise. One finally emerged and walked down the outside stairs, sounding like they had twenty bowling balls in tow. It turned out to be a small boy walking slowly down the stairs in ski boots. All this noise and vibration coming through the walls from a small family of skiers. My point is that this motel (Lodge) needs to be updated, not just with new towels and maybe a new tv and carpet in the rooms, but structurally; the second floor needs to be reinforced and the whole place needs to be soundproofed. If Omni Resorts is paying attention, and decided to invest some of the profits from their Mt Washington hotel into this place, then they could certainly charge a lot more per room, and people would flock to this place. As it stands now, this place is simply a rip-off.

Room Tip: Second-floor only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I see many reviews here showing disappointment in their stay. As far as us, we stayed as a couple, used the pool (which was okay). Complimentary Coffee at the front desk, the staff were quite friendly. I think the rooms were clean and comfortable. We were pretty sure when we booked it was not a star accomodation we were getting, but cleanliness is so very on top of our list and this one meets it. Otherwise its pretty close to the Mount Cog Railway, a few restaurants, the Mount Washington Resort which you can reach by a free shuttle. Overall a good stay for us.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the road & Mt.Washington Resort, the otherside its just the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at 'The Lodge' at the Mt. Washington Hotel in Bretton Woods, NH.
It was a bad decision. This is a very downscale facility, too downscale, to be associated with the very upscale Mt. Washington Hotel. It is not located on the Mt. Washington Hotel property, but across the road from the main entrance.
It has open-air hallways and very small rooms.
The wi-fi did not work in our room which was as far away from the front desk as possible.
It is true that it was much cheaper than a room at the main hotel, but if I had known how downscale it was, I would have opted to stay in the higher-priced hotel, on the property, not in the embarassing Motel 6-ish 'The Lodge'.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex County
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When you have a large family and need two rooms, this is the place to go. We always get the adjoiningg rooms and use verything at the Mt. Washington Resort. The pool and spa area is nice and the staff is accomodating to your needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a great alternative to the Mount Washington Hotel. Staying here gave me access to the Mount Washington's amenities without having to pay the price for the rooms. The views from my window were outstanding. The rooms were typical of a motel. The beds, TV, table and chairs compared to what I was used to for the price. The staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable of the area. They had some great suggestions for places to visit. If you are in the area it is worth staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This place has really gone down hill since I was here five years ago. I really enjoyed it back then, so I came back. Mistake. The women at the front desk were not the friendliest, and the girl who checked me in knew nothing and told me nothing about the place. I had to ask my own questions about amenities, most of which are offered across the street at the Omni Mount Washington Resort. They got rid of the bar/restaurant that was in the hotel which was a huge disappointment since there isn't all that much in the area. How convenient is it to have a bar IN your hotel? Why would you get rid of this? Luckily the resort across the street has a bar there. We found mice in our room in the middle of the night. They gave us a new room but had no more king beds so we got down graded to queens instead. The rooms are fairly large and not too bad looking, but both had funky smells. Theres no fridge, no microwave, old box tvs, and big old keys instead of key cards. And one of the two keys I was given for the first room did not even work. For our second room we only received one key. The second room had no heat in the bathroom, it was freezing! The back hallway wasn't swept and was covered in leaves. I do like the setup of this motel-like place with the doors being outside instead of an enclosed hallway though and I like the balconies in each room, which I noticed the balcony railings are the only update to this run down place. HEATED indoor pool? I think not! Ice cold. But it is nice to have a pool at least and they have a jacuzzi and sauna as well. But I don't like how you have to go to the front desk to get pool towels. Why not just have them supplied in the pool area like everyone else does? The hike to both the pool and the office are outside in the freezing cold. I don't mind the walk to the pool, but the office too? There is an extra $25 resort fee charge on top of what you paid for the room so that guests can "enjoy many resort services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges." Aside from the miscellaneous $25 charge of course. This place is already overpriced! Anyway, um yeah, mice in the room. I know this place is in the woods and all, but have some better pest control! Woods or not, there shouldn't be filthy diseased rodents running around the rooms. And upon mentioning it again to the older front desk worker in the morning, he stated how he sees mice here all the time and doesn't think anything of it! Do yourself a favor and don't stay here. It's dirty. And not cheap. Might as well spend more money and stay across the street at their other hotel. It's much nicer and they are much friendlier and more helpful. It was a huge and very long ordeal and game of phone tag trying to get a refund through Orbitz and the rude and ignorant workers at The Lodge. Upon going to the Omni, the manager resolved our problem in a quick and courteous manner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Lodge during your recent stay. We apologize for your unpleasant experience, as that is not the level of cleanliness nor helpfulness that we expect to provide, and we are pleased that we were able to help resolve your issue before you left the property. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to meet all of your expectations on a future visit, perhaps at The Townhomes, the Omni Mount Washington Hotel or the Omni Bretton Arms Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Bretton Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Bretton Woods

Address: 2653 Route 302 East, Mount Washington Resort, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Bretton Woods 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located in the heart of the White Mountain National Forest in Bretton Woods, NH, The Lodge offers easy access to countless outdoor adventures, great balcony views overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and a soothing indoor heated pool. It's your base for outdoor adventures in New Hampshire's White Mountains.

In the shadow of Mt. Washington on Route 302, The Lodge is part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. Or simply enjoy the spectacular views on walks, bike rides and hikes on and around the property. Take a short stroll to the Omni Mount Washington Hotel, where you can sit on the veranda of this historic grand hotel or tour rooms where history was made.

The Lodge is ideally situated to take advantage of five ski areas just minutes away. Bretton Woods, New Hampshire's largest ski area, offers a friendly atmosphere, superior snow and four high-speed quads, while Nordic fans can ski 100 km of some of NH's best cross-country trails at the Bretton Woods Nordic Center. Your whole family will find plenty to do, and there's even the Kids' Club with activities that range from cooking with the chef, to trips, to snowshoe nature walks. And when you're ready to go out, you can use the convenient Resort shuttle to get around.

Each room at this conveniently-located motel has a private balcony or patio overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and the Omni Mount Washington Hotel. Our indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and sauna offer a soothing retreat. The Lodge's Hearthside Lounge is welcoming and cozy, perfect for a meeting or reception. With activities, restaurants, lounges, live nightly entertainment and other special attractions, there are plenty of opportunities to relax -- but no chance you'll be bored.

The Lodge is located in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, only 2 1/2 hours from Boston.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Lodge at Bretton Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Bretton Woods Hotel Bretton Woods
Hotel Bretton Woods

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Bretton Woods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.