We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience to be had” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Washington Cog Railway

Mount Washington Cog Railway
Base Road, Six miles off Route 302, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
800-922-8825
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/train, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb to the top of Mount Washington on the world's first mountain-climbing Cog Railway trains!
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great experience to be had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned home from a trip to visit family in Maine. Just wanted to comment on my trip on the Mount Washington Cog Railway. I would give the experience a definite thumbs up. Honestly a bit steep in ticket pricing. However the very informative and hospitable Parks Staff and employees, made up for it.
And in their defense, the discrimination claim I see also on here, to be frank, Is just a false statement. Actually a slanderous statement, and a very inaccurate account. This couple was very unreasonable and rather self absorbed towards there wants, than the needs of an individual having difficulties walking. I had the displeasure of having to sit behind them on the way up.
I must commend the railway's attention to the preservation of the environment with their fleet of bio fuel locomotives. Which I found the technology very interesting as well.
I would definitely recommend this trip to friends and family. It was a trip to remember.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    170
    47
    25
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazingly COOL experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to ride the cog-railway on june 4th.Due to windy conditions our trip was cut short to 3/4th way. In this modern age of bullet trains,it was nice to take a trip on a cog-rail,chugging slowly along on a incline of 30 degrees or more. Try taking a snap of yours while the train is climbing the incline without holding your hands .Our brakeman was very knowledgeable with the facts and anecdotes and kept us engaged .We regret missing out on the summit and its scenic views ,but the journey itself was wonderful and unique .Where else do one get to feel below 40F wind chill and see frost on grass with less than 10 feet visibility in June?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Up the Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We picked a nice clear day for our ride up Mt. Washington on the Cog. We has a blast. The engine is now "green" so don't expect steam, but that's OK. It's so much cleaner for both the riders and the environment. On the way up the trainmen had lots to talk about and were very entertaining. Once on the top we had a full hour on the summit and the view was clear, no wind, and very comfortable with a light jacket. The trip down was fun too, and we toured their very interesting museum and grounds down below too. Well worth a family trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Remarkable views and historical interest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This cog railway has been in operation since 1869, and the history behind the railway is fascinating. The views are breathtaking, and the brakeman had some funny and interesting stories for the group as we headed up the mountain. At the top, we had a brief view of the surrounding valleys and mountains before the clouds rolled in. Overall, a fun trip and really interesting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will Go Again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went yesterday for the first time. Our GPS found it perfectly - we used the coordinates given on the website in the coordinates section of our GPS. We took the train up the mountain. Both of my sons wish they had hiked up. We enjoyed the summit. We purchased gifts from both stores, but I liked the station store better for selection. Train down had an unexpected delay that added 45 - 60 minutes to the trip. Staff pleasant and efficient. Bathrooms were clean, and grounds were well maintained. We didn't eat at either restaurant so I can't give it a full 5.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Washington Cog Railway also viewed

 
Franconia, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Mount Washington Cog Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Washington Cog Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.