We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bear Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Bear Mountain Lodge
3249 Main Street, Bethlehem, NH 03574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #3 of 9 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The lodge is spectacular with exceptional accommodations, extremely clean, spacious, well laid out, etc. Michael and Carol are very warm, friendly and helpful in every way possible. This exceeded our expectations and will recommend this wonderful lodge to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    26
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
386
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic 9 night trip to BML (guess that may give away our anonimity Michael/Carol!). The BML is a stunning property with beautiful views from the dining room, lounge area, balcony and many of the rooms. The whole place was immaculate. Michael and Carol have thought of everything to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable from the moment Michael welcomes you with his tour to the time when you check out. We stayed in Wild Turkey, a large and beautiful room with a huge bed - easily the most comfortable we have experienced. The jacuzzi bath is excellent after a day out and doors onto the patio area are lovely just to step out of and sit with a coffee and one of Carols delightful home baked cookies.

Breakfasts were an absolute delight. We normally have juice and cerial at home every morning so when on holiday it was an absolute pleasure to receive a surprise two course breakfast every morning. We stayed 9 nights and never had a repeat breakfast. The breakfast always set us up for the day and we required very little for lunch. Michaels chatty presentation each morning only added to the experience.

The only small downside to BML is that you have to drive to get dinner somewhere but then I guess that is pretty much the same for most places in the USA.

Can't recommend this highly enough. If you are travelling to this area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The BML is a wonderful log-cabin themed bed and breakfast. Owner Michael greeted us upon our arrival and was extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The lodge itself is beautiful and very clean. The breakfasts were both nicely presented and delicious. Wi-fi is available, but we used the lodge laptop instead of breaking out our own to check the weather and find directions. The views from the deck & patio (also from inside the lodge) were beautiful. Even though we missed the peak color change, the views still provided many yellows and oranges, especially at the lower elevations. This is a great location if you want to enjoy some great hiking around Franconia Notch!

Room Tip: The Cowboy Roundup room was spacious and had a great view of the mountains. Comfortable bed and a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Virgin Islands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The BML is a great building in a great location. The views are stunning and you should pick a room that compliments this.
The entire building is spotless, as are the bedrooms. And the log cabin design is fantastic.
The hosts are very welcoming and friendly.

My only (very very small "issues") was that;

A sign on the door instructs that check in is from 3pm only, anyone arriving before, is directed to go to a cafe in the nearby town. Not good if you have just driven over 300 miles and just want to sit down!

The breakfasts (although of VERY high standard) is set, and no prior notice is given to what will be served (you see it once it leaves the kitchen) For instance, one morning a stuffed baked potato was served and I asked for perhaps a basic egg alternative but was told all the breakfasts had been prepaired and they could not cook indvidual meals.
The is no cereal alternative, nor any toast offered or served. Its rare that I find a place that does not have cereal, fresh fruit, juice and a toaster that you can help yourself too.
I believe the breakfast should set you up for the day, even if you're reduced to filling up on toast!
Being told "if you dont like it, dont eat it" is not good when leaving for a long day out!

There is plentiful tea, coffee, soda from the downstairs kitchen, but a coffee machine in the bedroom would have avoided the need to get dressed to come down and get it each morning.

Breakfast aside, the BML is great and we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: As many have mentioned - the "LOON" room although extremely comfortable, does allow conver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolKNH, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for such a great review and for sharing your thoughts - we always read all reviews to help us create an even better experience for our guests. As our website and confirmation state, check-in starts at 3pm. This is the most difficult issue that all innkeepers deal with daily - early arrivals. We need until 3pm each day to get the rooms and common areas "spotless" as you suggest so that all guests have the best possible, clean accommodations we can deliver. If we were to stop cleaning every time a guest showed up early or those who just want a tour of the Lodge, then when everyone checked in at 3pm their rooms would not be ready. This would not be fair to those who arrived after the stated check-in time. In addition, we do dozens of elopements a year and they take place at 1pm. This allows time for the ceremony and then an hour photo shoot - so we cannot stop taking care of the newly married couple to do early checkins. That is why we tell guests on the website and their confirmation that they should plan accordingly in their travel time to arrive after 3pm. So we will continue to offer check-in starting at 3pm and going until 9pm to accommodate those arriving late, and know that most guests understand the need for 3pm check-in start.

Each morning, Carol creates a wonderful breakfast for our guests. During the busy times, this means 18 plates of two courses, so 36 different plates leaving the kitchen each day. We ask guests at check-in if they have any food allergies or if there is anything that they won't eat. We then prepare breakfast accordingly, taking into account food allergies such as dairy or gluten intolerance. As a single cook, Carol cannot make a different breakfast for each guest but if a guest does not like a particular dish then we typically whip up some scrambled eggs. This particular stuffed potato dish is exactly that - a baked potato full of scrambled eggs with a cheddar cheese sauce. If asked, we certainly would have made toast for this guest if they didn't want to eat the potato - it's a routine occurrence for us especially when we have European guests who love their toast. Our dining room buffet is not large enough to hold boxes of cereal and a toaster - guests just have to ask and we will accommodate gladly.

Also, Loon is on our list to be updated next including another insulated wall between the great room. We typically don't have guests in the great room at 11pm, but we are going to take the steps to ensure that if they are they do not bother any guests who have settled in for the night.

Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

great host, food, location and rooms ! I would highly recommend this lodge. Everything about it is perfect. Love the location. Could not find better hosts. Even the 2 labs were great ! I would recommend going end of September for fall colors. Restaurants in Bethlehem and Littleton are great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here in early September 2012.

We had booked the Bear Mountain Lodge on the basis of the strong Trip Advisor reviews, and were not disappointed !

The room (Wild Turkey) was fantastic – it was large with a door onto the patio and an amazingly comfortable bed. The freshly prepared breakfasts were one of the best we had on our vacation trip.

Michael and Carol maintain both the property and the gardens, and have thought of everything you could need / want to relax whilst here.

We used Michael and Carol’s recommendations for our evening meals whilst we stayed, and we not disappointed by those either !

Thank you for a lovely stay !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Bear Mountain Lodge is a lovely bed and breakfast located in a lovely spot in New Hampshire. Mike and Carol have created a beautiful experience- a rustic lodge with friendly proprietors, a wonderful ambience and all the comforts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Lodge

Address: 3249 Main Street, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grande log bed & breakfast reminiscent of those in our National Parks, located in the heart of the White Mountains in Bethlehem, NH. Built of huge logs and decorated with comfortable western furniture, the Lodge is warm and inviting from the moment you walk through the front doors and catch a glimpse of Mt. Washington. With 9 romantic guest rooms, panoramic views, crackling fires and great breakfasts, we've created an atmosphere where you can unwind and feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Bear Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Bethlehem
Bear Mountain Lodge Bethlehem, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.