We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty smelling/Unfriendly innkeepers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Wayside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wayside Inn
Save
You added The Wayside Inn to your Saves list
3738 Main Street, Bethlehem, NH 03574   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Saint Johns, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Musty smelling/Unfriendly innkeepers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

The inn had a musty smell--the rooms were okay but the living room/hallways of this inn were terribly outfitted with careless mismatched threadbare furniture and bad lighting. The cook Victor--the owner-- abruptly demanded that we come to breakfast at his convenience (we suggested 8:30 am but he wanted earlier) The bathtub had a Jacuzzi but one was forbidden to use it between 9 pm and 8 am.....It was vastly overpriced for a mediocre breakfast, a shoddy environment, and unfriendly folk. Very few people were there...of course we would never repeat a visit there and hope our experience forewarns others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    28
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
20
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

As a group of 24 golfers, we have been going to the Wayside for close to twenty years now and the best thing we can say about the Wayside is that if the golf was all postponed due to bad weather (which it has never been) we would still have a great time because of the GREAT FOOD and wonderful staff. Owners, Victor and Kathe' are wonderful. Victor is the CHEF (capitalized because he is that good) and Kathe' is in charge. Motel section is where we stay-no phones in the rooms but we have not found it to be a problem-calls and messages get to you if needed. The babbling brook out back makes for sound and peaceful sleep. We all look forward to the trip each year and have a waiting list of guys wanting to join us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Stayed one night in January on a freezing cold evening. Stayed in a queen room on second floor overlooking RT 302. While we were moderately concerned about noise from the highway, by bedtime traffic had slowed down and road noise was negligable. Room was plenty large for the 2 of us, the room was clean and tidy.
Ate dinner that evening in the restaurant, hubby had a very good chicken dish and I had the veal. Both were well executed. They have a decent selections of wine by the glass. After dinner, we enjoyed one of the sitting rooms while we played cards. If you want TV, stay at the Hampton Inn in Littleton. If you want quiet B&B time, stay here.
Next morning, breakfast was included.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

My husband and I live in central NH and just wanted to get away...but not too far away. We decided to explore the White Mountains for a few days. We looked for a place that had character, a good bargain, and served breakfast. The Wayside delivered in all three categories.

We stayed in the older section of the Inn...part of the main house. Our room was spacious, very clean, and charming. Our only complaint would be that we had not packed shampoo/conditioner as we assumed there would be the usual complimentary toiletries provided. Not so.

The Inn itself is charmingly old-fashioned (main section). If you are looking for modern convenience and chic decor, this is not the place. Our room had neither TV nor phone..which was fine with us! The antiques and old books and games were sweet -- we loved the 'house' cats and dog, and our breakfast was wonderful...especially since it was accompanied by a view of the gardens and river.

We chose to have supper at the Wayside one evening. I had Chicken Simone (stuffed with crab and hazelnuts) and my husband had Venison. Both of our meals were delicious.

One other plus: there is a very nice spot behind the newer annex where guests can access the river and swim/wade.

The Wayside is perfect -- if you are looking for an escape from modernity and stress. If you would be lost without cable or other modern conveniences, I would recommend another Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

From the moment we were seated at this restaurant and smelled the overwhelming stench of cat pee, we sensed that disaster was imminent. We should have left at this point but stayed with the expectation of delicious Swiss food and because of the lovely setting. Unfortunately, our waitress knew nothing about the menu items and was unable to pronounce the names of the dishes. When asked about menu items, she merely read back the menu description. The food was extremely salty, fatty and of cheap quality. The water had an unpleasant flavor. The rosti potatoes were dry and flavorless. One member of our party ordered a salad with grilled chicken; the chicken was covered in barbeque sauce while the sald dressing was maple walnut-no thought to compatibilty whatsoever. The braised ribs were drenched in a thick gel-like glaze although the waitress had said they were light. All in all, a great dissapointment...

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New haven
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

I stayed at the Wayside for 2 nights on a trip to the White Mountains with my elderly parents. This historic inn is a few miles outside Bethlehem. It's nicely decorated with antiques. Rooms are large, renovated bathrooms are also roomy. The complimentary full breakfast was delicious, served in the restaurant overlooking beautiful perennial gardens and river. The in has several cozy sitting areas with board games, TV etc. The Wayside proved to be a good location for our scenic drives, short hikes and trip on the MT Washington Cog train.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

Going to the White Mountains, summer or skiing season, this Inn is a gem. There are nice rooms in the main building, but recommend the separate two-story motel-like building. All of the rooms have balconies looking onto the stream that runs by. Very pleasant. The Riverview Restaurant (the Inn owner is the Chef) in the main building is excellent and also has a wonderful view of the stream. We stayed an extra day just to enjoy the food.

  • Liked — The stream and the food at the Restaurant with breakfast cooked to order.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Address: 3738 Main Street, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of New Hampshire's White Mountains, close to the historic center of Bethlehem, the Inn is set by the beautiful Ammonoosuc River. Here is a favorite for family vacations, romantic getaways and group gatherings any time of the year. Guests gather in the Pierce Lounge before enjoying the Riverview Restaurant. Hearty New England breakfast starts your day, and dinner will be perfect looking out alongside the river and gardens. Your family dog is welcome is a special set of rooms. Everything is carefully and lovingly prepared by your host, award-winning chef, Victor Hofmann. Stroll the gardens under the brilliant New England night sky.Golf closeby. Hiking-Nature Walks-Fishing-Moose Watching-Biking-Birding-Swimming-Kayaking-Antiquing-Summer Theater. Winters:Skiing-Snowshoeing-Dog Sledding-Snowmobiling-Sleigh Rides-Snowtubing-Ice Skating-Maple Sugaring. New England at its best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wayside Inn Bethlehem, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.