We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great farm to tale restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Root - CLOSED

Root
2085 Main St, Bethlehem, NH 03574
603-869-5525
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We beautifully prepare earth’s freshest and finest ingredients for you—with a conscious effort to support local farms while using as many environmentally sustainable ingredients as possible.Located in the center of Bethlehem’s historic and beautiful Main Street, Root serves up fresh, locally sourced, delicious dishes in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Our authentic farm-to-table menu and beautiful ambiance create a truly enjoyable dining experience.Come experience what our LOVE of fresh and local tastes like…*Because we make everything from scratch in-house, almost our entire menu is gluten free upon request. Vegetarian friendly. Vegan upon request. Handicap Accessible. Entirely awesome.
Paducah, Kentucky
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great farm to tale restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a great dinner at Root. One of the best steaks I have ever had. The menu changes almost daily to reflect what is fresh and in season, but you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Great margaritas here too!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitefield, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The atmosphere, service and-- yes-- food were, without a doubt, among the highest level we have experienced throughout our entire world-wide travels. Who would think this delightful establishment would be in the little town of Bethlehem, NH? The relaxed environment adds to the incredible dining experience with unique, fresh cuisine unmatched by other regional restaurants. Will plan to visit every time we are nearby.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Was driving through town and was lucky enough to stop in at this restaurant for dinner. Fresh and relaxing, the food was artfully plated and delicious. Wine special was amazing (22$/bottle). We had the tomato salad, smoked trout salad, the duck, the sword fish, and the chocolate cake. The highlight was definately the trout salad, crisp and smokey with a hint of horseraddish. The only criticism I would have is that the tomato salad could have used more dressing and the firm goat milk panacotta that came with it didn't fit, and would have been better with a nice cheese.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Farm Fresh Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

During out third visit to Bethlehem, we returned to Root for a third time for dinner. On each occasion, the food has been excellent and we have had the same waiter (TJ), who is absolutely wonderful.
In the past, we have had the Korean Lettuce Wraps and the steamed mussels, both excellent. On our most recent visit, we finally tried the 25 Mile meatloaf which was better than any meatloaf we've had before. Our favorite though remains the lobster sausage and we hope it will return to the menu as an entree.
Overall, we like that the food is always freshly prepared and supports local farmers and will be sure to stop by on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Superb lunch, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a great lunch at Root, really excellent cooking and very good service. On the basis of that, we went back that evening, which was also very nice, but not as quite as memorable as our lunchtime experience, particularly the service which was slower and less friendly. Still, a very good find and we enjoyed the food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Root also viewed

Bethlehem, White Mountains
Bethlehem, White Mountains
 
Bethlehem, White Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Root, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.