We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful New England Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Bedford Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bedford Village Inn
2 Olde Bedford Way, Bedford, NH 03110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bedford B&B and Inns
Colchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful New England Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

The Inn fully met our expectations. Its restaurant and tavern were delightfully New England country and the wait staff friendly and helpful. Contrary to an earlier Trip Adviser review, we found the food exceptionally good and the wine and beer selections extensive.

Our only complaint was the creaking of the floorboards in the bedrooms. Squeakiness adds to the charm during the day, but it can be annoying -- especially if you are on the first floor after bedtime. I would urge the management to rip up the rugs and pepper the old boards down with a nail gun. Not a really big job, but it would eliminate the only detraction we found at the inn.

  • Liked — Colonial charm and ambience
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    25
    9
    8
    17
See reviews for
16
73
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

Actually Friday weddings do have to book all the rooms in the inn as do Saturdays. Sunday weddings do not.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

My husband and I were in a wedding on 9/29 and stayed at the BVI. The room was spacious and bed very comfortable. Bathroom was very nice, but I could have done without the used bar of soap on the side of the bathtub.

The meal we had at the wedding was good, but the sirloin was served without steak knives and everyone around me was having a tough time cutting it.

If you're planning to stay here...MAKE SURE..and I repeat...make sure there is no wedding going on. Most night weekend wedding parties are required to rent out the entire place anyway...but fridays and sundays are not.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon to the deafening sounds of a wedding D.J. We could hear "Celebration" "In Da Club" "Dr. Love" et al from behind our huge suite's closed doors. Luckily, by 6 pm, the wedding had ended. During the interim, we spent a very pleasant two hours at the inn's Tap Room, a dark, happy, and well-stocked place, enjoying their extensive (wildly good for NH) wine list and two excellently prepared margaritas. The Bedford Village Inn is luxurious for an "inn." The rooms are spacious. Flat screen TV's, free WiFi access, small refrigerators, well-dressed king-size beds, and a marble bathroom rounded-out the affects. We opted for room service from the Inn's dining room. Our dinner was excellent, and the service friendly. There remains however, something commercial and a little sterile about the Bedford Village Inn. Proximity to the highway and a corporate vibe diminished the extraordinary post-and-beam, soaring ceilings of the inn's "Great Hall" not to mention our room, where twenty-foot ceilings were supported with wooden arches straight out of an 18th C. barn. No doubt, this inn is the finest hotel in the Manchester area; I suppose I only wish it was more sure of its status as old or new, inn or hotel, "Celebration" or celebratory.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

My husband and I had always wanted to stay at the Bedford Village Inn, and we finally booked a long weekend there to celebrate our anniversary. We were notified several weeks in advance of our reservation that a wedding party was going to be at the Inn the weekend of our stay, so they moved us to the Woodbury Cottage on the grounds of the Inn. This turned out to be the upgrade of the century, because we were given the master suite and the run of the 3 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath cottage for the same price that we would have paid for one of the rooms in the Inn. The accomodations were absolutely beautiful, and the staff was polite and very accommodating. While we did not eat lunch or dinner at the Inn, we ate breakfast there all three mornings and we found the food and the service to be excellent. We also enjoyed a drink in the Tap Room one evening. I would highly recommend the Bedford Village Inn for a special experience. Yes, it's expensive, but we thought it was worth it.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

Just another inexplicable, dissapointing feature of the BVI. I really want to like this place so much because the decor and setting are so spectacular. I feel something magical and special is about to happen just walking through the grounds and entering the dazzling foyer and dining rooms, and always hope that this time the food will live up to the setting. The tap room is adorable with a lively fireplace and plush seating, a wonderul menu....and blah, unappetising food. I ordered fish and chips. Greasy, limp fish served with potato chips which were insanely salty instead of fries. My husband ordered scallop stir fry that seemed to be covered with high fructous corn syprup - sicky sweet and unappetising. Wine list was mediocre. Lots of bottled beers. Couldn't wait to pay the bill and get out of there. At least the Tap Room is not as big a rip off as the restaurant.

  • Liked — location and decor
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2006

Reviewer Alexandra Grigore

We had our Thanksgiving at Bedford Village Inn and this was our overall experience:
An overpriced mediocre meal:
The “Green Garden Salad” was quite stale and the steak was dry, overcooked and tasteless.
The staff was unfriendly and unaccommodating as if they were doing as a favor for serving us.

My advice to anyone thinking of trying The Bedford Village Inn:

Don’t go there because you will not get value for your money and you will be disappointed.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bedford Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Village Inn

Address: 2 Olde Bedford Way, Bedford, NH 03110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located Under 10 Minutes from the Manchester Airport and the Heart of Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bedford Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Village Hotel Bedford
Village Hotel Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.