We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Attitash Mountain Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Attitash Mountain Village to your Saves list
Attitash Mountain Village
1 River Run Road, Route 302, Bartlett, NH 03812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 ,third 1/2 off
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Bartlett
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great location ; across the street from many activities for the kids: alpine slide, water slides and mountain coaster etc really fun; close to shopping, wallking trails, we loved it; has nice indoor and outdoor pool ;badminton basketball sauna. ; the list goes on

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Attitash Mountain Village, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. Attitash Mountain Village is glad that you enjoyed your time at our beautiful resort. Having a alpine recreation resort with great summer activities right across the street is just one of the many reasons to come to Attitash Mountain Village. It sounds like you really enjoyed our resort amenities during your stay. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    100
    29
    23
    26
See reviews for
133
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We just returned from spending a week at the Suites at Attitash Mountain Village. We traded through RCI and had a one bedroom suite in the Parker building. We estimated that it must have been about 1300 square ft over the 2 floors, with 2 full bathrooms, laundry, jacuzzi tub in the bedroom, 2 gas fireplaces, balcony, 2 flat screen tv's, full kitchen with dining area, 2 hide-a-beds, a king bed and a murphy bed. There is free WIFI in the rooms.
The suite was clean, quiet and spacious. The grounds were like a campground with lots of pine and oak trees throughout the property. We didn't use the pools.
We ate at the resort restaurant twice and had a very reasonably-priced, and tasty meal both times. Service was quick and friendly.
The location of the property is convenient for shopping in North Conway, hiking in the White Mountains (many many waterfalls to visit), and even visiting the coast of Maine. We took an easy day trip to Portland ME as well as toured the Lakes District of NH. The Castle in the Clouds home and the Canterbury Shaker Village are well worth the drive. Also highly recommended is a trip to the top of Mt Washington. We used the van service and the resort can provide you with coupons for $5 off. You need one per person.
There is lots to do in the area even in mid September.
We were very impressed with the resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Attitash Mountain Village, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of our area attractions during your week in the White Mountains. We are glad that you enjoyed your room in our deluxe units at the Suites at Attitash Mountain Village. Each season offers new and exciting adventures, so we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked this resort through RCI for a one week stay September 8-15th. We had to leave our room early due to the inability of management to
move us to another room. This was caused due to the mice in the room
and walls. This was very disturbing at night with the scratching and
chewing of the building materials and the mouse poo in the sink cabinet
was simply unacceptable. The resort, I was told on our first day there,
was only half full.
I am very discouraged with their product and the lack of professionalism
and take charge attitude of their resort when an obvious problem is known (they had three traps in the room so they knew there were mice). I am also a travel agent and know things can go wrong. A simple change of room was all that was needed to be done but that did not happen. We had to leave early..just too spooky at night. I did send an email directly to RCi and so far they have apologized and said "You should have contacted us!". I did not see that written anywhere. I believe that one site management had control of the resort...guess not. Guess the management were working for the mice that week....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Attitash Mountain Village, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you most recent stay with us was not as expected and not up to our standards here at Attitash Mountain Village. Although we try to be proactive and resolve any possible issues that could happen during our guests' stays, we are not always able to correct all problems before they happen. We had an incredibly mild winter and therefore the area has seen a large influx in the woodland creatures. We have a licensed pest control company that frequently comes on property to try to prevent anything from getting into the buildings. They are also on call for any issues that arise.

Unfortunately, once a creature is in the unit, the only way to get them out is by setting traps. We try to use as humane traps as possible but have to put them in units in order to try to get the creature out once it is in. We are currently working with our pest control company to come up with a more aggressive approach to the situation for the fall and spring seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Arrived late in the afternoon on a stormy day...sounds like a horror story, doesn't it!!! Had a great meal in the pub. Curry chicken salad sandwich...and pizza.....too die for!! Great service. Lovely waitress.
So we head to the room in a down pour. We had a room with the full kitchen. Dishwasher, ice making fridge and a great stove. And a Murphy bed!,,What!!! Well either that or the pull out couch. It was so uncomfortable. The linens were all pilly after being washed so much and the blankets were ancient. Would it hurt you to at least provide a duvet? It's a ski resort for goodness sake!!
Now we were book to stay 7 nights...but checked out after 5..why? We had a visitor. Mice. Now my husband said it was probably a field mouse because it was the country. So a rodent is a rodent ! There were bate traps in the cabinets and one under the cabinet. We went to the front desk and they apologized and would fix it...yup...they hide them under the stove. But at 3 am we could hear them in the wall, or I hope they were in the walls. So to please me, we checked out
Now to be fare, the resort other wise was lovely (other than the bed and mouse) nice pools, enjoyed the trails. LOVED!!!!the mountain slides across the road.
Sorry it didnt work for me...

Room Tip: There were so many different rooms here check them out first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Attitash Mountain Village, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments in regards to your most recent stay with us at Attitash Mountain Village. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and waitress at the restaurant and will pass that along to their managers. We are sorry to hear that your unit was not as enjoyable.

All of our Studio Units are equipped with a Sico wall bed and a pull-out sleep sofa. The majority of our guests stay for an entire week and these beds allow for the unit to be used for more than just sleeping. We do have other options that have private bedrooms with either King or Queen size beds. The very mild winter we had led to a large increase in the amount of woodland creatures in the entire area, noticeably affecting us as the resort is tucked right into the woods. We are currently working with our pest control company to monitor all units of reported activity as well as be more aggressive with our approach for the fall and springs seasons coming up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for the 2012 Labor day weekend in a 2 unit apartment. My parents picked the *best* of 3 units, and if the best was this one, I am afraid to see the other two. So that there is no confusion for management, the room number is Building 2 D. First impression when entering room, was a stale/dirty feet smell. Carpets were dirty, dining table was wobbly, dark blue couch turning black with dirty stains. The apartment cannot fit 6-10 people as advertised: it had 2 broken twin beds, one "don't move or it will sounds like you are doing something naughty" queen bed and an uncomfortable sleeping couch for at most 6 people.

The upper bathroom was closet sized, the one downstairs okay sized, but both not clean enough.

Kitchen was okay, but oven has 2/4 stove eyes broken, while the remaining two were barely holding to the electric wires.

Living room had electric hazard with wiring nuts not covered by electrical box, under gas oven, providing plenty of worry for us as we had a 1 year and a 5 year old.

Besides the poor room conditions, the rest of the facility was mediocre: the indoor swimming pool was extremely dirty, opaque and green in color. The outdoor swimming pool was the only thing that was acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Attitash Mountain Village, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been and up to our normal standards here at Attitash Mountain Village. Unfortunately, after trying to research the specific condo mentioned, we have found that it could not possibly be 2D that was rented. 2D is an efficiency room with a Queen Bed and 1 Bathroom, not a two unit apartment like the comments suggest. Management is continuously doing inspections of units and requiring upgrades and updates to units as they see fit. We also take guest comments very seriously and pass these comments on to the owners of the units as well as our staff in order to work together to bring units up to standards. We also have maintenance and housekeeping on nightly to help immediately with any issues or problems that may arise during your stay. As mentioned in previous comments, all of our units are very different. Our 2 bedroom units especially vary greatly from unit to unit. When we state “sleeps 6-10” we mean some of our 2 Bedrooms only sleep 6, some sleep up to 10 and the rest are somewhere in between. Based on how many guests will be in the room, determines which 2 bedroom unit we assign. Our Indoor and outdoor pool facilities are constantly monitored to make sure all the proper chemicals are at state standards as well as temperatures are correct. The Labor Day Weekend was the busiest holiday weekend we have seen in a many year, and there were a large number of guests getting in and out of the pool. Our crew checks the chemicals and temperatures frequently throughout each day and makes adjustments as necessary. We encourage all guests to call the resort directly at 1-800-862-1600 to verify needs prior to booking online - and always verify the accurate number of guests staying in the room, and the number of beds required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England - USA
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for six days in September 2012. We were very pleased with our room, the location of the condo building (Stanton) where we stayed, the activities on the property itself and across the road at the Attitash Mountain Resort, and the choice of good restaurants both on the property and nearby. There are indoor and outdoor pools, DVD players in the rooms, DVD discs to rent, pool tables and a fitness center, a cafe, and some family-friendly and adventuresome things to do just across the road. You can ride the chair lifts, the alpine slide, or a sort of small roller coaster through the trees. There is a water park, hiking trails, and a moose tour. This is a good place for families, couples, and people who want to kick back and relax in the mountains. We had an overall very good experience with our room, the staff, and the resort in general. We're glad we came here, and would visit again.

Room Tip: If you want a room with an outside balcony, be sure to ask for one, and book early. I was unable to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've waited three weeks since our experience at Attitash to write this so I could be more objective about the conditions on the property and the staff. As I think about the problems we encountered and some of the staff's reactions (yes--reactions, not assistance), my blood pressure starts to pump!

We reserved a room suitable for sleeping four. When we opened the door, we were surprised at how small it seemed, even with the Murphy bed in the up position. It did not take long to tour the room due to its size. I note here that an inspection of the room is absolutely necessary upon check in due to the five documents you have to sign before receiving your key that assign you responsibility for any damage, missing towels, plates, spoons, etc. Be sure to count all of them. The threadbare beach towels might cost you $40 each!

Early in my tour, I noticed a hole had been kicked in the back of the bathroom door. There were no beach towels in the room--and we were responsible? The walls of rooms in Building 4 are paper thin and we heard noise from every direction. The next day, after several phone calls, Susan promised us another room the next day. BTW--the only reason this property gets two stars instead of one is due to Susan. She was usually responsive.

The room we were transferred to was new and a great improvement--until we turned on the bedside light. At that point, we lost all power. Maintenance responded and together, we discovered that the fuse box for our room was located in the room next door. It was occupied by a family with several kids. They were very understanding about the problem and allowed us to flip the breaker. Key note about maintenance--staff informed us there is one maintenance person on duty for 500 rooms--this was at 700 pm on Sunday, a popular check in day when problems are discovered.

Just before bedtime, another light was turned on and the power was gone again. We waited till morning to contact the front desk and were advised that an electrician would be out to fix it that day. Well, it took two more days. So now we are five days into our stay and have not had a fully functional room. When we contacted the FD on the first day the electrician did not arrive, we were told there was no manager on the property to speak to and wouldn't be for another 7 hours. Whether this is true (which I doubt) or not, it speaks loudly of management to have a staff person say this. If management is hiding, that is bad. If management doesn't know what staff is telling guests, it's worst.
When we called and asked to speak to the manager, we were greeted with, "I already told your son, there's no manager here." We explained that we don't have a son with us but the staff insisted we did until she determined that someone had failed to update the room status. Apparently, the people in the room before us had been moved due to the electricity issue and no one updated their system. Two BIG issues here--why give a room that you have a known problem with to someone who has already had a bad room? It is scary to think that room status is not updated when people move. If someone had tried to contact us, they would have been sent to the other room. Or, if someone were visiting the previous tenant, they might have been sent to us. And no manager on duty to take responsibility.
If you are thinking about buying time share here, look around. The gas grills were never operational during our seven night visit despite three contacts with maintenance. The dumpster was overflowing with garbage. The pool was so thick with chlorine, I shampooed three times afterwards and never went back.
Bartlett is a nice area. Nice trails. Beautiful waterfalls. Good food at Glen Junction and the Lobster Trap. But look for another place to stay. This place really is Hotel Impossible!

Room Tip: The second unit we stayed in was Stony Brook which is new. That helps but check for electricity. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Attitash Mountain Village, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was not as expected, and assure you based your report does not meet our standards that we strive for and expect of our staff. It sounds as though this stay was booked into our resort through RCI Vacation Ownership in River Run Condominiums. River Run is our silver crown resort on property. We have been and are continuing to make upgrades and updates to our properties, including this particular building in order to bring it up to what RCI considers a Gold Crown standard.Some of the units have been completely upgraded and others are still in the process. Upon hearing your concerns with the original unit you booked, we offered an upgrade at no extra charge to the newest building we have. That building just opened the beginning of the month and each unit had only been used a few times prior to your stay. Before we allow our guests in the units, our team works diligently to try to prevent and problems and foresee any issues that may come up. However, we are not always able to predict everything that could happen with a new building. We have been able to rectify the electricity issue and have not had any major problems with the building since. We have a large maintenance staff on property that handles all the units as well as the grounds. While the entire staff is not always on property at the same time, we always make sure there is a staff member on property, and another on call to deal with issues that may come up. On property, we have another RCI affiliated resort called Suites at Attitash. These units are our Gold Crown section and may have been a little more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Attitash Mountain Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attitash Mountain Village

Address: 1 River Run Road, Route 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bartlett
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BECAUSE WHERE YOU STAY SHOULD BE JUST AS MEMORABLE AS WHERE YOU VISIT. Welcome to Attitash Mountain Village Resort, where the views are as endless as the possibilities. We'd like to invite you to experience award-winning accommodations while visiting New Hampshire's North Conway and Mount Washington Valley region. Located at the base of Attitash Ski Resort, Attitash Mountain Village is a four-season destination resort surrounded by towering mountain peaks rising from the banks of the Saco River blanketed by native pine and white birch trees - offering over 350 rooms, suites, townhouses and trailside accommodations. Many units feature kitchens, gas fireplaces, spa tubs and mountain views. Experience on resort hiking, mountain biking, X-C skiing, ice-skating, kayaking and fishing with full access to indoor and outdoor pools, playgrounds, tennis courts, fitness facility with sauna, and indoor/outdoor hot-tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Attitash Mountain Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attitash Mountain Village Bartlett
Attitash Mountain Village White Mountains, NH - Bartlett

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Attitash Mountain Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.