We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful hosts but average accomodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bartlett Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bartlett Inn to your Saves list
Bartlett Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1477 Main St (US Rte 302), Bartlett, NH 03812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Midweek Ski & Stay Pakage
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bartlett
Marion, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful hosts but average accomodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

On our recent trip to New England, we stayed in several B&B's. For the price, I was disappointed with the Bartlett Inn in comparison to the other places we stayed. The breakfasts were good, but not as much food or as good as what we received at the other B&B's. Nick provided very helpful info about where to go and what to do while we were there and his directions were easy to understand. The Moose Tour is very hokey and I wouldn't recommend it at all. It consists of riding on a bus with other people at night while a bus driver shines a spot light along the road in areas where moose are usually seen. It lasts close to 4 hours and is boring. The tv in the cottage was small and hard to see from the bed and the bathroom was very small too. The bed was comfortable and we slept well and the room was very clean. It was difficult to get the temperature just right because the thermostat for the little gas stove heater didn't seem accurate. If you buy a "deal" or package, make very sure what's included and what the actual cost is. We were misinformed and ended up paying separately for something that was supposed to be included in our package. We weren't made aware of it till we turned in the key to check out and then I was told while Nick was serving breakfast to other guests, so we couldn't really discuss it. This was a beautiful area in which to stay and the White Mountains in the fall are gorgeous! I wouldn't tell someone not to stay here, just to be sure you have in writing what's included in your charges and what's not.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettInn, Owner at Bartlett Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. There was a misunderstanding with this guest. The Moose Tour is $28 per person and most guests choose to pay the driver directly to avoid paying us the 3% processing fee it costs us to run their credit card and then have to process a payment out to the Moose Tour Company. It is a choice we give for people to save money and this guest chose this option. To save this money the guest was to pay the driver directly. The room booked was a standard room for just $115 per night with a full breakfast which is a great deal as most other hotels, b&bs charge $145-$165 for the same room types without a cooked ot order breakfast during this peak time! Although briefed at check-in this guest did not understand that for the heat to work you have to move the thermostat dial to the heat you want. The thermostats were kept at 50 degrees that day as it was in the mid 70s but with expectations of a chilly night we did not turn the heat off just advised to adjust thermostat as needed...a simple thermostat like at home just move the lever from left to right to increase the heat to the temperature setting written on the dial. When the innkeeper went to help with the heat problem he simply turned the themostat from 50 to 68 and the next morning the guests reported it was very comfortable. For our breakfasts we do like to keep it simple: We start with a plate of fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juice and then guests order from the menu either a special of the day or eggs any style on the grill with bacon, sausage or veggie sausage and wheat toast or English Muffin. Specials change daily and include waffles, pancakes, Huevos Rancheros, quiche, Greek omelet etc. ..there are always cheerios. Most guests love that they have a choice and that their breakfast is cooked to order. Give us a try.. most guests really enjoy staying at the Bartlett Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    42
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
72
88
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

Wonderful B&B with the best inside information on tours and food. Rooms are cozy, clean with super nice bathrooms, fireplace in our room and delicious breakfast every morning. Always great advice from owner Nic, who leads this place with lots of heart! Thank you for a wonderful honeymoon! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington,NH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Not one of the best Inns we have stayed in, room was clean, but that was it!! No TV in the room, and there was a make beleive fireplace. Breakfast was so so, anyone can cook eggs??

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettInn, Owner at Bartlett Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
We appreciate the feedback and remember this couple..very nice. They stayed in our Inn Room 1 on the 3rd floor. We are surprised at the review as this is a room with a very strong following of repeat guests on the 3rd floor and very roomy. This room does have an electric fireplace..a very nice one..we thought it would be better than none as a source of heat and appreciate the feedback. The room is fully described of what it contains including the electric fireplace and no TV so not sure what was expected. The Bartlett Inn is a homey cozy bed and breakfast..it is like staying at Grandma's House. At the moment we have chosen not to put Televisions in our inn bedrooms and most of our guests prefer this. This detail is also included in the rooms descriptions and if a TV is required we have 10 cottage rooms to choose from that do have TV in the room so not sure why this guest booked a room that does not have television. For the Inn Room guests there is a TV in the living room for all to use and there is also WiFi throughout the inn. For our breakfasts we do like to keep it simple: We start with a plate of fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juice and then guests order from the menu either a special of the day or eggs any style on the grill with bacon, sausage or veggie sausage and wheat toast or English Muffin. Specials change daily and include waffles, pancakes, Huevos Rancheros, quiche, Greek omelet etc. ..there are always cheerios. Most guests love that they have a choice and that their breakfast is cooked to order. Give us a try.. most guests really enjoy staying at the Bartlett Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had to cancel our trip when my wife's mother became gravely ill and return immediatly to Oregon. They were able to re-rent our room and were very gracious about this situation, despite myself being, quite frankly, rude and short with them. My deepest thanks to them in our troubled time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My family stayed at the Bartlett Inn in July 2011. The owners are great, warm and friendly people who make your stay wonderful. It is close to most attractions.
I have been to NH at least a dozen times. I have stayed in many B & Bs and hotels. This is an inn to return to again and again!!
Fondly,
The Ellis Family

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house. All rooms are comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our last getaway before our twins arrive in late December. I had booked the "romance package" which included two nights in the Bemis Cottage and other accompaniments. Upon arrival and check in, NIck, immediately gave us recommendations on local restaurants, shops and activities. I had initially wanted to try one of the more upscale ones in the area and he said to not waste our money. (I like not wasting money...Maestro's was where he recommended we go.) Our cottage was very cute, comfortable and very well maintained. Our stay also included breakfast which was all well prepared. Overall, a great place! I would definitely recommend this place for anyone!

Room Tip: Choose a cottage with a wood burning fireplace!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at the Bartlett Inn a few weeks ago in one of their cottages - it was perfect for our family of four plus a dog. Comfy bed, classic deep bathtub, bunks for the kids (they loved it) nice fireplace, heated pool. The kitchen was great for lunches and dinner, but what a treat to have them cook you breakfast. The innkeepers could not have been more hospitable, friendly and charming. Watch out for Nick he has a million funny stories, he'll have you laughing and relaxed in no time.

We wanted to stay outside of the hub bub - but close enough to everything and the location is ideal - we went hiking, did the shops, checked out some waterfalls, all the suggestions of the innkeepers - they are a wealth of local knowledge and know some great hidden spots. You should stay here - it's not just another boxed room in a chain - it has personality, charm and everything you really need.

CJ

Room Tip: We loved the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bartlett Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartlett Inn

Address: 1477 Main St (US Rte 302), Bartlett, NH 03812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bartlett Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn that is more like a small European hotel with inn rooms, cottages, with fireplaces, kitchenettes, Jacuzzis. A great base for all White Mountain activity (alpine and x-c ski, hiking and mountain biking trail access, Story Land,Santa's Village, Polar Express Packages) & just relaxing. Yummy country breakfast included. Expert trail advice, Outdoor hot tub/Pool. Great for couples and families; Pets welcome in cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bartlett Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartlett Hotel Bartlett
Bartlett Inn White Mountains, NH

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bartlett Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.