We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, child friendly, great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Colony Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bartlett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Colony Motel
Save
You added North Colony Motel to your Saves list
1025 US Rt 302, P.O. Box 1, Bartlett, NH 03812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bartlett
Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, child friendly, great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed for two nights, Aug 2&3. This motel was great! Very, very clean, loved the micro and fridge in the room, beds were comfy. The owners were super nice and helpful with all the questions we asked and had coupons for local restaurants. The play area was awesome for our two little ones, the pool looked great, we just didn't get time to use it. We plan to go back and stay next year! I have nothing bad to say about this place. We had a great experience staying at the North Colony Motel, the owners get an A++++ for all their hard work.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JandCsMommy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

I'll be honest-I skeeve when staying in motels, and much prefer hotels, but this area gets pricey, and for the amount of time spent in the room I figured we were better off getting something more budget friendly. I booked this motel based off the great reviews here, and it did not disappoint. My biggest issue is cleanliness, and this passed with flying colors. What I loved most was that the bathrooms were updated, and they even have the curtain rod that bows out in a curve so the shower curtain does not touch you. There was a fridge and microwave in the room which was very convenient, and the owners were very friendly, helpful, and knowledgable. They recommended Glen Junction for breakfast and it was great. The playground was phenomenal for my 2 and 4 year old, and although we never got a chance to use the pool it looked fantastic-well maintained and an awesome waterslide. We will be back and I highly recommend it to anyone traveling to this area!

The only con was the beds were VERY hard. They were not the most comfortably but they were CLEAN!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

This was the second year we've stayed at the North Colony during our winter ski vacation. We absolutely love this place! It's not fancy. It's not glitzy or glamorous. But it is clean clean clean. It is very comfortable. A fridge and microwave in every room. The views from the front porch are incredible.

The motel is a family-run place. Joe and Nancy and their two kids live on-site. They are friendly and helpful always. It's just minutes to all the best ski areas of the white mountains. We haven't been there in the summertime, but wandering around the property it looks like the pool and the kids playground would be great fun for summer guests.

The motel is adjacent to the Bear Notch Ski Touring center, which offers miles of trails for cross-country skiing and snowshoeing, and is nearby to the downhill ski areas. Joe and Nancy can get you discounted lift tickets at all the area ski hills. They also have discounts available for Cranmore's snow tubing park.

We plan to go back to the North Colony year after year for our ski vacation. It really is a great place to stay. Not fancy, just clean, comfortable lodging at a great price.

  • Liked — Clean clean clean. Friendly people, and great location - amazing views!
  • Disliked — Why aren't there coffee makers in the rooms???
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

Just west of Attitash resort. Even though most rooms were booked - no noise passes between rooms. No views from the room but nice views from the parking lot and you're right on 302. It IS a few miles to store/restaurants, but for $50 per night I thought it was a very good deal.

  • Liked — Cleanliness - friendly owners
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

This was a great place. The owners are so welcoming and helpful. We asked about Seafood restaurants in the area and they provided us with two possibilities, including a coupon for one and a menu to look at for the other. My kids (13 and 8) both loved the pool and the extensive playground. Our room was nice and clean and the location is quiet. This place is about 5 minutes from StoryLand and about 10 mins from downtown North Conway. Close to Attitash, as well. It's a nice, central location to all of that. And the price was great!

The only reason I gave it a 4 was because our mattresses were, as my husband called them, "plywood covered in fabric." Very firm and hard. If you like that, you'll be fine, but not our thing. We both woke up aching.

  • Liked — location, price, cleanliness, pool, playground
  • Disliked — hard mattresses
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

We absolutely loved staying here. We were there for 4 nights.Very Clean, nice size rooms. Bathrooms look newly redone. Owners are wonderful and very pleasant. Yes, it's away from the hub bub of North Conway and all the restaurants, but we still did well.Also, very kid friendly, lots of play areas for them. We will definitely be going back.

  • Liked — How clean it was
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

I was impressed with the cleanliness of the place, and there's a great playground for the kids, lots of grass, some flowers, and a nice pool. The rooms are not special, but they do have everything I expected, including two comfortable arm chairs. Only the bouncy foamy pillows were sort of bogus, but they did look new. The price was right too.

And the TV remote worked every time!

Though I'm a coffee snob, the a.m. coffee setup near the office was being enjoyed by quite a few people, and the enclosed porch area that runs the length of the building is a great touch for not-so-nice days. We stayed in one of the back buildings - no porch, but new construction.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Pillows
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Colony Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Colony Motel

Address: 1025 US Rt 302, P.O. Box 1, Bartlett, NH 03812
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Comfy and Affordable lodging. Located at the base of Attitash Mt, only 4 1/2 miles to Storyland and 9 miles to North Conway tax free shopping. All our motel rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, full bath with tub and shower, Cable TV, DVD player and Air conditioning. Cottages with kitchens. Great Stay and Play packages available! Your children will love our play area and outdoor pool. During the winter we offer reasonable Ski and Stay Packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Colony Hotel Bartlett
North Colony Motel White Mountains, NH - Bartlett

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Colony Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.