We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knapp/Nunes wedding weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Valley Motel & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sky Valley Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
SkyWay, 1088 Rte 302, Bartlett, NH 03812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bartlett
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gloversville, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Knapp/Nunes wedding weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

we had a fantastic time at the sky valley motel, they are so accomadating and the cabins and rooms are homey. Has a great pool and super playground for the little ones and the big ones to play. outside fireplaces got used alot and got to see most of the rooms as the families took the whole compound. If you want a great place to stay and be close to all things happening consider here. We will be back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Yes; the wedding, food, music and fun all happened without any problem and many guests told me how pleased they were at the bride and groom's selection of Sky Valley for both the ceremony and reception. I think all will have fond memories of the 50 tube Saco River trip made possible by Andes Sports.

We appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts and we have a feeling we will be seeing most of you again sometime.

Dave/Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    61
    13
    7
    13
See reviews for
124
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our visit to Sky Valley couldn't have been better! First off, the staff are wonderful - friendly, available and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful and soooo kid-friendly. We got the Storyland package and the value was unbeatable. The units are situated around a large field with a playground in the middle where kids of all ages can run and play giving the adults a little break from entertaining them every second. There are also grills for use and a huge fireplace chimney with wood and chairs. The inside of the motel units are clean and neat as a pin as well as spacious. We felt very comfortable sleeping and relaxing inside especially with the flat screen vizio tv which was an unexpected treat. My husband lives for AC at night so he was glad to have that as well. We made use of the pool (so refreshing and HUGE!) with a nice area for the little ones who can't swim that goes up to their legs. There were sprayers, towels, plenty of chairs and tables as well as blow-up toys and floats for use. We also took advantage of the river frontage they have (1300' of it!) both days that we were there. There was nothing better than being able to walk down through the wooded path to the rocks and the river and float and explore. The kids loved, loved, loved it and kept begging to go back. My cousin had the new Saco Suite with her two kids and they enjoyed the spaciousness of the room. We kept remarking how much it was like camping without the discomfort of tents! I think the owner and staff do a great job of up-keeping the property and I will DEFINITELY stay here every time I come to the White Mountains.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Here's another review that I find difficult to add anything. As mentioned, the new Saco Suite has been well received and is a perfect fit for the old folks in one room and the kids in the other room. You each get your own A/C and TV and there is a handy hallway with a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink.

We appreciate your taking the time to share and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have been staying at sky valley since i was 10 years old, my father would bring me and my sister up for a week and have some of the best memories from my childhood there. So now im 26 and wanted to show my girlfriend how beautiful and fun Conway and Barlett is sky valley was my first choice even thought i had not been up there in about 5 years. When we first pulled into the resort after a long drive from mass i noticed that they had done alot of work to the place and look even better than the last time i stayed there, the grounds were beautiful they had added on to several different buildings. The pool was pretty and clean and still had the big fountain spraying that i loved as a kid. Upon check in we were warmly greeted and was given all the information we needed about the hotel and the conway/bartlett area as when as some great tips which i really appriciated because it got my girlfriend who has never been to the area really excited about our vacation. We were given our key to out apartment c room and headed over to see it and un pack, now the thing you need to relize about sky valley is the owners take great pride in there property its clean, beatiful and done right. first things you will notice heading to your room is the giant stone fire place, the beautiful pool with its unique fountain that kids love and a entire play ground with all new playground equipment such as slides swingsets and see saw, even a swing and volleyball net for the adults! As we pulled up to our room we noticed our building had a big front yard with our own bbq grill, picnic table and lounge chairs all on beautiful grass! when we walked into our building we had gorgeous front sunroom with cute indoor garden which my girlfriend love this room had the bright sunshine coming right through the transparent roof and the floor was all done in beautiful brick work, and we had not even opened the door to our room yet ! we we entered our apartment we were very impressed, it was huge! the first things i noticed was it was clean and smelled clean, which is a big deal if you stayed in cottages before in new hampshire like i said they take care of there rooms here. our apartment had a big living room with a giant fireplace, flat screen tv, a very comfotable couch which was also a pull out a nice rocking chair and lounge chair. over to the right we had a full kitchen with full size fridge, oven microwave sink and cabinets fully stocked with cups plates and anything we would need. Our apartment also had a big bedroom arean with a huge bed which matress was nicer then mine at home and a vanity mirror/ dressor that i had to pull my girlfriend away from each morning. Another unique part of our room was the dinnind area we had a nice tall cafe style table with tall chairs that we ate lunch ate every day which sat infront of a big picture window it was perfect. our bathroom was bigger than our at home and was also cleaner! shower was spotless and had an awsome shower head nice vanity sink and all plumming worked perfect which is another big deal if you are farmilar with the mountains. Our a/c in the room was powerfull kept our entire ap[artment cold even on 90 degree days. Apartment c made our entire trip we got to save a bunch of money on food cost by cooking in the room and stocking our fridge with cold cuts and drinks for lunch, at the end on the day we got to sit in a big comfortable living room to watch our flat screen tv to relax, then had the best nights sleep in a cool room on a great bed. Wee also used there firepit outide to make a great campfire to roast marshmellows and make smores got to use the great pool before we left and even took advantage of the free breakfast and cofee! we even explored the saco river which is on the sky valley property we through on water shoes and stolled down the river and was lucky enough to see some hawks and falcons above the river. Overall this stay at sky valley was perfect and we thank the staff for making it so great we will absolutly be back!

Room Tip: Apartment C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Wow, what could I possibly add or detract from that thorough summation?

Actually, only one thing; the playground swings and see/saw are not new. They have been here for almost 60 years...I guess we just take good care of them so they look new. There are a few newish additions in the past few years though.

If you are just one or two people (that's the maximum in "C") and have no kids, then Apartment "C" is a great choice,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts,

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great place for small kids. Huge area for kids to run & play. Nice having the river right down the path, although the path was a little hard to follow and was over grown. The pool is great, especially the gradual decline. Grills and picnic tables were a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and we are glad you enjoyed your most recent visit.

There are several ways to get to our 1300 feet of river frontage, most are easier than one little trail I can think of...(the little path closest to Cottage 8 is a bit wild). Many folks just walk a few hundred feet across a wide open field and viola! You're there! I am going to add it to my list to clear up that other little path though and I'm glad you reminded me.

"Grills, picnic tables", yes. And don't forget the fire-pit at each cottage.

Hope to see you again,

Dave

++++++
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Rooms were old and dirty. Lots of bugs in the room. Pillow cases had visible obvious stains and hairs on them and the towels had stains and were dirty. Shower had stains and bugs in it. Pool was nice but overall felt pretty dirty sleeping and staying in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
This doesn't sound like us and we can't find your Trip Advisor name or your town listed in our reservations for June...but ill respond anyway;

Our rooms are old...but most of our guests find them well maintained, well furnished and clean. A stained towel or pillowcase may have slipped past our housekeepers but it is certainly not our practice to use such items.

Bugs? well, we do have mosquitoes and other buggy critters flying around but they generally don't get into the rooms and we have all our units professionally sprayed for bugs of all sorts two times a year. We wonder what unit you stayed in, since we would re-check the bug issue if we knew where to look.

If Sky Valley is in fact where you stayed, we apologize and wish you had mentioned these things while you were here; we definitely would have tended to your concerns.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have been coming to sky valley since I was little with my family and always had the best time coming here so I wanted to share this experience with my husband and kids. They love it here and there's always something for them to do whether its going in the pool, the saco river or just playing on the playing ground. Its quiet and secluded but yet so close to everything. We always rent a chalet or cottage when we go and for the price of one its still cheaper than a small hotel room somewhere else. We love staying at Sky Valley and i will keep it a family tradition of staying here with my kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Sky Valley can definitely become addictive! We have many folks who stayed here when they were children and now stay here with their children. We try to keep the experience about the same as it was 30 years ago...except of course the accommodations have needed constant upgrading, but the land and river and the 35 acre outdoorsy atmosphere remains about the same.

We had several "check-ins" today that consisted of 60 year old grandparents who have stayed here for the past 40 years or so, Their children who have stayed here for 20 years or so, and now grand-children who may also become attached to the experience. Occasionally we have folks who stayed here 50 years ago on their honeymoon and are surprised that we are still here and haven't "cluttered up" the place with buildings and parking lots.

Thanks for taking time to express your thoughts and we are glad to have you as "part of the family".

Dave

+++++++++++++++++++++
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Had a great time at Sky Valley. Grandson stayed in cabin 5 and had a lot of fun. The boys got to play in the pool and had a blast. Took a walk out to the Saco, what a view. Can't wait to get back again. We when to Story Land so nice to be staying so close. Trials End Ice Cream is just across the road from Sky Valley well worth the short walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your visit once again,..It is nice to put the kids and grand-kids in a cottage and the "old-folks" can have their own separate motel unit for when they get tired of "grand-parenting".

With our 35 acres of space there is definitely plenty of room for kids to roam about and explore. The Saco River frontage (1300 feet is ours) also provides plenty of entertainment.

We appreciate your taking time to share your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again...maybe before next June?

Best regards to you and the family,

Dave
+++++++
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sky Valley Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Valley Motel & Cottages

Address: SkyWay, 1088 Rte 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 units spaciously situated on 35 acres fields, forest and Saco river frontage. Traditional motel type units, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages and chalets. Perfect family resort with a low-key atmosphere. 5 acre children's playground, huge pool, a/c in all units, all units way off the main highway. Free continental breakfast during in-season, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sky Valley Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Valley Motel And Cottages
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages Hotel Bartlett
Sky Valley Hotel
Sky Valley Bartlett
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages White Mountains, NH - Bartlett

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.