We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Valley Motel & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sky Valley Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
SkyWay, 1088 Rte 302, Bartlett, NH 03812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bartlett
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent family getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great place for small kids. Huge area for kids to run & play. Nice having the river right down the path, although the path was a little hard to follow and was over grown. The pool is great, especially the gradual decline. Grills and picnic tables were a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and we are glad you enjoyed your most recent visit.

There are several ways to get to our 1300 feet of river frontage, most are easier than one little trail I can think of...(the little path closest to Cottage 8 is a bit wild). Many folks just walk a few hundred feet across a wide open field and viola! You're there! I am going to add it to my list to clear up that other little path though and I'm glad you reminded me.

"Grills, picnic tables", yes. And don't forget the fire-pit at each cottage.

Hope to see you again,

Dave

++++++
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    61
    13
    7
    13
See reviews for
124
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamden
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Rooms were old and dirty. Lots of bugs in the room. Pillow cases had visible obvious stains and hairs on them and the towels had stains and were dirty. Shower had stains and bugs in it. Pool was nice but overall felt pretty dirty sleeping and staying in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
This doesn't sound like us and we can't find your Trip Advisor name or your town listed in our reservations for June...but ill respond anyway;

Our rooms are old...but most of our guests find them well maintained, well furnished and clean. A stained towel or pillowcase may have slipped past our housekeepers but it is certainly not our practice to use such items.

Bugs? well, we do have mosquitoes and other buggy critters flying around but they generally don't get into the rooms and we have all our units professionally sprayed for bugs of all sorts two times a year. We wonder what unit you stayed in, since we would re-check the bug issue if we knew where to look.

If Sky Valley is in fact where you stayed, we apologize and wish you had mentioned these things while you were here; we definitely would have tended to your concerns.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have been coming to sky valley since I was little with my family and always had the best time coming here so I wanted to share this experience with my husband and kids. They love it here and there's always something for them to do whether its going in the pool, the saco river or just playing on the playing ground. Its quiet and secluded but yet so close to everything. We always rent a chalet or cottage when we go and for the price of one its still cheaper than a small hotel room somewhere else. We love staying at Sky Valley and i will keep it a family tradition of staying here with my kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Sky Valley can definitely become addictive! We have many folks who stayed here when they were children and now stay here with their children. We try to keep the experience about the same as it was 30 years ago...except of course the accommodations have needed constant upgrading, but the land and river and the 35 acre outdoorsy atmosphere remains about the same.

We had several "check-ins" today that consisted of 60 year old grandparents who have stayed here for the past 40 years or so, Their children who have stayed here for 20 years or so, and now grand-children who may also become attached to the experience. Occasionally we have folks who stayed here 50 years ago on their honeymoon and are surprised that we are still here and haven't "cluttered up" the place with buildings and parking lots.

Thanks for taking time to express your thoughts and we are glad to have you as "part of the family".

Dave

+++++++++++++++++++++
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Had a great time at Sky Valley. Grandson stayed in cabin 5 and had a lot of fun. The boys got to play in the pool and had a blast. Took a walk out to the Saco, what a view. Can't wait to get back again. We when to Story Land so nice to be staying so close. Trials End Ice Cream is just across the road from Sky Valley well worth the short walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your visit once again,..It is nice to put the kids and grand-kids in a cottage and the "old-folks" can have their own separate motel unit for when they get tired of "grand-parenting".

With our 35 acres of space there is definitely plenty of room for kids to roam about and explore. The Saco River frontage (1300 feet is ours) also provides plenty of entertainment.

We appreciate your taking time to share your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again...maybe before next June?

Best regards to you and the family,

Dave
+++++++
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My family stayed in cottage 8. This is our second time staying here and in the same cottage. It's the perfect place for our family of four. We were happy to see the addition if a fire pit and used it almost every night. The owners are unbelievably nice and helpful. For those with kids they have a swings, and some outdoor toys and a pool. I recommend staying at Sky Valley!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Manager, Maureen, said that everyone would really appreciate the fire-pits and gas grills that we put at each cottage. As usual, she was right.

We are glad to hear that everything was just as expected and we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.

Look forward to seeing you next time you get to Bartlett !

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Roxbury
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Sky Valley, cottage 5, for our family trip to Santa's Village and Story Land at the end of June. The cottage was the perfect size for 4 adults and a toddler, with room to spare. The staff was very accommodating and had lots of tips for the best dining and shopping. Loved the pool. The firepit was a big hit. Would definitely stay there in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your Sky Valley experience.

As always, we are glad to hear that everything was enjoyable and just as you expected. This being our second in a row positive review of Cottage #5, it seems all the work we did there during May and June has been well received. We are are constantly upgrading one thing or another to keep everyone happy with Sky Valley.

We look forward to seeing you again whenever you get to Bartlett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was my first time staying here, we stayed in cabin 5 and it was awesome, The only bad thing I could say about it was some of the electric outlets were lose and I could not plug things into them but there were plenty of outlets so it wasn't a big deal the list of good things far outweighs that, the beds were very comfortable the cottage was the perfect size the ac blew very cold air, the fire pit and grill were right outside our door, the pool was great and having the saco river out back was nice to next time I will make a whole afternoon of hanging out by the river, the cottage was clean and the people who work there I think the owners were really nice, the pool was also great, so lots of great things and we will be back next yr, I would recommend this place to anyone, also the ice cream stand across the street was amazing, best ice cream I have ever had and the park there is great for kids, I look forward to going back next yr

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Yes...you get to deal directly with people who care and strive to make your visit pleasant and memorable. In this case, probably Maureen, Alice and Dave.

About the plugs... we started our spring projects in Cottage 5, which involved redoing bathroom walls, ceilings and floor, replaced the kitchen floor, repainted ceilings, brought the bathroom electric outlets "up to code" and just about when we thought we were done, discovered that the furnace for heat and hot water had reached its useful life, so another week got used up replacing that. Then we had one day left to get it ready for an incoming reservation...and you found out the one thing we overlooked...a few more plugs should have been replaced. I'm sure that's a longer excuse than you wanted to hear, but that's how things sometimes go around here. We always find more to do than we have time to get to, but we definitely do try..
To finish on a positive note, we are happy that a few loose plugs was your only issue.

And you are right, there is so much to use, experience and enjoy at Sky Valley it almost always makes for a perfect family venue, and that's what we are always working to enhance.

Thank you for taking the time to send your thoughts, we really appreciate it. And we look forward to your return visit whenever you get to Bartlett again!

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sky Valley Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Valley Motel & Cottages

Address: SkyWay, 1088 Rte 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 units spaciously situated on 35 acres fields, forest and Saco river frontage. Traditional motel type units, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages and chalets. Perfect family resort with a low-key atmosphere. 5 acre children's playground, huge pool, a/c in all units, all units way off the main highway. Free continental breakfast during in-season, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sky Valley Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Valley Motel And Cottages
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages Hotel Bartlett
Sky Valley Hotel
Sky Valley Bartlett
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages White Mountains, NH - Bartlett

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.