We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate at best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villager Motel

Save Saved
You added Villager Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villager Motel
1126 Route 302, Bartlett, NH 03812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Bartlett
Amherst, NH
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Adequate at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've stayed here several times over past 10 years, usually at the tail end of the downhill ski season, like I did this past week. This was definitely my least favorite stay here. When I checked in about 8 pm on a Tues night, I asked about their internet connection (free WiFi), and was told to find the Villager network. I also asked about a bucket of ice for my drinks, but their ice machine wasn't plugged in, so no ice. I asked about coffee in the morning in the office, since I'd seen a few coffee pots there, and the woman said, sure. Once in the room, the network was there, but no internet connection. I started back to the office, but realized they'd locked up for the night and closed up. So,no internet that night, or none next morning either. I went over to office about 7:45 am looking for coffee and to ask about the internet, but office was locked up tight. I went off skiing at Wildcat, used Wildcat's WiFi to connect my laptop, so the problem wasn't my laptop. After skiing, I came back to motel about 3 pm - still no internet. I also noticed that my bed wasn't made (no big deal, but clearly not the best service). I headed over to the office, but it was locked up tight still. I rang the bell, and eventually an older woman came down to the office with a cell phone in her hand. She didn't speak much English and wanted me to talk to her daughter on the phone. I explained the internet problem, and the daughter said she'd have someone look into it. A few hours later the internet connection was up and working again. I also bought a bag of ice at the convenience store down the road, so had some ice for my drinks.

What can I say that's good about this place? Nice King bed, but it takes up the whole room - not much room to move about. Lots of TV channels, including Showtime. Rate was only $49/night plus tax, reflecting mid-week, end of ski season.

However, for about $10 less per night, I'd recommend you go stay down the street at the North Colony Motel, which I did several weeks ago (I tried calling there 1st for a reservation this time, but North Colony was temporarily closed for renovations). North Colony has bigger rooms, nicer service, great internet, and is $10/night less. They get my vote over the Villager.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    14
    21
    17
See reviews for
39
34
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked the motel because it was pet friendly. As soon as we checked in we could tell it's a budget motel. The lady at the front desk overcharged us and refused to change the cost despite the fact we had an email from orbitz saying she was charging $10 too much. The room was tiny shabby looking and cold! We had the heat blasting at 80 for over an hour before we took our coats off. The room smelled like a nursing home/vet's office and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned! When we checked out a 4 year old came to get the key nobody was at the front desk and judging by the pile of keys nobody had been there for awhile. We wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Once again the villager motel came thru ! We stayed in the chalet with my wife and kids for my twins b-day week of skiing. The front desk and family that run the motel are more than great. So friendly and helpful. The chalet is perfect and with a fire place. And the value was outstanding
I would recommend this for any family. Also it is so close to attitash w/o the $$$$$$ of staying at the ski resort. They are even updating the chalet , new exterior and seems to be revamping the inside ! The kitchen was a plus and the upstairs for the kids great
Will be going back again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here recently with my wife and our dog. There are very few places in the North Conway area that allow pets so our choices during the holiday week were rather limited. I had stayed at the Villager several years ago in the summer when I had younger cousins visiting from California so I assured my wife that it would be a reasonable choice. I was mistaken.

Maybe the "pet friendly" rooms are not representative of the entire facility but our room felt decidedly tired. Everything was old and in shabby condition.

The lone bright spot of our visit was the very cheerful front desk attendant who checked us in and the equally cheerful young man who was on duty the following morning when we left. The Villager needs to do some serious refurbishing if they expect to compete for business in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here on a trip to the white mountains.Other reviewers complained of peeling wallpaper and finding spiders,I must say we found none of these.We arrived late on a freezing cold night and were glad of the very warm and clean room,which was tastefully decorated.The beds were queen size and probably orthopaedic.This might explain why other reviewers found them hard.Beds are an individual taste,so its hard to accomodate everyone.It was hard to comment on the overall surroundings as the area was after a heavy snowfall.At $49 a head per night it represented good value for money,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location can be hard to find, search on 302 into the gps rather than route 302, it helps. Room was small but adequate. Bed was hard and uncomfortable and pillows were too small and badly in need of replacement. Location is OK if you're just traveling through but if you are interested in going to for a walk to the local pub you will need to pack a snack as there is nothing nearby. Desk staff were helpful but someone forgot to rinse out the coffee urn before putting hot water in it for tea. Old coffee water does not make good tea. Would not stay here again, many places in Conway or North Conway looked far more appealing and near some nightlife.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a budget hotel. This is where you come to crash in the night and travel through the day. We stayed here for two nights and had a decent experience. The room was clean, however the motel needs renovation. there were places in the room were the wallpapers were peeling off. The shower curtains had a patch of color. We trapped a spider in the bathroom. If you are on a budget, this place is definitely worth the price you pay to stay. Another tip is to call the Motel directly for discounts, we found that online rates higher than the actual rates at the motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villager Motel

Address: 1126 Route 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villager Hotel Bartlett
Villager Motel Bartlett
Villager Motel White Mountains, NH - Bartlett

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villager Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.