We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dante's Pasta & Vino

Dante's Pasta & Vino
567 Route 125, Barrington, NH 03825
603-664-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Barrington
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Strafford, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Italian at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Romantic and great Italian food. We went there for a special occasion and I requested a bottle of Wine at the table before we arrived and it was there. Awesome night

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“At times a home run, other times a strikeout.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Dante's has been my go to for Italian food for years, and like always it hit or miss, maybe just my luck. I made revs for a special occasion last night, asked not to be put at a small table in the corner, guess where we were seated, moved to another table, no problem there, place wasn't crowded yet. Ordered a bottle of Dante's reccommended white, excellent choice, had the fried polenta appetizer, really good. That's two for the plus side, now the main course was served, my friend ordered the veal parm, bingo, he couldn't cut the veal to even try the first bite, especially with the bread knife that's part of the place setting, (really need better silverware, same as a cheap Chinese restaurant, hasn't changed in years). I give my friend credit, he kept on hacking at it until it was bite size pieces, that pretty bad considering the veal was paper thin, I would of sent it back. My meal, the Frutti di Mare was 50/50, the calamari was cooked perfectly, but the clams and mussels were like chewing rubber, maybe they were sitting around to long before being used in a dish. I really enjoy Dante's, and I will return again, not enough bad to keep us away, I just wish that the food could be a home run every time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The only place for true Italian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Been going here for over 20 years and Dante's is always coming up with more ways to amaze! The food is authentic and grown on site, there is a firepit and outside dining , and being out in the country the pricing is cheep by any standards. This is not Olive Garden. As a traveller , I love food and Dante's never disappoints !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Italian at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Enjoy a scrumptious Italian dinner at Dante's with your family and friends. Try their puttanesca. I've enjoyed Dante's for years, ever since he opened his first restaurant in Newmarket long ago. Then he did his own cooking and Jules, his wife, waited tables. In Barrington, Dante, Jules, and their two sons still meet, greet, and work. As you enter the restaurant, Dante will greet you heartily, maybe from behind the bar. Either scheduled or unscheduled entertainment often fills the air. Service is immediate with just the right amount of presence. Whether with family, friends, large or small groups, or with that special someone you'll have a great evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic italian Cousine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The food, drink, and atmosphere are truly authentic. The prices are reasonable and the plates are huge. Been there many many times, and will continue to go there and recommand it to everyone I know.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's Pasta & Vino also viewed

 

Been to Dante's Pasta & Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante's Pasta & Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.