We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Wyndham property near S. Lake Tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark South Shore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added WorldMark South Shore to your Saves list
WorldMark South Shore
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   180 Elks Point Rd., Zephyr Cove, NV 89448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zephyr Cove
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Quiet Wyndham property near S. Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Our immediate and extended family stayed at this resort for Thanksgiving 2011. On our Wyndham owner's site, It is listed as "Wyndham South Shore" and is located in Nevada, very near the California border. It is on the road that leads to Elkpoint Country Club, and is a short (maybe 1/2 mile) walk to Nevada Beach, a beautiful state park with a great beach on Lake Tahoe. It is also less than a 10 minute drive from the gondola lift at Heavenly Villiage, and about half that distance to the casinos in S. Lake Tahoe. The grocery store was a short walk across the street. Though we stayed for a family vacation, the location lends itself perfectly for several different venues.
We had a 3 bedroom deluxe, and for one of the nights, we had 5 adults and 4 children (11-b, 11-g, 8-b, 6-g) sleeping comfortably in the unit. It had a king bed, a queen bed, two twin beds, and a queen murphy (with a REAL 10" mattress) in the living room. All of the comforts of home were present; full-sized fridge, stove, oven, dishwasher, 4 large flatscreen TVs, 2 DVD players, gas fireplace, and a small washer/dryer combo. The master suite had a jaccuzi tub, there were more pillows than we needed, extra blankets, plenty of towels (for both the spa and the bath!) and it was all very clean. On the grounds there were two hot tubs, either of which could have easily held 20 people. Each separate building backed up to hills / trees and it was very peaceful - we stayed in building 7. Though we were on the middle (second) floor, we never heard the neighbors. The elevators were quick and spacious, making unpacking/packing easy. We asked for (and got) an extra parking pass, and did not attend the "member update".
All in all, we had a fantastic time, and didn't want to leave. I would highly recommend this location for both romantic getaways and family fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet building in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were here the 1st week of May and the weather was warm at the lake levels and snow still at the upper levels. The Resort at South Shore was a great place for us with it's location being a short drive from the airport, close to the lake (walking distance) and grocery store (walking distance). The condo was spacious, clean and well maintained. We didn't use the resorts other ammenities but saw that they were there and ready to use. We are low-maintance-type people and didn't need a thing after check-in. The bed was very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped (we cook/make almost all our meals). Nice porch to enjoy overlooking a nice view of the wooded hills. Broadband Internet service available in the unit. Flat-screen TV in Livingroom and Bedroom. Great place to Stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed here for our honeymoon and it was a wonderful resort! The ammenities were great and the property was beautiful. It's just a short walk down to the lake, and a very close drive to the fun town of South Lake Tahoe!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

My husband, sister and I stayed here as part of timeshare points. We had a 3 bedroom, each room had a flat screen and a DVD player including the family/living room. The room had it's own washer/dryer, ironing board, iron and vacuum if you like to vacuum on vacation. There's even an electric grill on the balcony, great for grilling salmon. It's conveniently located near Nevada Beach ( an easy 1 mile walk on a paved path to the beach). I suggest walking every morning instead of using the workout room, much better scenery. Nevada Beach is a great place to get sunset photos over Lake Tahoe (other than Sand Harbor). There is a small shopping center, within easy walking distance (but up a hill) from the resort, and it's open 24/7. We were 5 minutes from the CA/NV line near the casinos, restaurants and shopping. The room was clean, comfortable and I had absolutely no complaints with the staff or service I received, everyone was very accommodating. The pool was closed but the spa was open. It was too cold to get in the pool or Lake anyway. This time of year it was quiet, not many tourist (October 9-16) so it was easy to get parking but I can see how it would be a problem during peak season, only 1 space per room. They have guest parking but may not be as convenient to your room. The free high speed internet in the room is not wireless so my husband and fought over the internet connection and it really wasn't so high speed. The business center has 2 computers but no fax. We missed the peak of the salmon spawning by a few days but we still got some great photos. Recommend it highly. If you are Catholic there is a quaint Catholic church only 225 feet from the resort (we could see it from our window) very pretty (log cabin style type building) which was very convenient. The parish members and Father Oliver welcomed us with open arms, what a wonderful service. The weather was in 70's during the day and 40's at night, only needed a light jacket during the day and for the evening I was comfortable with a sweater.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Our son's school has an auction every year, so on a whim we bid on this place for 1 week over Christmas. We were very pleased. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath/3 tv :) "condo" with a full kitchen and W/D. It was our first stay at a timeshare.

It was clean and well stocked, and couldn't have been more convenient (1/2 block to a Safeway-large grocery store) and 1/2 mile to the lake. It was snowy and cold (and fun), and we were able to X-country ski to the lake and "hike" to the store on icy roads.

There was a gas fireplace for smores, a main room to play games that you can check out, and friendly and helpful service. We are hoping that they offer it up at the auction again this year.

The only downside is that they do not allow pets (easy way out of the timeshare talk).

  • Liked — Location; cleanliness; size
  • Disliked — No pets allowed; no internet except on communal computer
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarillo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

Well,

Lets start with our arrival:

A) When I checked in I noticed they had us checked out a day earlier than we actually were, thats ok, it was fixed.

B) Two days after our check in, my sister n law was sitting in our room when two strange ladies entered! Thank god she was not running around nude! They had been assigned the same room? How does this happen? Our keys were also disabled. Not once,but twice!

C) Went to the clubhouse to enjoy family night! Not so enjoyable. We arrived and there was noone there. So our kids proceeded to play table tennis and pool. Another family arrived, so our kids finished up the table tennis game so the other kids could play. So, after about 20 mintues of pool, our kids were told by oscar at the front desk to finish up as the other family requested to play. Ok, so why could they not ask us? So, they stopped. Only to have the other family take over, a) the table tennis and b) the pool table! So our kids were left with nothing! I was furious and asked Oscar why he allowed this.. just an apology! So rude!

I stayed at Marriot Timber Lodge in the summer and received far superior service and will stay there again!

  • Liked — The buildings
  • Disliked — Service was hideous!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stayed at The Resort at South Shore 2 nights (8/30/07-8/31/07), using our Wyndham points. This was part of our 2007 Western US Road Trip. See our Las Vegas review. We had camped the night before we arrived in Zephyr Cove.

WHAT A BEAUTIFUL PLACE! Zephyr Cove, NV is located on the Eastern shore of Lake Tahoe. The resort is nestled in the trees along the mountainside about a 10 minute walk from the lake. Absolutely breathtaking!

We arrived early, and were checked in very quickly. Everyone was friendly and upbeat. The concierge was enthusiastic, with information about the Tahoe area and suggestions for dining, entertainment, etc. We booked a sunset dinner cruise to Emerald Bay on the MS Dixie paddle wheel for the next evening. "Members' Services" wanted us to attend an 'Update', so we scheduled that for early the next morning (to get it out of the way). We enjoyed talking with everyone, and were in our suite within 45 minutes.

The units here are somewhat smaller than some of the other Wyndham resorts, but they have plenty of space, are nicely decorated and very well maintained. Everything looked new.

Our 2 BR Presidential Suite (sleep 6) was nicely furnished with upgrades to everything, including hardwood & tile floors everywhere except the 2 bedrooms which were carpeted, pretty area rugs in LR & DR, leather couch, REAL WOOD furniture, fireplace in LR, flat screen TV w/DVD & sound system in LR & MBR, great mattress topper, stainless appliances, high grade cookware, granite counter tops in kitchen & bathroom, attractive decorations & accessories, etc. The Washer/dryer were in a closet off of the LR, and a Murphy bed folded down from another closet. There was also a small balcony off of the dining area with an electric grille and lovely view of the surrounding woods and buildings.

One thing that seems odd to us, since we are from the humid Southeast US, there is no AC. However, this is the High Sierras and AC is unnecessary. -- Simply open the windows, enjoy the breeze and smell the pines. Ahhhh ...... Heavenly.

The resort has an activities center w/computer area (no WiFi), games, concierge, info, etc. There is a nice swimming pool, hot tub, ample parking, attractive mountain theme buildings & lovely landscaping.......all blended into the mountainside, on one of the most beautiful mountain lakes in the world. The resort provided a free pass for the beach (10 minute walk). There is a nice shopping center with groceries, various restaurants, bank, shops, etc. across the highway from the resort. Very convenient.

We attended the Member Services Update which was, actually, quite informative (unusual) with no heavy pressure to buy more points (after we said that we were satisfied with our current points) - meeting took about an hour. This left the day open to explore Zephyr Cove - lovely town with lots of history and a very laid back atmosphere.

That night we went on our dinner cruise. The MS Dixie Shuttle picked us up in front of the resort at 4:30; the cruise departed at 5:00. We enjoyed the breathtaking sunset on Lake Tahoe, as we cruised toward Emerald Bay. We arrived at the Bay just after dusk, so couldn't really see Vikensholm Castle or the bay - the captain did shine lights on the shore so we could make out a little of the Castle. Ah, but that marvelous sunset made up for this loss! Dinner (surprisingly good!) was served after we left Emerald Bay and headed back toward Zephyr Cove. Music & dancing was fun after dinner. We enjoyed the full moon over Lake Tahoe and the lights twinkling along the shore as we approached Zephyr Cove at 11:30 p.m. All in all, a lovely evening and well worth the price.

We enjoyed The Resort at South Shore very much. It is quiet, friendly, welcoming, and moved at a slow relaxing pace. We suggest this resort to anyone looking for a nice relaxing vacation


We left on Saturday morning headed for the Northern California Coast and back down through the volcanoes & lava beds - with plans to return to Lake Tahoe in one week. See our next review.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, clean, well maintained buildings & grounds - GREAT LOCATION!
  • Disliked — Nothing - this was a wonderful place
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WorldMark South Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark South Shore

Address: 180 Elks Point Rd., Zephyr Cove, NV 89448
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Zephyr Cove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zephyr Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — WorldMark South Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your WorldMark South Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At South Shore Hotel Zephyr Cove
Hotel At South Shore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark South Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.