We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Family Times Here in June!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Cone Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zephyr Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Cone Resort
Save
You added Pine Cone Resort to your Saves list
601 US Highway 50, Zephyr Cove, NV 89448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zephyr Cove
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun Family Times Here in June!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have had family reunions for over 35 years at the campground at Zephyr, but the cabins are just not our thing anymore. We've stayed here about 4 times, but this time was the best. We had our 3 grandchildren with us, ages 7,5 and 2. We stayed here for 4 nights and just loved it! Location is great, so close to stateline, and Safeway is just down the street.

Accommodations were fun - there was a bunk bed in with the Queen bed in .the bedroom, kids loved it! Pool was cold, but we understand solar heating is coming. Hot tub was great fun for all, and the kids loved ping pong and running on the pretty grass.

Best was the BBQ area, we grilled our dinner and had story time on the swing. The setting is peaceful and lovely, rooms are very comfortable. It was great to have the fully stocked kitchen for breakfast. We visited our relatives in their cabins at the campground, but were really excited to go back to our "cabin" each night. Linens and towels were all very nice.

Robert and crew were all so very helpful and accommodating. They also rent out condos and houses, which we have done about 3 years in a row. Very nice to deal with them. They really know how to treat returning guests!

I recommend this place to anyone, all ages. One year we had my father-in-law stay with us here in a wheelchair, and it was easy to be here with him.

Room Tip: Choose one close to the BBQ area, so fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    11
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
21
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversary at the Pine Cone Resort. Robert Taylor was very gracious and understanding with our physical limitations. He set us up in the "Bridal Suite" which included a fireplace and complete kitchen. Thank you, Robert for making our anniversary a special one. We will return soon. The Butlers'

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Love this place! the rooms are actually 4 plex cabins!
Ours was 1 bedroom,1 bath, fully stocked kitchenette with a living room and a fireplace. Beds and pillows are comfy. Only disadvantage is some road noise.
Nan, the manager, is awesome! So sweet and helpful. :) jacuzzi was nice, and plenty of pine cones!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We found this place 25 years ago and have been coming back here on & off since then. It's away from the crowds of the south shore and although an older, small resort, it's inexpensive and rooms are clean & pretty well equipped. Small living room with well equipped kitchenette, full size frideg, fireplace, cable TV & DVD and Wifi. Remodeled bathroom with tub. It's great being able to have meals there and not have to run out every time we get hungry. We've only come here late winter/early spring so only facility we've used is the hot tub. Check-in/out is fast and easy, even if it's after hours. Safeway about 10 minutes down the road, a locals type bar/grill walking distance down the road and close to a couple of lake beaches.

If you're looking for Marriott resort type of a place, this isn't for you. Only complaint is the hard foam type pillows, but that's typical for these type of places and usually just bring our own.

Room Tip: I personally like the upper floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our family has enjoyed the Pine Cone Resort for over 15 years now. Their staff has always been friendly and helpful. Their check-in/out process is easy and convenient. Over the years we've checked in at all hours of day and night with no problems. They've often been gracious in extending our check out time to accommodate a quick soak in their great hot tub before the drive home. We LOVE coming back for our private and affordable getaways at Pine Cone Resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very pleased with our stay! Friendly, helpful ownership and staff, charming room, well-equipped kitchen, good location--close to the action, but with a sense of privacy. We enjoyed taking a break from restaurant-hopping by eating in the quiet intimacy of our room with our travel companions (a supermarket just a quarter of a mile away made food pick-up easy). We had the luxury of the "bridal suite" with hand-painted murals on the walls and cherubs on the nightstand!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent three nights in this wonderful lodge. There was a large bedroom and a wonderful living room and kitchen with nice indows to see the beautiful view. Being close to the lake and various places to take a hike was perfect for us. Evening wine by the lake while we watched the sunset was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Cone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cone Resort

Address: 601 US Highway 50, Zephyr Cove, NV 89448
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Zephyr Cove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zephyr Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tahoe experience generations of families have been returning to at the Pine Cone Resort since the 1950s. Five charming chalet style bungalows sit on the mountainside underneath towering sierra pines. Heated seasonal 40 foot pool and year-round outdoor hot tub. Stay connected with free high speed wireless internet. Any time, any where: in your room, by the pool, out on the deck-- just bring a laptop with a wireless card and you're good to go! Many of our units are dog-friendly - so your four-legged friend is welcome too!Each apartment has a wood-burning fireplace, kitchenette, living room, bedroom, and bathroom. The bedrooms have both a King or Queen and Twin bed, and the living rooms all have a double sofa bed and twin bed, so you can sleep up to six people.The Pine Cone is an oasis of quiet, cool summer breezes in Zephyr Cove on the south east side of Lake Tahoe, less than a mile from the beach, and just 2-3 miles to the casinos and Heavenly Ski Gondola in South Lake Tahoe and Stateline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Cone Hotel Zephyr Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Cone Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.