We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to spend your anniversary...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Cone Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zephyr Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Cone Resort
Save
You added Pine Cone Resort to your Saves list
601 US Highway 50, Zephyr Cove, NV 89448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zephyr Cove
Auburn, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a way to spend your anniversary...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversary at the Pine Cone Resort. Robert Taylor was very gracious and understanding with our physical limitations. He set us up in the "Bridal Suite" which included a fireplace and complete kitchen. Thank you, Robert for making our anniversary a special one. We will return soon. The Butlers'

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALDB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Love this place! the rooms are actually 4 plex cabins!
Ours was 1 bedroom,1 bath, fully stocked kitchenette with a living room and a fireplace. Beds and pillows are comfy. Only disadvantage is some road noise.
Nan, the manager, is awesome! So sweet and helpful. :) jacuzzi was nice, and plenty of pine cones!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiralin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We found this place 25 years ago and have been coming back here on & off since then. It's away from the crowds of the south shore and although an older, small resort, it's inexpensive and rooms are clean & pretty well equipped. Small living room with well equipped kitchenette, full size frideg, fireplace, cable TV & DVD and Wifi. Remodeled bathroom with tub. It's great being able to have meals there and not have to run out every time we get hungry. We've only come here late winter/early spring so only facility we've used is the hot tub. Check-in/out is fast and easy, even if it's after hours. Safeway about 10 minutes down the road, a locals type bar/grill walking distance down the road and close to a couple of lake beaches.

If you're looking for Marriott resort type of a place, this isn't for you. Only complaint is the hard foam type pillows, but that's typical for these type of places and usually just bring our own.

Room Tip: I personally like the upper floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeGeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our family has enjoyed the Pine Cone Resort for over 15 years now. Their staff has always been friendly and helpful. Their check-in/out process is easy and convenient. Over the years we've checked in at all hours of day and night with no problems. They've often been gracious in extending our check out time to accommodate a quick soak in their great hot tub before the drive home. We LOVE coming back for our private and affordable getaways at Pine Cone Resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gidget09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very pleased with our stay! Friendly, helpful ownership and staff, charming room, well-equipped kitchen, good location--close to the action, but with a sense of privacy. We enjoyed taking a break from restaurant-hopping by eating in the quiet intimacy of our room with our travel companions (a supermarket just a quarter of a mile away made food pick-up easy). We had the luxury of the "bridal suite" with hand-painted murals on the walls and cherubs on the nightstand!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent three nights in this wonderful lodge. There was a large bedroom and a wonderful living room and kitchen with nice indows to see the beautiful view. Being close to the lake and various places to take a hike was perfect for us. Evening wine by the lake while we watched the sunset was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My goal was to find a location close to places we wanted to visit and to stay away from the casinos. All four days that we were there we ended up driving over to the west side and with the construction going on it was time consuming. That said, we still enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to those looking for a quite, clean and budget friendly place to stay. The kitchenette and living area were great and added extra living space you don't normally have in a standard hotel room. The cabins are rustic and no frills, but very clean and well maintained. We paid $65 per night before tax with a one time cleaning fee of $35. There is no maid service during your stay and you are required to clean the kitchen and take out the garbage before you check out. We arrived at 4 o'clock on Sunday and happened to run into the cleaning staff who told us the office had just closed and helped us figure out how to get in. If somebody told me when I made the reservation two months before that you needed to check in between 3 and 4 pm on Sundays I had forgotten all about it. It wasn't really a problem, because if you don't get there during that time you can call and get a code that will let you into the area with a lock box (that uses another code) to get your keys. I'm sure we would've figured it all out eventually, but we were really glad someone happened to still be there to explain it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GotaWearShades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zephyr Cove
2.7 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 1,814 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#9 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
2.5 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cone Resort

Address: 601 US Highway 50, Zephyr Cove, NV 89448
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Zephyr Cove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zephyr Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tahoe experience generations of families have been returning to at the Pine Cone Resort since the 1950s. Five charming chalet style bungalows sit on the mountainside underneath towering sierra pines. Heated seasonal 40 foot pool and year-round outdoor hot tub. Stay connected with free high speed wireless internet. Any time, any where: in your room, by the pool, out on the deck-- just bring a laptop with a wireless card and you're good to go! Many of our units are dog-friendly - so your four-legged friend is welcome too!Each apartment has a wood-burning fireplace, kitchenette, living room, bedroom, and bathroom. The bedrooms have both a King or Queen and Twin bed, and the living rooms all have a double sofa bed and twin bed, so you can sleep up to six people.The Pine Cone is an oasis of quiet, cool summer breezes in Zephyr Cove on the south east side of Lake Tahoe, less than a mile from the beach, and just 2-3 miles to the casinos and Heavenly Ski Gondola in South Lake Tahoe and Stateline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Cone Hotel Zephyr Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing