We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Winnemucca

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Winnemucca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Winnemucca
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1800 Winnemucca Blvd, I-80 at Exit 176, Winnemucca, NV 89445   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Winnemucca
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was looking for something very inexpensive as we were just passing through and needed a bed for a few hours. This hotel is just ok. There is nothing spectacular. When we first walked into our room it smelled a bit like a sewer. We decided to go to one of the fast food places just off the parking lot to grab a quick bite. When we got back the smell was gone so we stayed. The beds, in my opinion, are horrible. They are extremely hard, old-fashioned spring beds...not my cup of tea...and the pillows are about as thin as a blanket. I did not sleep well and got up stiff and sore. I went to take a shower in the morning and when I turned it on, we discovered where the smell of sewer was coming from so I did not get a shower. On the other hand, the other people we were with slept like babies.
Overall I can't really complain other than the smell in the shower.
The staff acted a bit put out, but overall friendly.
If you don't mind hard beds and just need a place to get some sleep for the night then this motel would be perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    22
    4
    10
See reviews for
8
14
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Just like 90% of motel 6's nothing special for what you pay. The beds weren't bad, showers were warm and you have some basic cable. I can't complain the price was fair. I would stay there again. I can't really say much more cause it was just a motel 6. I can also throw this out there you are next to a few fast food places and a gas station. You won't have to go far for food and fuel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I can't stand to pay an arm and a leg just to stay overnight. We had a decent room with a decent bed and shower. Had some good coffee that was available in the early am in the lobby. The little clerk was a plus in the am as she was so happy and jubilant with a big smile and a great recommendation for the local restaurant down the street called "the griddle." We arrived at 7 or 8 and left at 6 and paid around $60.00. My extra $20 to $40.00 bucks I saved from going to a more pretentious motel I will enjoy spending elsewhere.

Room Tip: We always request NonSmoking and a 2nd story QUIET room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gridley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This Motel 6 has gone "1950's Flash Gordon future design" to include hard vinyl floors but worse built-in table and bench seat. By the way, in this 3.5-week trip I have stayed at no less than 8 Motel 6’s and during the past 7 months, I have stayed with Motel 6 at least 30 times. Thus, I am comparing; some went overboard with the remodel. This “total” 1950’s remodel look to the future to include “loud colors” is not traveler friendly; hard vinyl floors, bench seating, etc. are not comforting. And then, I was charged an additional $10 for the newer remodeled room. These new vinyl floors are hard and uncomfortable and need to be mopped every day; at least. This has been a bad Motel 6 decision…

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

we checked in as always the frist thing I do is check the linen, well it looked like the bed hadn't been changed from the last person who had stayed in the room, it was also very dusty, carpet was dirty and pubic hair was on the tolit.. we went to the front desk they tried to give us another room but that room was ocuppied, so we told the clerk to give us sheets and we would change the bed ourself's I always carry a can of lysol spray with me so needless to say we gave the room some cleaning ourself.. and the price was too high for what you get,, no in room coffee, no shampoo, and wifi was extra.. will never stay there again when in Winnemucca if nothing is avabile I will resort to sleep in my car much cleaner

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The rooms were very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Lola, the receptionist was delightful and we had a nice talk about Winnemucca, its history and I really appreciated that. I will always stay at this motel when I travel on Nevada US 80 again.

John Buckmaster

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Silverada Little League would like to Thank the Motel 6 in Winnemucca for the great accommodations. The friendly staff, clean rooms, and pool was more than we expected. Thank you for letting us take over the hotel for the entire week we were there. The kids and family could not have been more pleased. If and when we have to travel to Winnemucca we will be staying at the Motel 6. Thank you to the house cleaners for keeping up with the rooms and providing us with plenty of towels. Again Thank You for the accommodations!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Winnemucca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Winnemucca

Address: 1800 Winnemucca Blvd, I-80 at Exit 176, Winnemucca, NV 89445
Location: United States > Nevada > Winnemucca
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Winnemucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Winnemucca 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Winnemucca, our little oasis in the middle of the desert, is located off of I-80. Restaurants are within walking distance and shops are nearby. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Winnemucca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Winnemucca
Winnemucca Motel Six
Winnemucca Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Winnemucca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.