We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stopping place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Wendover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino
Save
You added Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
101 Wendover Boulevard, West Wendover, NV 89883   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in West Wendover
SLC, UT
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice stopping place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I wish the Nugget would get better reviews. This is a fun hotel that tries really hard to make you feel welcome. On my last visit 1/23/13, I found the hotel welcoming and the casino ready for play.
Poeple need to remember this is not Reno or Vegas. It is a small border town that caters to Travellers and Utah guest. I travel through Nevada quite a bit & I find this hotel as good if not better than a lot of other hotels in the state.

Parking is great, Starbucks inside and Subway next door. Close to Gas and freeway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    136
    96
    56
    119
See reviews for
61
189
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, MT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I like staying at the Wendover Nugget on Friday and Saturday nights because of the Scores "Pleasure Pit". There are four blackjack tables set-up around a dance stage. The girls dealing Blackjack wear sexy "Referee" outfits (striped top and black skirt). It's a lot of fun.
There are two girls that dance on the stage (one at a time), wearing bikini style outfits with furry boots. They are really good dancers.
When the dancers aren't dancing, they are mingling with the patrons, serving drinks, waiting tables and bussing.
They work really hard, and I appreciate it.

Room Tip: If you join the Nugget Players club, you can get good deals, like discounts on food, free play coupo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, General Manager at Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi Thomas,

We are so glad to hear that you have been enjoying your Friday and Saturday nights visit at our casino. We are always happy to have you.


Regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Wendover Nugget has an excellent good customer service. Employees are very friendly! The buffet is great and it has a good menu to choose. The room was clean and the coffe maker was working. Excellent bed!!!!!!!! soft and confortable. This hotel is not expensive and they usually give cupons that you can use in the hotel. Good drinks!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here on a Friday night and had a '1/2 off Friday night only' coupon from a pop up on their website. We always have a great time when we visit Wendover no matter where we end up staying and this trip was no exception. However we did encounter a few snags and definitely were dissapointed. And found lots of room for improvement. I am only speaking for us but we bring our own toiletries when we travel and don't give a rip about most hotel's poor attempt of luxury with those tiny bottles of stenchy chemicals they pass off as 'green' and 'spa' like;those words were actually on the front of the containers by the way... Anyhoooo, upon entering our room we were greeted with a musky-smokey smell as if the room had been a smoking room before..not fresh. But that didn't deter us much as we were looking forward to a nice soak in the hottub in our room. However, we weren't able to get it to turn on and called the front desk and were told to push in the reset switch (which is an outlet) on the opposite wall...yay it worked...uh-oh... I overcompensated with bubble bath and then we were no longer able to see eachother once we sat down in the tub:) We decided not to use our 'buy one get one free buffet' not being able to justify $27 dollars worth of food per person!!!WHAT? Okay, they do offer $10 dinner from their menu for bogo also. The beds were so sunken in it looked like ghosts were sleeping in our room! The pillows seemed new and firm although too poofy to sleep well with. After our fun evening, we were woken up by the slamming of doors and knocks on doors from the housekeeping staff at 8:am... we made the one and only, one-time mistake of failing to hang our 'do not disturb' sign on our door. So we rolled our sore bodies out of our 'hammocks'(thanks for the honest review Coupletravelingfar--previous reviewer) and began to check out. Upon checking out I inquired if there were any comment cards or suggestion boxes and the young man looked for about 20 sec, didn't find any and I was told sorry, just go to the website and leave a comment for the manager. As he was processing our check out the computer was slow and he said 'what the f' sound at it...the manager next to him gave him a look and he responded with 'what I didn't actually say it'---not so classy. Anywaaays, this is probably the last time we will stay at the Nugget even though we really love to play there. Btw...no hot water for showers and the knob on the tub with shower is almost impossible to turn on/off...us being middle-aged I wondered how the older generations get along in a dump like this.

Room Tip: Save yourself grief and dissapointment and stay accross the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, General Manager at Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello OTAreviewer,

We apologize for what you have been through in our hotel. But we are glad to know that you enjoyed our casino. Thank you for being so candid in your review. This would surely help us in improving our services and facilities. We still hope to see you next time and offer you a better stay.

Sincerely,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I would recommednd this to everyone> Great place with great prices!! This experiance was perfect. No complaints here at all. Great place for familys! If you are heading to Wendover anytime soon for sure stop in and stay at the Nugget!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you need a short vacation, and want to do it on the cheap this is a good place to go. There is a bar in the basement you can play shuffle board or pool. They have a Starbucks which is AWESOME! The food in the coffee shop is pretty good and not that expensive for breakfast or lunch. Not a big fan of the buffet for dinner though, the prime rib is always under cooked.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Checked in, the beds are covered with booty from previous guests. Called for a light bulb for the lamp and discovered only one socket worked. No heat!! It got to -10 and there was no heat! We slept with our coats on under the covers. There wad also no hot water. They said their pipes froze but they don't have hot water during the summer either. I like the casino games but the hotel end is a complete dump. Old beds that are more like hammocks and pillows that are more like lumpy sacks of potatos. They have minimum staff that are irritable from irritable patrons. They actually blame you for being to snobby for expecting hot water or heat. The sheets had not been changed, there was hair and some weird plastic parts from a new clothing tag and they smelled musky. The hotel across the street is a million times better. It's worth the extra 10-20 dollars for a room with heat, hot wAter, and bedding that doesn't smell like a teenage boys bedroom. They have scaled their service down to save money even though the casino is always hopping with players. Oh, the hotel across the street also has 3 clean working hot tubs and a full gym plus every room has a minimum size 47 inch flat screen tv. We told the hotel across the street what happened with our previous night and they let us checking early at 11 am In closing, I will say this is my first time writing a review for anything ever. I was very disgusted with the attitude of the nugget. Even after saying I was going to write this review the manager said he would just write his own review about how great it is P.S. The food in their restaurants is the worst processed garbage you've ever had. Like air plane food but even cheaper. The one positive thing I can say is that they have a Starbucks coffee shop

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, General Manager at Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello Coupletravelingfar,

We are so sorry to hear about your unfortunate encounter at our hotel. We appreciate the honesty and we will work harder to provide better services and accommodation. We will make sure to give you a better experience the next time you stop by.


Sincerely,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino

Address: 101 Wendover Boulevard, West Wendover, NV 89883
Location: United States > Nevada > West Wendover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in West Wendover
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino is Wendover's finest place to stay and play. Pamper yourself in one of our 500 oversized deluxe rooms, Jacuzzi suites, and luxury suites. Enjoy the hotel's spacious pool and hot tub facility. Other amenities include: Loosest Slots and Video Poker Live Table Games Grand Poker Room Sports Book & Lounge One Club Player's Card Free Shuttle Service- 7 days/wk Gift Shop Banquet Facilities Exclusively at the Nugget: Starbucks Keno Lounge Billiards Bar Martini Bar Cigar Bar Covered Parking Climate Controlled Atrium Arcade ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wendover Nugget Hotel West Wendover
Wendover Nugget West
Nugget Wendover
Wendover Nugget Hotel And Casino West Wendover, Nevada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.