We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahoe House Hotel
162 South C Street, P.O. Box 652, Virginia City, NV 89440   |  
Hotel amenities
Modesto, California
1 review
“Love this Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a fabulous place this is! Our experience staying over Memorial Day weekend was so great. Teresa is so personable and friendly! We were met in the parking lot upon arrival and made at home immediately. We were given a tour of several gorgeous rooms & chose one of the balcony rooms - Mark Twain's study. It was a very clean, quiet and comfortable room with very high ceilings and beautiful double doors opening onto the balcony.

Once we were settled in we were welcomed with a glass of wine and received great information on the restaurants and places to visit in the area. We were really looking forward to relaxing and having a nice romantic getaway and this hotel was the perfect choice!!

Even after checking out to leave we were allowed to leave our vehicle parked at the hotel and keep the keys while we wandered around the next day. When we came back to return the keys and use the restroom Teresa came out and brought us Mimosas and joined us and another couple on the balcony for a very nice end to our visit.

We can't say Thank You! enough for this wonderful stay in your beautiful hotel. We can't wait to come back in the winter and stay in Rosie's room with the gorgeous fire place! I highly recommend staying here.

Sandee and Jack

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    17
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
75
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Absolutely loved the Tahoe House. We were meeting up with a tour company for a tour of CA on May 11, 2014, and flew out 4 days ahead to visit the Lake Tahoe area, Virginia City, and Reno. We stayed 2 nights at the Tahoe House and 2 nights at another hotel at South Lake Tahoe. Wish we had stayed at the Tahoe House all 4 nights because our room was so great, and everything was very driveable from there. The Tahoe House is decorated in period...so beautiful and quaint! No detail was overlooked. Theresa provides exceptional service and keeps the place immaculate! Will definitely try to get back there again because it is a great little city and Lake Tahoe is beautiful as well. What a gem!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We went to VC for the St. Patrick's festivities and a friends B-day. This was our first time staying at the Tahoe House Hotel but it won't be our last. Tereasa greeted us a we arrived (early at that!) and showed us around the hotel, which keys went to which doors, how to contact her if she wasn't on the primises, etc. We stayed in Laura's Room which we found very comfortable and had an outside window. There was also a door to enter the building just beyond the door to our room which seemed like it was our private entrance. The coffee and muffins in the morning were fresh and a good start to our day. As I mentioned before that this wouldn't be our last stay here so before we left we booked a room overlooking the parade route for next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Wow!! I had been out of town for 5 months and I wanted to surprise my wife with a quick get away. We were treated like VIPs from the time we left our house. We got a call telling us that we could check in early! (What?) We were given directions of where to park our car. We were given a cellular number in case we were unclear when we arrived! We were met in the parking lot. We were given a tour of the entire facility. The rooms were brand new and the bed was so comfortable that we almost did not make it to dinner. I honestly think it was better than staying at the Del Coronado hotel....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband & I loved our stay at Tahoe House. It was truly one of the highlights of our trip to the Reno-Lake Tahoe area. You will enjoy clean comfortable rooms, super hospitality, and the great location. Everywhere you look you'll see interesting furnishings and artifacts of the Virginia City glory days. The 100 mile view from the balcony is awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Staying in Virginia was a wonderful experience. Sleeping in a very old hotel was a very interesting experience. Stepping outside and looking a the buildings and surrounding hills was very interesting. The hotel was well maintained and is filled with great artifacts. The only downside was the room we stayed in "The Presidential Suite" was overpriced in our opinion. The manager was extremely nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Since we were riding our motorcycle up and we were concerned about the weather, I asked Teresa if she could notify us if there was a possibility of an early check in. Teresa said she can often accomodate such requests and promised to call if it looked promising. Teresa, true to her word, called first thing in the morning and told us we could check in any time! We arrived early and we could not have been more pleased with the cleanliness, customer service and attention to every detail. Teresa May not own the hotel but she takes pride in the place as though she were the owner. She was always nearby to answer any question or provide any assistance. We had guests on our balcony and Teresa made them feel very welcome as well. All in all the visit was exquisite! We can not wait for the opportunity to return!

Room Tip: I can't figure out how to delete my review of a fitness center or swimming pool. The Tahoe house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tahoe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe House Hotel

Address: 162 South C Street, P.O. Box 652, Virginia City, NV 89440
Location: United States > Nevada > Virginia City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tahoe House Hotel to your Saves list