We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahoe House Hotel
Save
You added Tahoe House Hotel to your Saves list
162 South C Street, P.O. Box 652, Virginia City, NV 89440   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
1 review
“Love this Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

What a fabulous place this is! Our experience staying over Memorial Day weekend was so great. Teresa is so personable and friendly! We were met in the parking lot upon arrival and made at home immediately. We were given a tour of several gorgeous rooms & chose one of the balcony rooms - Mark Twain's study. It was a very clean, quiet and comfortable room with very high ceilings and beautiful double doors opening onto the balcony.

Once we were settled in we were welcomed with a glass of wine and received great information on the restaurants and places to visit in the area. We were really looking forward to relaxing and having a nice romantic getaway and this hotel was the perfect choice!!

Even after checking out to leave we were allowed to leave our vehicle parked at the hotel and keep the keys while we wandered around the next day. When we came back to return the keys and use the restroom Teresa came out and brought us Mimosas and joined us and another couple on the balcony for a very nice end to our visit.

We can't say Thank You! enough for this wonderful stay in your beautiful hotel. We can't wait to come back in the winter and stay in Rosie's room with the gorgeous fire place! I highly recommend staying here.

Sandee and Jack

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Absolutely loved the Tahoe House. We were meeting up with a tour company for a tour of CA on May 11, 2014, and flew out 4 days ahead to visit the Lake Tahoe area, Virginia City, and Reno. We stayed 2 nights at the Tahoe House and 2 nights at another hotel at South Lake Tahoe. Wish we had stayed at the Tahoe House all 4 nights because our room was so great, and everything was very driveable from there. The Tahoe House is decorated in period...so beautiful and quaint! No detail was overlooked. Theresa provides exceptional service and keeps the place immaculate! Will definitely try to get back there again because it is a great little city and Lake Tahoe is beautiful as well. What a gem!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAYE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We went to VC for the St. Patrick's festivities and a friends B-day. This was our first time staying at the Tahoe House Hotel but it won't be our last. Tereasa greeted us a we arrived (early at that!) and showed us around the hotel, which keys went to which doors, how to contact her if she wasn't on the primises, etc. We stayed in Laura's Room which we found very comfortable and had an outside window. There was also a door to enter the building just beyond the door to our room which seemed like it was our private entrance. The coffee and muffins in the morning were fresh and a good start to our day. As I mentioned before that this wouldn't be our last stay here so before we left we booked a room overlooking the parade route for next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmacMinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Wow!! I had been out of town for 5 months and I wanted to surprise my wife with a quick get away. We were treated like VIPs from the time we left our house. We got a call telling us that we could check in early! (What?) We were given directions of where to park our car. We were given a cellular number in case we were unclear when we arrived! We were met in the parking lot. We were given a tour of the entire facility. The rooms were brand new and the bed was so comfortable that we almost did not make it to dinner. I honestly think it was better than staying at the Del Coronado hotel....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomandbeckygroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband & I loved our stay at Tahoe House. It was truly one of the highlights of our trip to the Reno-Lake Tahoe area. You will enjoy clean comfortable rooms, super hospitality, and the great location. Everywhere you look you'll see interesting furnishings and artifacts of the Virginia City glory days. The 100 mile view from the balcony is awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PKR-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Staying in Virginia was a wonderful experience. Sleeping in a very old hotel was a very interesting experience. Stepping outside and looking a the buildings and surrounding hills was very interesting. The hotel was well maintained and is filled with great artifacts. The only downside was the room we stayed in "The Presidential Suite" was overpriced in our opinion. The manager was extremely nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonR8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Since we were riding our motorcycle up and we were concerned about the weather, I asked Teresa if she could notify us if there was a possibility of an early check in. Teresa said she can often accomodate such requests and promised to call if it looked promising. Teresa, true to her word, called first thing in the morning and told us we could check in any time! We arrived early and we could not have been more pleased with the cleanliness, customer service and attention to every detail. Teresa May not own the hotel but she takes pride in the place as though she were the owner. She was always nearby to answer any question or provide any assistance. We had guests on our balcony and Teresa made them feel very welcome as well. All in all the visit was exquisite! We can not wait for the opportunity to return!

Room Tip: I can't figure out how to delete my review of a fitness center or swimming pool. The Tahoe house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia City
0.5 mi away
Virginia City Inn
Virginia City Inn
#1 of 5 in Virginia City
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gold Hill Hotel
Gold Hill Hotel
#3 of 5 in Virginia City
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hardman House Hotel
Hardman House Hotel
#6 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
17.7 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
17.5 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#21 of 65 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe House Hotel

Address: 162 South C Street, P.O. Box 652, Virginia City, NV 89440
Location: United States > Nevada > Virginia City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing