We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth times a definate charm.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahoe House Hotel
Save
You added Tahoe House Hotel to your Saves list
162 South C Street, P.O. Box 652, Virginia City, NV 89440   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sonora, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Fourth times a definate charm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I recently returned for another visit to Virginia City and the Tahoe House, my 4th. This trip I stayed 4 nights at this beautifully restored piece of history. I was treated like royalty by the beautiful hotel manager Tammi Davis. She is wonderful. I stayed in room 3 again. It has a fireplace and was very charming and cozy. The hotel was clean and well kept. I will be going back very soon! If you are going to be in Virginia City for any reason you have to stay at this beautiful gem. Tammi will be there to welcome you and treat you with that "personal touch" as she does everyone. Sandi, Columbia, CA

Room Tip: I have stayed in room 3 with the fireplace, room 5 with a garden view, room 11 which is very small a...
See more room tips

Room Tip: Room 3 is my favorite. The fireplace is a lovely touch and the bed is comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    18
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
79
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Enjoyed Tahoe House once again this May. Each room is so pretty and all are very clean. Tammy was a godsend and I so appreciated all her help.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I ended our road-trip vacation in Virginia City as that is where my grandfather was born and I had never been there. I pored over places to stay and Tahoe House stood out as the right place for us. The Tahoe House Hotel turned out to be a wonderful place to stay. Tammy, the manager, did a great job of looking out after us. The Tahoe House has been wonderfully restored. It is a very gracious place to stay. We had the Presidential Suite with it's big king size bed, tall french doors and balcony overlooking C Street. Staying in this wonderful hotel gave us a chance to explore Virginia City while at the same time retreat to a quiet, beautiful environment. I highly recommend Tahoe House.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel was awesome! Where to even begin? We were greeted by the friendliest woman, Tammy- who was even nice enough to carry our bags to our room- the Mark Twain Room. The hotel's location was perfect- right on the main street ( which is where all the action happens), with a beautiful view of the mountains. It was totally authentic in terms of decor, but still modern enough to be comfortable. The queen size bed was very soft and cozy, and great for a good night's sleep. It was very quiet during our stay, and we felt as though we were there on our own. You could even wander around the hotel freely.The lobby was adorned with old relics from the 1800's and you could just sit and relax out there if you wanted.
The only thing we needed was a clock, cups and ice, but otherwise, everything was perfect. It was the best place to stay in Virginia City- as you felt as though you'd gone back to the Old West. I would definitely stay again and also highly recommend it to anyone staying in Virginia City.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front for a great view and access to the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Welcoming, clean, quite with excellent hospitality, a great location and price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I had a memorable stay at Tahoe House in Virginia City, NV. The owners have paid close attention to detail and we could feel the pride they have taken in restoring this old hotel. The old west antiques are beautiful without feeling like there's too much clutter.
If you want a romantic get away this is your place. If you live in Reno and are looking for a fun place for a family reunion or party this is perfect. There's about 14 rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

My six-year-old daughter and I stayed here in October 2011 and were very impressed with our stay. The hotel is furnished with antiques which add to the character and charm of the hotel and bring you back in time to the old west. The parlor has board games and puzzles to play before retiring for the evening. Although the hotel looks old from the outside, the interior is completely new with modern plumbing and electrical. The owners are real friendly and even went out of their way to pick up hot cocoa for my little girl when they were grocery shopping in Reno. We'll be coming back to the Tahoe House next time we're in Virginia City!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe House Hotel

Address: 162 South C Street, P.O. Box 652, Virginia City, NV 89440
Location: United States > Nevada > Virginia City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.