We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've been coming to this place since the '70s” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bucket of Blood Saloon

Bucket of Blood Saloon
1 South C Street, Virginia City, NV 89440
775-847-0322
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I've been coming to this place since the '70s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you want to feel like you're in the old west, then a visit to the Bucket of Blood is a must. I've been coming to this saloon since I was 6 years old, and this place never disappoints.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LAKEWOOD
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great bloody mary's and loose slots!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stopped in Bucket of Blood at the urging of a friend who had been. She wasn't kidding about the bloddy mary's. They were great. Not too spicy. Pickled green bean instead of an olive or celery. Packed a punch (which I didn't realize until I went to leave). We sat at slots to play while we drank, and both walked out way ahead!

A word of warning...if you buy a t-shirt, try it on. I bought a ladies tee and decided to change before we left. Good thing, because what should have been loose on me, wouldn't come close to fitting. Bought the next size up, which I should have been swimming in, and it was very form fitting. Mentioned it to the cashier and she agreed their women's shirts ran small (but didn't bother saying anything when I bought the first one).

We were here on a Monday before lunch, so it was pretty quiet. Got to look at all the old pictures and take lots of snapshots.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comstock Cowboys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Comstock Cowboys were great on stage, the Saloon was standing room only, the western atmosphere takes you back to another time & place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Lots of atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Looks reasonably authentic. Good atmosphere. Beer okay too.

Located next to the square from where the streetcar rides set off.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, MI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So, so casino atmosphere, clean, decent place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We hit this place at a pretty quiet day of the week (Wed.). Not a big place. Bathroom decent. Decent connected restaurant with lots of Victorian decor. Locals go there.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucket of Blood Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Bucket of Blood Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bucket of Blood Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.