We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cobb Mansion Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cobb Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Cobb Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
18 S. 'A' Street, PO Box 707, Virginia City, NV   |  
Hotel amenities
Alameda, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best B&B Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had trouble understanding how ONE-HUNDRED PERCENT of traveler reviews were giving the Cobb Mansion an "Excellent" rating, but after our stay last weekend, I understand. Thank you for the red-carpet treatment and a memorable stay in one of VC's treasures.

Room Tip: Paul gave us a tour of all the rooms and you can't go wrong in this beautiful, historic home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laporte, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was a wonderful experience, Paul and Jeff could not have provided us with a more memorable time. From the tour of the mansion with the guacamole and wine, to the historical tour in the antique car, the experience was a dream come true. The food was unbelievably delicious and the service exceptional. Spending time in the kitchen with Andrea and Jeff, as they readied breakfast was noteworthy in itself. Their movements were synchronized so that no effort was wasted and we found they Jeff arose at 3:30 to make the cinnamon rolls. This type of attention to detail is rarely found in any such institution.
The one thing that impressed me more than anything else, maybe I should say in addition to everything else, was the cleanliness of the room. I dropped my earring under the bed and there was not a speck of dust onthe floor, under the bedside table or under the edges of the drapes.
Clearly, this is THE place to stay while you are visiting this historic city.

Room Tip: All the rooms were wonderful. The first floor is handicapped accessible; our room on the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is the most beautiful inn we've ever visited! The breakfasts were delicious and elegant and the accommodations impeccable! We particularly enjoyed hearing about the inn and Virginia City history (especially the ride in the 1948 Chrysler woody)! The owners, Jeff and Paul are wonderful ambassadors for visitors to Virginia City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful Inn's I've ever visited. The Mansion is exquisite and the service is superb. I highly recommend the Cobb Mansion to anyone traveling through Northern Nevada. It's the perfect combination of history and luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at Cobb Mansion for our Anniversary, Paul & Jeff were great. We were treated like royalty while we were there. From the cocktail hour which included a tour of the mansion and homemade guacamole dip (great stuff) to breakfast the next morning(excellent) it was a fantastic time. Then to top it off Paul took us on a tour of Virginia City in his vintage (I believe) 1929 cadillac, very cool. We had a FANTASTIC TIME HERE AND RECCOMEND IT TO ALL. A TOTAL 5 STAR EXPERIENCE. We will be back soon. Thanks for a great time Paul Jell & Andria.

Dennis & Jocelyn Jonas

Room Tip: Just do it, a great time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is hands downs one of the top 5 most fantastic places I have ever stayed at. EVER. All I can say is WOW! Jeff and Paul have done one of the most amazing historic renovations I have had the pleasure of seeing...and I work in construction. Simply, no detail was overlooked.

I stayed in the Beebe-Clegg Room, it was on the small side by modern standards, but huge by historic ones and the vintage bed frame was awesome, and the bed itself was VERY comfy. The private bath in every room is a nice added amenity. This is a historic building so do not expect it to be sound proof. You will hear people walking around and talking.

The breakfast served in the morning is nothing short of fantastic, I just wish I could have stayed for the full event. The homemade cinnamon rolls and breads I saw going into the oven....O.M.G! But, given my schedule I had to leave before the full breakfast was served. Despite this, Jeff and Paul made sure I got everything I needed.

I will absolutely, most definitely, without a doubt, stay here again. What a treat, and being able to walk around in the historic downtown only adds to the ambience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This place is beautiful and Paul and Jeff are amazing. They are so interesting and fun! Paul drove us to dinner in their awesome 1930's Cadillac and gave us an exceptional tour of the beautiful mansion. If you go to Virginia city, a stay at the Cobb mansion is a must!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobb Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobb Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 18 S. 'A' Street, PO Box 707, Virginia City, NV
Location: United States > Nevada > Virginia City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 3 story 1876 Victorian mansion with period furnishings located 1/2 block from Piper's Opera House & 2 blocks from center of Virginia City. 6 guest rooms can handle up to 12 guests. All rooms have private bathrooms. Central heat & A/C with individual thermostats in each room. Free WiFi access. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobb Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.