We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abel's Mexican Restaurant

Abel's Mexican Restaurant
2905 US Hwy 40 W, Verdi, NV 89439
(775) 345-2235
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Verdi
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Orlando
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

It's hard enough to find Mole on a Mexican menu; but well done? In this case it was excellent.
Service was fast and friendly, and right off I-80. This will be a regular stop before I go over the mountain from now on.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    2
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South San francisco
1 review
“Don't stop here!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Don't believe the stars on this restaurant. It's all lies. Food was horrible. Beans from a can!! Nothing was food. My family ordered 4 different entries and every plate was horrible. Mexican??? No way! Not even close! Taco Bell isn't Mexican and I would prefer their beans or food anytime before this place! Don't stop here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
523 reviews 523 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
“Ok if you are out that way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Brought a group here on a Wed. night. The place was all but deserted. The chips and salsa were good as we're the margaritas. The meals were standard Mexican. Nothing special. Waiter was very slow and inaccurate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Wa.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nearby good Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I tried Abel's on a weekday night. We arrived at about 5pm and were one of the first diners to arrive. We were greeted by a waiter and escorted to a table. He asked if we wanted drinks and we placed our order. Immediately after a bus boy brought us water and chips--fast service. Our drinks arrived (happy hour-two margaritas for $7) and he also took our order. I had a chicken tamale and chicken enchilada plate and my wife had a chili rellino(sp?) and chicken enchilada plate--both we're very good. We had barely finished our chips when a warm second basket of chips arrived before our dinners were served. Our dinner and drinks came to $31 before tax.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Reno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The carnitas are the best we have ever had - bar none! It's in a convenient location (easy off and on I-80 from Reno), the food is really good, the drinks are great and Abel and his staff are on top of everything. The margaritas are delicious - we usually have the top shelf. Ask for the green salsa if you like it spicy - so good with the crisp chips. Abel is always gracious, is generally there to greet his guests and seeing to it that his operation is running smoothly. We go regularly and always look forward to it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abel's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abel's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.