We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn
320 Main Street, Highways 6 & 95, POBox 351, Tonopah, NV 89049   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tonopah
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This convenient hotel surpassed all of my expectations. I could not imagine such a clean, tidy, well-run hotel, and with a well apportioned breakfast - in such a desolate location. I will only stay in this hotel if I am within 100 miles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    157
    49
    6
    2
See reviews for
100
131
39
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room through Expedia for a non smoking room for two nights to be used as a hub between Phoenix, Az and Herlong, Ca for a business trip. When we checked in we were assigned a room and upon getting to that room, there was an out to service maintenance sign on it. The room had an overwhelming smoke smell. We went back to the front desk and they said they were completely booked and could not accommodate the non smoking request. They assigned us another room and offered us a can of Lysol!! The second room still had a heavy smoke smell but not quite as bad. We did use the Lysol as we had no other options. Luckily our business in Herlong didn't leave us much time in the room.
The breakfast was good. We had to check out early the second morning and the setup person offered us to help ourself to whatever was put out.
There are not many options in Tonopah, Nv so if you do stay at this hotel make sure you are getting what you want as a booking before you get there and they can't help you.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hidesertinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Hi-Desert Inn. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our hotel. I wish we had a non-smoking room available when you arrived. Unfortunately, reservations made through online sources, like Expedia, do not always communicate specifics such as non-smoking. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Please contact the hotel directly at 775-482-3511 to be sure we reserve a non-smoking room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed one night on our way between California and Utah. Tonopah certainly qualifies for the idea of 'middle of nowhere'. The hotel is right on Highway 6. We had a room facing the road and there were a number of trucks that we heard rumbling along in the evening, but the road seemed quite during the middle of the night.

They have snacks (cookies) available all day, and it was great to get a little treat at check-in. The breakfast is nicer that most other hotels in the price range. A choice of hot food, waffles, cinnamon buns, in addition to the regular breakfast fare.

The most important element for a hotel for our kids is the pool. The Best Western Hi Desert Inn has a decent pool and good sized hot tub. The pool does not have a true shallow end - about four feet. The kids are not big enough to stand anywhere on the pool, other than the steps and hanging on the wall. They are good enough swimmers that it was not a problem, but a year or two earlier and I would have had to hold onto them the entire time.

There is a good exercise room that we did not use, but there are no elevators. I didn't find it a big deal doing up and down the stairs for one night, but could be an issue for others.

Overall I would recommend it for the breakfast, pool, and an affordable clean room if you are traveling through Tonopah.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed one night. The room was clean a large. Clerk was a little short but not rude. I was a little worried about the parking for the second building, it is along a dark public street. Don't want to leave anything in the bed of the truck. Would stay again, for sure the best place in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We made reservations for one night based on all the great reviews. Our price was just under $100 for a queen size room in mid December.
The location of the room we were offered did not work out for us. The check-in clerk was very unhelpful and seemed to be bothered by our questions. When he told us that the WiFi, which was very important to us, was slow practically all over the hotel, we cancelled and left. This probably is the nicest place in this town, too bad we had to decide not to stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hidesertinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am sorry we were unable to locate a room that would fit your needs. Please contact me personally the next time you are coming to Tonopah and I will be sure to assign a room that will work for you. In regards to the internet, we presently have the fastest speed our town has to offer. Unfortunately, due to our location we do not have the speeds you will find in the city. The internet is very important to our guests and we continue to strive to deliver the best quality available. I hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us in the future. We look forward to serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great place to stay. Plenty of parking. Resonable rates. About $75. Cheaper places are in Tonopah, but not as nice.

Rooms are very nice and clean. I don't smoke, but they do have smoking rooms. Beds are very comfortable.

Breakfast is a full hot breakfast. They always have cinnamon rolls and cookies 24 hrs a day.

Places to park an Rv or Semi.

200 miles from vegas, and about 200 to Fernley. Pretty much the halfway point. Nothing really else out there in the desert.

I've stayed here many times- and will continue to.

Room Tip: If you are not a smoker, ask for a non smoking room. Call ahead, just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambly, Quebec, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

wi-fi good, nice and very clean room, mini fridge, microwave, flat screen tv, nice and clean bathroom, good dimension, breakfast on site, well located in the city, restaurant winthin 1 mile, would return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn

Address: 320 Main Street, Highways 6 & 95, POBox 351, Tonopah, NV 89049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Tonopah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tonopah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hi Desert Hotel Tonopah
Best Western Tonopah
Tonopah Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.