We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting, but could be so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tonopah Historic Mining Park

Tonopah Historic Mining Park
110 Burro Ave, Post Office Box 965, Tonopah, NV 89049
+1 775-482-9274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Tonopah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tonopah Historic Mining Park is on the site of Belle and Jim Butler's original mining claim which started the rush to Tonopah making it the "Queen of the Silver Camps." The mining park, encompassing portions of four of the major mining companies and covering 113 acres, preserves this rich history and brings it to life with exhibits of equipment and imaginative self-guided tours. The park also offers a Guided Polaris Tour. The park collects, restores and displays mining artifacts on the site and in the original buildings. Come and visit us at the Tonopah Historic Mining Park, where history comes alive. We are open 7 days a week from 9am-65pm, excluding all Federal Holidays.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Sf Bay Area
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“interesting, but could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The concept of the park is awesome. It really does attempt to bring the mining history to life. Unfortunately, the execution isn't quite there. The exhibits in the visitor center are mostly donated artefacts, without much effort to tie them together into a coherent narrative. The grounds of the park have some great points of interest, but the signs are so limited in number, that its often impossible to navigate and know where anything is. The map in the brochure is only so helpful, but when there are literally dozens of foot paths (many of which date back to the mining era), its often unclear where you're walking.

That said, the park is quite interesting. Improving the signs (both inside the visitor center, and on the park grounds) would make a huge difference. We spent just over an hour, however its certainly possible to spend much more time if you're determined to see everything.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredible Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were given senior discounts but ended up taking out a membership because we got so much out of it. We enjoy mining history and have visited many smaller mines and ghost towns in California and Nevada. This park had both small and large scale mining which kept our interest for most of the day. This has to be on your itinerary if you are near Tonopah.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing to be so close to downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Checked into our room and drove up to the Museum. We parked and the volunteer, I sure wish I could remember his name, came out to meet us. He gave us time to look around and showed us around the inside. He had many stories about the mining district. We paid our entrance fee and saw the movie. The movie was very informative. We then walked the area for over an hour. Tonopah is lucky to have the organization to continue the history of the town and area. Thanks

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best You Will See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Easy to get to if you visit Tonopah, you'll want to put on your walking shoes. The Visitor's Center should be your start point for a short but informative video to get your orientation. Walking trails will take you to the North Star, Mitzpah, Desert Queen, and Silver Top mines -- all in close proximity. See the hoist houses, doal house, mill ruins and reminants of the told Tonopah and Goldfield trestle. Terrific for kids and adventurers of all ages! Open 7 days a week, 9 to 5 from April through September and October through March, 10 to 4, Wednesdays to Sundays only. Take a canteen and camera!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AURORA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We thought that maybe that we were ghosts.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We went up to the Tonopah Historic Mining Park. There was only one lady there, when we walked in. She was on a cell phone and she walked into the museum part of the museum. She totally did not pay any attention to us. We were in the gift shop area. We stayed there for 15 minutes. She never came out to the gift shop. She was still on the cell phone. You have to pay a fee. We finally went back to our car, then we walked around taking photos. We never did pay. I would have thought that she could have got off the cell phone and came to see what we wanted. We have no idea, if we were missing anything or not on the path.

I generally do not give a one circle. But this deserves one circle. It is to bad as Tonopah is a very interesting town.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonopah Historic Mining Park also viewed

 

Been to Tonopah Historic Mining Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonopah Historic Mining Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.