We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mizpah Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tonopah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mizpah Hotel
Save
You added Mizpah Hotel to your Saves list
100 Main Street, Tonopah, NV 89049   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tonopah
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Happy Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My room was very comfortable... And then coffee offered in the morning... Nice!! Relaxing evening with dinner at the bar but had option for dining room. Felt comfortable in an old time parlor setting. Breakfast deal in morning was a nice treat. And the wine was really good which is from one of my favorite vineyards. Will go out of my way to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Good afternoon,

I'm grateful you felt so comfortable here at the Mizpah Hotel and you enjoyed wine from one of your favorite vinyards. Thank you for wanting to go out of your way to stay with us again.
We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    84
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
144
22
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our extended family has stayed at the Mizpah before, several times in fact. We come from the east and west coasts when we have a death in the family because we have deep roots in the area. The refurbished Mizpah was a terrific surprise. The lobby has been restored to the point where it must surpass it's original style. The teal and lavender velvet sofas soaking up the light coming through leaded glass windows are picture worthy, the bar area felt like part of this cozy living room. Room was crisp, bright, and the claw footed tub added charm. Food in the Pittman cafe was ok, nothing to boast about, but not bad. Coffee outside our door in the morning was great. We have always loved this hotel, and now even more so. Well done on the renovation!

Room Tip: We compared notes on the rooms and they all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Good morning and thank you for being our guests and sharing your experiences. We hope to see you and your family more often as you're what makes the Mizpah Hotel better than ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angels Camp, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our friends with Harley Daivdsons have traveled thru Tonopah for years and always have wished the hotel would reopen Closed for 11 years the historical hotel has been restored to it's original elegance. The original leaded windows in the lobby and bar are beautful. They used whatever they could reuse, doors furnature and fixtures. Rooms were large and very comfortale, the food was great.They are waiting for their gaming license to open the Casino next door. We will stay there again on our annual trip

Room Tip: 5th floor has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Good evening,

Thank you for your description of the historic Mizpah Hotel. Your dream come true is our dream. We so look forward to your return and hope your stay will be as comfortable as the first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We loved this hotel. We'd just driven the Loneliest Road (HW 50), then turned on to HW 6 at Ely and drove the 170 miles to Tonopah. Never expected to come across such a lovely old hotel. Comfortable room with large bathroom. We particularly liked the huge bar area downstairs which had a real historic feel. Had a good dinner in the Pittman Cafe. As far as accommodation goes, definitely the highlight of our trip to Nevada. We'd like to return.

Room Tip: Apparently room 502 has a ghost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Good afternoon,

I am delighted you chose to discover special areas of Nevada to drive through and vacation in especially the Mizpah Hotel. We absolutely love when our guests return to our and your oasis in the desert. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stopped at the mizpah on route from las vegas to lake taho .we pre booked and arrived at 8.30 pm .checked in no problem .Bar area nice old decor four locals drinking in bar .Our room was on floor 3 clean room cast iron bath with shower over bath.Went down to bar had drinks good service. The casino at mizpah was not yet open so we drove to a casino in town .Good nights sleep no nosie no ghost and good coffee served on your landing in morning .Had breakfast in pitman cafe food ok .On our road trip we stayed at five hotels the mizpah being one of best stops great old place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Good morning,

I am so very happy the Mizpah Hotel was your best stop and your over all visit was pleasant. Thank you for sharing your experience and have a safe journey back to England as we look forward to being your host again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Arriving very late at night, the young lady at the front desk couldn't have been more accommodating. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The cost for the room was very reasonable and it included breakfast.

Breakfast really stood out the next morning. After traveling nearly 2000 miles, this was by far the BEST breakfast of our trip west. I enjoyed Eggs Benedict. Perfect, although two instead of three would have been more than enough!

Room Tip: If you enjoy Eggs Benedict, order them for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
I am grateful we were able to accommodate you and you were pleased after having the Mizpah Hotel experience. Your words are much appreciated. Please consider the Mizpah Hotel again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at the Mizpah for one night on our way from Las Vegas to Yosemite. I loved the decor;it was like stepping back in time. The staff was friendly and helpful from check in to check out. We had a glass of wine and an appetizer in the bar, and that was a great way to end a hectic travel day. Our room was clean and quiet. The bed comfortable and room size ok for an older hotel. The air kind of worked, but in any case it was comfortable enough for sleeping. Breakfast was good, we opted for the discounted regular breakfast instead of the free continental. All in all, a great place.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
I want to thank you for being our guests and appreciate you sharing your Mizpah Hotel experience with us. I will certainly convey your thoughts to our friendly staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mizpah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizpah Hotel

Address: 100 Main Street, Tonopah, NV 89049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Tonopah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tonopah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the historic Mizpah Hotel, the heart of Tonopah since 1907. With 48 rooms, two restaurants, a future casino, two saloons and a couple of friendly ghosts, the Mizpah is both journey and destination. It’s a place for weary travelers, adventure seekers, and anyone with a hunger for good fun, food and drink. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mizpah Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.