We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more interesting than anticipated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culloden Battlefield

Culloden Battlefield
Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre, Culloden Moor IV2 5EU, Scotland
0844 493 2159
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$904*
and up
5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite...
Type: Battlefields, Historic Sites, Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This battlefield marks the site of the historic 1746 battle between the Duke of Cumberland and Prince Charles.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Much more interesting than anticipated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This turned into a really interesting afternoon out. The visitor center has layed out the information in a very creative manner; I particularly liked the enormous screen on the floor which had animations of both sides advancing and the subsequent retreat. The man on the front desk was knowledgable and friendly. The use of the GPS handheld devices was very helpful to navigate the battlefield and brings it to life. I'd definitely recommend this as a place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    276
    67
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“School Girls Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Set on flat ground Culloden is a piece of Historical wonder.The plaques explaining who died where and what happened filled me with awe.We did not have time to go into the Visitor Centre which would have been worthwhile nevertheless a poignant place on earth.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Moving experience, excellent visitor centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We called at Culloden on our return home from Inverness. The modern visitor centre is excellent. It's not the prettiest building, but it works very well, for telling the story of the battle. Visitors are channelled down a series of corridors (with wheelchairs and scooters available for those that need them) with the Government story on one side of the wall, and the Jacobite story on the other. It was effective for communicating the complicated history. There are also lots of artefacts from the time on display, such as items of clothing, jewellery, books, and, of course, weapons. After viewing the visitor centre there are regular walking tours of the battlefield. We didn't go on one of these, but instead climbed up onto the top of the visitor centre, from where you can get a 360 degree view of the battlefield, including assessing the overall terrain and how it would have been in 1746.

There's also a good cafe in the visitor centre, with free wifi. And a well stocked shop. We bought a guidebook that will let me read more about the battle's history at home. I was left with a huge sense of anger afterwards, but also deep despair. And I'm very glad that I went. Culloden is an important site, and if you are in the area I strongly recommend visiting. Even if you think you know the story already you will learn new things. And if you don't it will be eye opening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outlander Novel Brought Me To This Quality Visitor's Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We visited in June 2013 from California USA. We don't know much about Scottish history, as we would not study it in school here. My interest was sparked after reading books in the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. The main character is a Fraser so we trod out on the muddy field in the rain to see the Fraser clan stone, which was a highlight. Avid fans of the series had placed fresh flowers at that stone, which I am sure is a regular occurrence. The entire center is very well done. The points of view and historic movements of both the Highlanders and the English seem evenly balanced. Standing in the middle of a film reenactment of the battle, in the round with surround sound, was very effective. (Possibly too intense for young children.) The artifacts display was substantial. The flags on the field marking the location of where the Highlanders and English each stood to face off helps one visualize hand to hand combat proximity. Seeing the stones that mark where the clans fought and died is very moving. The field, itself, is impressive in size and visitors should behave in an almost reverent way while walking around. For history buffs and fans of the Outlander series, this is a great stop. Of course, the shop at the exit is well stocked.
Bonus: saw long haired Highland cattle out in front

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best battlefield sites we've seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Culloden visitor's center does an outstanding job of explaining the battle, what preceded it, and the aftermath. Lots of interesting personal "reenactment" stories. Impressive video-in-the-round that really makes you feel like you were in the middle of the battle.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culloden Battlefield also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Ardersier, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Culloden Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culloden Battlefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.