We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoy the Ridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ridge Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ridge Tahoe to your Saves list
The Ridge Tahoe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stateline
Vacaville, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always enjoy the Ridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stay at the Ridge Resorts annually for 2 weeks and are owners. Our room in the Tower was fabulous this year as the rooms have just been renovated. The beds are sleep number and quite comfortable. The view of the Carson Valley from the 9th floor was amazing. The view of the moon rising should not be missed either. My nephew asked his girlfriend to marry him at the point overlooking the lake and the sunset close to the Ridge View....she said yes. This is an incredible spot not to be missed and seems to be a family tradition as my son asked his now wife 2 years ago in the same location. Our second week was at the Naegle, building 12 overlooking the Valley as well. The rooms will be renovated this fall and next Spring and definitely in need. The Fitness Center needs updating after all these years and needs a deep cleaning. The ice makers were not working, but housekeeping brought us ample ice whenever we called. Check in is always easy. Spa is wonderful and the Eucalyptus Steam room is a must!!...so relaxing The resort store carries quite a bit and considering the cost of gas, much easier to pick up extras there. The Deli has great sandwiches, pizza and desserts. Happy hour is very enjoyable. Staff is friendly and helpful. The Blue Go service has restored free transportation and goes down the hill to the casinos hourly which is a plus, expecially since there were over 35 family members this year. The quietness, wind through the tress, hiking, spa, activities and views make the Ridge Resorts one of our favorite vacations. Yes, nice to be down by the casinos at times, but the back to nature feel, the accomodations and facilities make the Rige 5 star for us!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    171
    57
    46
    30
See reviews for
176
141
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Threeboysmum
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Great set of apartments that although a little dated are very clean and well kept. Our apartment (2 bedrooms for a family of 5) was HUGE, had a reasonable kitchen (enough for family cooking) and good sized sitting room - I think it was a double room joined with a 1 bed apartment but it worked very well. Washer and dryer for skiers is a godsend. The deli serves by far the best food and there's a little shop with video rental and groceries. The Hungry Bear restauarant was not great, I would order at the bar instead, the restaurant doesn't add anything to the food which is the same at the bar. Outdoor pool was a big hit with the kids, the changing areas are in need of an urgent revamp. It's a good out of town base with fantasitc views and you do want to get away from Stateline after a day skiing. Make sure to get snow chains if you hire a car - our Virgin car package was hopeless, the car was too small for 5 people and there were no snow chains so it was a treacherous ride up the mountian. It's a very long drive from SFO dont let anyone convince you anything less than 4 hours.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed in the 2 bedroom condo at the Ridge and were very satisfied with the choice. The living room had a fireplace, TV, dvd, open to the kitchen and nice views from the balcony. Each bedroom with its own bathroom was located on the opposite side of the living room so there was lots of privacy. There is storage for skis in the condo as well as in the lockers outside. Parking is conveniently located under roof for those snowy days. There is a jacuzzi outside in the building but I doubt anyone is using it (not the best location and it's tiny) so I recommend using the one in the resort club. The restaurant was never open when we wanted to eat dinner so we had to go either to town or bring something back in after skiing. Would defenitely recommend getting a 4WD in the winter as the resort is located on top of the mountain with lots of hills and turns to get there. We've had a van and had a problem with getting to the top during one of the snow storms and lots of cars were stranded at the bottom of the hill. The shuttle stopped right by the building and took you right to one of the Heavenly gondolas so that was great. Price of the condo was unbeatable with other places (hotels.com was running a special with amost 40%off when we were booking), then prices went up. So all together, we had a great stay especially that skiing was unbelievable!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed at our friends time share apratment at the Ridge Resort, in the Plaza.

It was very elegant and clean, we overlooked the pines and mountains, which was beautiful. They had a great spa centre with an inside/outside pool which was glorious, even when it started to snow!

My only issue with this resort is that they closed the bar at 7pm, so with us being out all day, showering and getting ready to go out for the evening, we were too late to get anything to eat or drink afterthat time, which meant travelling to the town below for this.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

The Ridge Resorts is actually comprised of several Ridge buildings.... Ridge Crest, Ridge View, Ridge Pointe, Ridge Sierra and Ridge Tahoe. Our stay was in the Ridge View building on an exchange through Interval Int'l. The building you stay in will determine your view, your unit's amenities/stars and the distance to the main Ridge Tahoe (advertised as a 5 star resort.)

The Ridge Resorts is on top of Kingsbury Grade, well situated on the mountain high above with fantastic views of Lake Tahoe or Carson Valley (again, depending on building). The Ridge View building faces the lake so all the rooms had lake views (partially obscured by pine trees, but still nice nonetheless). I can see where the other Ridge buildings may have views of either the Carson Valley or parking lots or the Heavenly Stagecoach lift as others have mentioned in previous reviews.

Our 1bd/1ba unit in Ridge View (311 Tramway Drive) from March 20-27,2010 was adequately furnished, a little aged but I am not too picky. Everything was in good working order and my request for a top floor room was close (5th floor out of 6 floors total). Full kitchen; king sized bed in bedroom and sofa sleeper in living room. Our party of four was nicely accomodated. TV in both living room and bedroom. There is a jacuzzi on the rooftop along with BBQ grills. We were very close to the elevator which was very fast and also not very loud at all. The building is secure, requires a room key just to get in the doors. We arrived at the Reno/Tahoe airport late and consequently arrived just after the on-site front desk clerk had left. However, there is a phone, you simply dial the main front desk at Ridge Tahoe, they give you a lockbox password after verifying your room name/details and you are able to get your paperwork in a securely locked drawer with the room key inside to let yourself in. Parking at Ridge View is NOT underground, but there are several spots under a canopy and even more spots outside of the canopy area.

What I liked most about our stay was the resort transportation and the public transportation, BLUEGO, provided by the City of Lake Tahoe. Simply dial the Ridge Resorts transportation dept. and walk outside of the Ridge View building to the stop, and within minutes a Ridge Resorts shuttle will take you where you want to go on property.... to any Ridge Resort building or the main Ridge clubhouse where the spa, pool, jacuzzi, restaurant, deli, front desk, concierge, marketplace, gift shop, etc are located. We used the workout room and pool several times. Lockers, towels, full shower facilities and toiletries are provided. When we were done, we simply called transportation for a ride back to Ridge View. On several occasions we also wanted a ride into Stateline to the casino areas and main Heavenly Village area. This is where the BLUEGO public transportation came in handy. I picked up a bus schedule which was very easy to follow, and the bus stop was literally outside of the Ridge View building. I recommend being at the stop 5 mins. before the scheduled time though as they frequently run early. The bus drivers are very helpful too, they can tell you which bus # to look for to get to a certain destination.

As for ski/boarding, we did that at Heavenly and same thing, there are dedicated ski shuttles that run in the mornings and at the end of the day. You simply wait at the stop outside the Ridge View building at the designated time (every 20 mins) and hop on. We never paid a dime for the shuttles, they are free to Ridge Resort guests.

We cooked our meals the entire week or took the BLUEGO to the Stateline casinos for meals, so can't comment on the deli or restaurant that is inside the clubhouse. however the restaurant is only open on high volume evenings - Fri,Sat,Sun.Contrary to what someone else mentioned, there is free wifi and a printer inside the clubhouse for printing boarding passes. If you want to have wifi in your room, it's $20 for the entire week. We had to call the wifi tech support company late at night and they helped us connect two laptops and an iPod touch to the Ridge network with ease.

Housekeeping comes mid-week to do a cleaning, but we opted out of that and instead requested only a towel exchange (we like our privacy). Housekeeping also brought us multiple coffee packets so we had coffee for the entire week.

Overall I would stay here again! Ridge View is marketed as a 4 star (silver) resort in Interval and I think that is an accurate rating. Feel free to contact me with any specific questions!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

The scenery is spectacular, the service leaves something to be desired and the location a little inconvenient if you don't have your own transportation. The restaurant has good food but its not open a lot. The resort specific transportation vans are NOT set up to handle luggage or skis - JUST people ! In a predominately SKI oriented location at this time of year it is UNACCEPTABLE for a resort to not have the means to assist you with your luggage and skis. Upon check in , in the midst of a significant snow storm the front desk clerk did not explain ANYTHING about the resort (ie like the fact that there are ski lockers available !) I had to ask how to get to the room , since we had never been there before, said he would call a van which didn't show - so my husband and I had to drag our luggage and skis through the snow on the dark slippery road ! Upon check out I called for a van to pick us up to get up to the clubhouse - I was told that the van could not come into the garage (SAY what??) , so fine , we waited at the entrance to the garage , the driver got out and basically did nothing to help us put the luggage into the van - which incidentally couldn't handle our stuff and us - so my husband had to drag the skis uphill while the other people in the van got a ride up. The driver didn't even offer to drop the stuff off and come back for him and the skis ! I explained the situation to the manager and he was very apologetic and he himself and 1 other employee came out and assisted us with loading everything onto the BLUE GO shuttle into town, TOO LITTLE TOO LATE ! The free BLUE GO shuttle is a nice touch as long as you get a driver that pays attention ! 1 night I asked the driver to stop at a restaurant on the route and he was so busy talking to the person in the front seat that he drove right by it - couldn't turn around and then didn't even tell us what he was going to do about it. He had been running late, so our 7:15 reservation was now long past and there was no way to make it there ! So needless to say that night did not go well !

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, IN
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

My wife and i were in tahoe for one week via time share trade. we were disappointed with the negative reviews once we researched it. i cannot tell you what the others had happen, but our stay was very positive. it is true, they seem to updating the place, but everything seemed to be in fine condition and the updates looked nice. We had a great time and were very comfortable. we stayed at the plaza. the staff was very helpful everytime we needed it, so icant agree the staff was lacking. not a five star (more like a 4.25), but close and we would stay there in a heartbeat again. There is no gondala anymore but shuttle service is provided every 15 minutes for boarding. Don't know of any to complain about except a few things like no printer for guests to use (boarding passes) and no free wifi, but that is about it. if after a week stay those are my only complaints, works for me.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ridge Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Tahoe

Address: 400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ridge Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge Tahoe sits high atop the Sierra's at 7,300 feet above sea level. Views are of the Carson Valley some 3,000 feet below and of the mountains. The property is spread out over 11 acres and connects with Heavenly Valley's Nevada, Stagecoach Lodge. Our on-site skier express lift provides free transportation directly to the stagecoach lift. Shuttle service is provided at no charge to and from the casino's in Stateline. Our property offers two bedroom suites, sleeping 6-8, one bedroom suites, sleeping four and deluxe hotel units, sleeping 2-4 guests. All two and one bedroom suites have full kitchens and fireplaces. Our 45,000 sq. feet clubhouse is the center piece of the resort where guests can enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Spa, Recreation, dining, deli, market place, concierge services, business center, full fitness center, 4 tennis courts (one in-door), two swimming pools (one in-door), BBQ's, Ping pong, full kids club program, guided hikes, rock climbing, snow shoeing and much more! The best part of the Ridge Tahoe is our people, we care very much about our guests and their vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Ridge Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Ridge Tahoe Hotel Lake
The Ridge Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ridge Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.