We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ridge Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ridge Tahoe to your Saves list
The Ridge Tahoe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Stateline
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

4 nights in May, it's a big complex but well run. Staff were great on arrival, very polite an helpful, gave us free wifi. Room was nice and big, gas fire, kitchenette, comfy beds. The outdoor pool was lovely even though it snowed, hot tub was nice, jacuzzis everywhere as far as I could see. There are a lot of road works on the way up to the hotel on kingsbury grade but if it's only for a few nights it's fine. If you do stay, go to the Genoa bar, 20 mins away and get food in Jt's basque restaurant near by. Cheap, lovely and filling. I'd stay again. I'd avoid the fox and hound.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    165
    56
    46
    30
See reviews for
170
139
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The Ridge Tahoe was one of the places we stayed for a week on our epic 4 month road trip. You can find my comprehensive review of The Ridge Tahoe at http://homesweetroad.com/the-ridge-tahoe-review/ where i have posted pics and tips if you decide to go there.

What we liked about The Ridge Tahoe:

Views
Activities galore
Kids Club
Shuttles to town
Ski-in Ski-out during ski season
Jacuzzi tub!

What we didn’t like about The Ridge Tahoe:

No air conditioning – Please DO NOT underestimate the importance of this one thing
Farther from the lake and town then we’d like

VERDICT:

We would go to The Ridge Tahoe again for sure during ski season or cooler months, but NEVER during the summer due to the absence of AC. I loved all the activities but would plan better to take full advantage of them next time. Also, if we were planning on spending most of our time near the lake I would find other accommodations. It’s a bit of a drive. All in all we had a wonderful time there.

I sincerely hope this review helps make your decision as to whether or not you should stay there a little easier!

Best,
Emily Oak

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I overnighted here in between California and Utah. I arrived late and left very early due to a surprise May snowstorm. I was able to both check in and out at the gate house, I found that quite convenient as I didn't even have to get out of my car! Free garage parking was appreciated. The room was not luxurious, but it was nice, spacious, and clean. There was a Sleep Number bed in my room. I have no complaints and wish I could have spent a bit more time at The Ridge.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY State
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have taken a long time to write this review as I wanted to be fair and with the experience fresh in my mind in March, I didn’t think I could be so.

First, the size and amenities of the apartment where we stayed in The Tower were absolutely lovely, including the best equipped kitchen of any place we have stayed in. Nicely furnished, and once several requests for equipment and repairs were made and met, it was adequate for our needs and comfortable.

The step into the tub/shower in the main master bedroom was very high and difficult to navigate, even with grab bars, and the sleep number bed in the second bedroom wouldn’t hold air, so during the long weekend our guests used it they would wake in the morning on essentially a flat air mattress (it was eventually fixed). The staff tried very hard to be responsive and were for the most part … BUT …

DO NOT think that you are checking into a hotel. This is NOT a hotel, but a membership resort where owners (like timeshares) get preference for all units and services, period. When our reservation was made on a long-distance international call and paid for fully prior to our arrival, we had been assured of a 2-bedroom apartment in The Tower on the highest floor possible facing the valley – and none was available when we checked in! They know in advance when owners are going to use their spaces, but didn’t have the courtesy to call or e-mail us to let us know that they would not be able to accommodate us in what they had promised.

Our unit over-looked the not-so-scenic parking lot from the living room and the hot tub from the master bedroom, where, because we had to sleep with the windows open, as it was so hot in the room and the apartment generally, we were one night kept awake by rowdy drunks, even until till 1 AM (the hot tub closes at 10 PM) and we finally had to call security – who promptly came and escorted the culprits away.

There was the trend. We spent almost every day either needing something and having to call reception when a heads up, customer service housekeeping pre-check list would have noted that the handle had fallen off the spatula and that there was no paring knife and the rest were so dull they would not cut butter. We had to call about the safe in the room as it simply ceased to function – twice. We were locked out of our apartment due to a faulty lock mechanism three times until it was finally replaced while we waited in the hall exhausted after a day of skiing! In the meantime, we were burning our vacation time in daily talks with the management about obtaining the rooms that we had been promised and paid for or trying to get maintenance on things like the window cranks or dresser drawers that fell out when opened, only to hear “I’m sorry” over and over. We were shown several lesser units in other buildings, all with either less space or noise or other drawbacks and all with issues due to lack of attention to detail.

Eventually we met with management, including the Resort Manager, in an attempt to clear the air. We had a meaningful conversation where it was admitted that they knew some months before our arrival they could not accommodate us in the accommodation booked. We were offered various concessions to try to make up for the fact that the resort had simply done a “bait and switch” on us. Though everyone was cordial and seemed to be working hard on our behalf, little could be done as the influx of owners meant ‘hotel’ guests got what was left over. Most unsatisfactory and whilst the financial rebate which was agreed was fair and reasonable, it did not make up for the disappointment of spending two weeks not in the apartment we booked and burning so much of what was supposed to be leisure time sorting out the mess.

As to the resort amenities, we didn’t get to use many. The bar closed at 9 PM!!! Never did find the restaurant, though we did locate the deli. The main resort building is somewhat of a labyrinth and without a guide, it was just too much to contemplate wasting more of our precious vacation time on a quest to find the fitness center and the pool!!!

Though there are shuttles that run to the center of town (note that you are high up on the mountain and there are no other facilities within walking distance – you must take a shuttle or drive and it is at least a 15-20 minutes drive to the center of town), the idea of going to dine while keeping one eye on one’s watch so one didn’t miss the last shuttle wasn’t very appealing to say nothing of the constant wait for a shuttle service in the cold night which, to be fair, mostly did run on time. The advertised monorail connector to the Stagecoach ski area only ran on the weekends or was closed for maintenance, so it wasn’t a case of ski in/ski out.

I know this is a long review but I think it important. This could really be a great place to stay IF the alarming lack of attention to detail, essential in the hospitality business, was addressed and maintained. Being in the hospitality business myself, I found this inexplicable and unfortunate.

Would we stay there again? Probably because of the size of the units in the Tower and their views (not the one we were in) ……….. BUT with eyes wide open about the continual deficiencies AND only with assurances, in writing, that we would be in the type of unit we had reserved and paid for with all that had been promised.

I give the staff and management top marks for trying – how tired they must be of saying “I’m sorry” all the time – when a heads-up, pro-active management with solid operational policies in place that are followed like religion could take this resort to TOP CLASS status!!

Room Tip: Be sure you know EXACTLY what you are booking ... the management does know in advance what rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Three of us, got a two bedroom as we are owners here at this timeshare. Now selling the place as it is soooo not a good place to stay. So many things wrong. Like no shampoo in the bathrooms. They said they don't supply shampoo to their timeshare owners. Wish we had known, as it is a week time share. The window cranks didn't work well, and the one in the livingroom was broke. Finally had to call maintenance to get the one in the livingroom fixed. We did wish to close the window afterall since nights lows were in the 30's.
There was no alarm clock in the Master bedroom. No clock at all in the master bedroom for that matter. Plus they didn't believe us so they sent a housekeeper to check all our nightstand drawers, behind the headboard etc. Then they brought it and we couldn't figure how to turn the alarm off. So we even called for a maintenance guy about that. He couldn't figure out how to turn it off either. So I had to set it for midday so it wouldn't wake us at night.
A terrible experience overall at a place that should be fighting to keep its guests happy considering it is all the way up the mountain from the casinos, and there was no snow on the ground. We left a day early. Tired of it. Next time we will go back to staying at the Mariott timber lodge right near the state line. Walking to everything. You are not able to walk to anything when you stay at the Ridge Tahoe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite in the Plaza building. We arrived late (9 pm) and were tired and took the suite that was offered to us. Unfortunately, it was a "no view" room that faced other buildings. In retrospect, we should have asked for a high floor and will do so the next time. We liked the room and the indoor parking was desirable. The stay was pleasant and we enjoyed ourselves. There were 4 BBQ grills near our building entrance and we made good use of them. The unit seemed like it was upgraded. The TV in the living room was great to watch playoff hockey. The kitchen had everything you needed for a short stay. The towels were fluffy. We had a couple of nits with our unit. One of the two bathrooms was so tiny that it reminded me of airport stalls. The bathtubs were set up so high that it was a bit difficult to get into the tubs. No steps were in place because of the compactness of the bathroom. The internet was slow but bearable. Internet access was only allowed to 4 devices at a time. We had 3 laptops, 1 iPad, and 3 smartphones. So we had to do some resource management. The resort was a long drive from US 50 and the casinos. The distance was not a problem for us in April, but it may become an issue during the ski season. Bottom line - we loved it and we will return to this resort!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing away from the Club House. Plaza building lower levels are busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, General Manager at The Ridge Tahoe, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sashafoo,

Thank you for taking time out to post your review. We sincerely appreciate this.

We do hope to see you back and this time in a unit with one of our great views! Just let our reservations team know and we will make every effort to accommodate you.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Ridge Tahoe and for your review.

Sincerely,
Dan Garrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were in a 2 bedroom unit in the Plaza building. The room looked as if it had just been remodeled. Attractive, clean and well maintained. We experienced a minor problem and called housekeeping to request a fix. A maintenance engineer arrived within minutes and fixed the problem within 5 minutes of his leaving, housekeeping called our room and asked if the problem had been corrected..this place is on top of things! The staff is professional, courteous and happy!! There are many activities offered...tennis, racquetball, two pools (one is closed in winter), hot tubs, sauna and a spa. Restaurant and deli on site. for skiers/boarders the property is connected to Heavenly Resort by their own private gondola like car. No driving needed. Rooms are very spacious...you won't feel claustrophobic here! Fantastic views from our 8th floor east facing rooms. Oh yes! King beds are equipped with those sleep number matress you hear advertised! Great for a restful, comfortable sleep! The place is only minutes from the casinos (free shuttles provided if you don't want to drive), but while on the property, you really feel like you are in the mountains (and of course you are !).

Room Tip: Some rooms have great views and some lower rooms on the access road are less desirable. The Tower bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ridge Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Tahoe

Address: 400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ridge Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge Tahoe sits high atop the Sierra's at 7,300 feet above sea level. Views are of the Carson Valley some 3,000 feet below and of the mountains. The property is spread out over 11 acres and connects with Heavenly Valley's Nevada, Stagecoach Lodge. Our on-site skier express lift provides free transportation directly to the stagecoach lift. Shuttle service is provided at no charge to and from the casino's in Stateline. Our property offers two bedroom suites, sleeping 6-8, one bedroom suites, sleeping four and deluxe hotel units, sleeping 2-4 guests. All two and one bedroom suites have full kitchens and fireplaces. Our 45,000 sq. feet clubhouse is the center piece of the resort where guests can enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Spa, Recreation, dining, deli, market place, concierge services, business center, full fitness center, 4 tennis courts (one in-door), two swimming pools (one in-door), BBQ's, Ping pong, full kids club program, guided hikes, rock climbing, snow shoeing and much more! The best part of the Ridge Tahoe is our people, we care very much about our guests and their vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ridge Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Ridge Tahoe Hotel Lake
The Ridge Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ridge Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.