We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ridge Tahoe

Save Saved
You added The Ridge Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ridge Tahoe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Stateline
Magnolia, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ski Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early July , the temperature were mid 80's whcih was warm for Tahoe area..Carson Valley /reno was in the 100-110's/ So extreme temperatures. A beautiful place with great amenities but,...In the winter for skiing this would be a GREAT Place to stay ...if not THE Place (besides Heavenly). In the summertime it was a long way to the Lake and from downtown. I would recommend it for a winter time ski trip or for someone that wants to come ,relax and hang out at the resort. The view from the pool/hot tub are AMAZING!! You can see Lake Tahoe and all of the Carson Valley back to the East. Needed Air Conditioning this summer though!! Steep site so be prepared to walk up or down hill.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    157
    52
    44
    30
See reviews for
162
134
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had very high winds 2 of 5 days during our skiing stay. Only 2 lifts were running one day, and most lifts were closed on 3 other days. Luckily, the lift right next to this hotel (Stagecoach) was the one that was open every day. Skiiers staying in town where shuttled here by bus. When I looked into skiing at Heavenly, I considered paying the premium to be right at the gondola, but in the 5 days of our trip, the gondola was only running one day.
This was the most beautiful condo unit we have ever stayed in - Naegle building, #11. Two bedrooms with a king size bed in each, pullout sofa in living room, granite counters and walls in bathroom and in kitchen, very nice fancy furniture, ok view, 3 large flat screen tvs, very friendly staff.
However, the Ridge is exceedingly isolated, and the road is exceedingly steep and slippery. Definitely rent a car with four wheel drive and snow tires!!!. We could not make it up to the hotel entrance, and had to leave our car in the parking lot at the bottom of their long drive. There, the concierge in the kiosk called a shuttle for us, and the very friendly staff took us and our stuff up to the hotel. The next day, the snow had melted enough for us to take the car up to the hotel, but we did not take a chance on driving out again during our stay, and left a day early when the forecast was for heavy snow at the end of our stay. This is not emphasized enough (or even mentioned?) in the hotel information.
We had great prices for our first three nights since it was just before the Christmas ski season, but the only nice restaurant in the complex was closed until Dec 23. Plan to cook for yourself or eat a light meal in the tiny bistro. Altho there is a movie theatre in the resort, the movies only run twice a day, the last one at 5:00. Plan to watch a movie in your room or otherwise entertain yourself, unless you take the shuttle to the casinos in town. Nothing is happening on the Ridge.
It is definitely not a ski in, ski out resort. The mini gondola running to Stagecoach is unreliable, and difficult to get to unless you are in Naegle Buildings 10, 11 or 12, as well as having 60 steps to climb in your ski gear for the return trip. (We wonder why they don't create a small ski run from the buildings to Stagecoach -- it looks like it would be quite easy to do, for ski out). Shuttles to Stagecoach were frequent, so it wasn't difficult to get to and from the lift.
When the weather was good (one day out of 5), the view on the ski hill is amazing. The staff is incredibly friendly. The snow was very good.
(another tip - the air is very very dry. You can ask for a humidifier was guest services, which would probably be helpful)

Room Tip: Naegle buildings 10, 11 or 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at The Ridge Tahoe on November 2012, and overall we had a great experience.
We booked through Interval Intl. a one bed. suite. Very roomy. Beautiful views (The Terrace building). The furniture was a little outdated, but everything in great shape. Very clean. Full kitchen with plenty of appliances and accessories. A king bed with adjustable mattress. Plenty of storage space (which you wont need if you book a locker downstairs - very convenient). Underground garage.
The weekend we arrived had a very heavy storm, so there was a lot of snow. Ours is not a four wheel drive, so we used chains to get there. It was a nice surprise to learn that they have a free shuttle down to the casinos area, so we didn't move the car for the rest of the weekend.
The main building has a SPA, a cafeteria and a small indoor/outdoor pool, which my kids loved!
The food was good, the staff very friendly and helpful.
Ski season wasn't open yet, so I cannot say if the tramway worked or not, it was closed at his time.
The only bad thing is that is is kind of far from everything else. However, not a deal breaker for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

While skiing around the Tahoe area, my wife and I stayed in a 1-bedroom unit at the Ridge Tahoe condo for 5 nights, December 13- 18, 2012. We were in the Terrace building. Our overall experience was very positive and we would stay there again, but there are a couple of caveats of which you should be aware before you decide to book here. First the positives: beautiful view with big windows, very roomy, well decorated and clean, wonderful bed with individual adjusters for each side, 2 TVs (big thin screen in living room and CRT in bedroom), good hi-speed wifi (we were able to run Netflix with no problems – there is a charge for wifi -- $5/ day; $13/ 3 days; $20/ week); convenient covered parking in the building, nice under-used hot-tub in the building plus a heated pool in another building in the complex, good shuttle service to Heavenly, friendly staff.
The two caveats both relate in a way to the location. The Ridge is located on a ridge (duh!) immediately above the Stagecoach lift at Heavenly. The high elevation means a great view, but it also means that to get to the complex, you have to drive up some fairly steep streets, and once you get in, the whole resort is on a pretty steep hill. We were there after and during some significant snow, and the streets both in the resort itself and in the surrounding area were not very well cleared. We almost got stuck several times. At the resort’s entrance is a sign ‘’4 wheel drive or chains only’’, but this is nowhere mentioned in the online information for the condo. So we rented a 2-wheel drive SUV, which as I said had a hard time on the roads. The second caveat is related to the ‘’skier express’’ tram, which runs back and forth from its station at the resort to the Stagecoach lift. You can call it with your room key. In principle, this sounds great, and I think I recall that on some websites, the resort was advertised as ‘’ski in, ski out’’ based on this tram. In practice, not so great, and certainly not ski in ski out. For one thing, it was out of service much of the time. And worse, there was no system to post a sign at stations at either end to let you know it was out of service. So when you wanted to call it to the Stagecoach lift, you would climb the stairs, input your room key and wait … and wait… and wait .. and finally call the hotel desk, only to be told it is out of order. I complained about this, and hopefully they will get a system started to let you know. Then there is the problem of getting to and from the tram station. At the Stagecoach lift, you have to climb approximately 60 stairs (I counted!), which is not exactly a piece of cake in ski boots, carrying skis. At the resort end, the tram station is at the top of the hill, next to the front desk/ club area, so if you are staying in one of the buildings downhill (Plaza, Terrace), you have to hike up a fairly steep road (no sidewalk) several hundred meters. (There were some buildings closer to the tram – I think called ‘’Naegle’’, or something like that.) The saving grace, however, is that if the Stagecoach lift is operating (it was not open the day we arrived, but opened our second day), there is a nice van shuttle to and from the lift every 15 minutes, which makes stops close to all the buildings of the resort. There are even enclosed shelters at the stops, so you won’t freeze in bad weather while waiting. (If the Stagecoach is not operating, there is a different shuttle to take you to the gondola, but it runs only once an hour.) Another option which I used once is to just drive your car to the Stagecoach lot, which offers free parking and is located right next to the front entrance of the resort. But as I said, this is problematic when the streets are slick if you don’t have either chains or snow tires and 4WD. (Walking to the Stagecoach lot is not really an option; the hill is too steep with some blind curves and there is no sidewalk.) I realize that I’ve devoted much more line space to the caveats than the positives, but I think it’s necessary to explain this situation well. But let me end as I began this trip report by saying that we very much enjoyed our stay, and would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you plan to use the tram from the condo to the Heavenly Stagecoach lift, get a room in one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_400, General Manager at The Ridge Tahoe, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Johnc:

Thank you for taking the time to post your most recent vacation experience here at The Ridge Tahoe. You input is valuable not only to other, future customers but to us as well.

I especially want to thank you for making your point regarding sign's for the skier express. To use one of your words "duh". Sometimes we have blinders on and miss obvious things such as this.

I have directed our purchasing department to order signs that will clearly let users know when the lift is out of operation! Thanks again for this, much appreciated! The good news is the lift is fully operational and our skiers are keeping the express busy!

Thanks again and have a wonderful Holiday Season.

Dan Garrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Here for a week on vacation exchange. Two room apartment with full kitchen facilities. Surprisingly it's also not expensive to book it nightly too if u r not exchanging. Very spacious and well equipped kitchen. No washing machine in unit but a free communal one on every floor. We had a great view from the room we were at. There was a blackout when we arrived but whole mountain top was affected. They should provide torchlights but they didnt, luckily we brought one.. Went sledding on the slope nearby. If more snow, there is ski in ski out from ski lifts nearby. Shuttles down to town but we drove ourselves. Facilities but we didn't really use them. Thes a small indoor heated pool too so bring your swim gear if u like. No shampoo provided which was odd.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had a fabulous time with two teenagers in tow. Figured they would be bored to tears, but we had a wonderful time at the Ridge--Neagle Building--which are nicely refurbished since our last visit there. Front staff is cordial and helpful. Called a mechanic for some small issues and he was helpful and very nice about it all. I'm not crazy about the internet access there, but we got through the week with little trauma as teens need constant internet access. We cooked some days in the fully equipped kitchen and ate Thanksgiving dinner in Tahoe. Overall, the Ridge is well-kept, clean and in great shape for the weather conditions it endures. Parking is tight in the garage area but we managed and everyone is careful there. Didn't get to build our snowman on the deck this year as there was no snow. Maybe next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just got married a couple weeks ago (The day after Thanksgiving) and I REALLY enjoyed myself! Carrie (The Event Cordinator at The Ridge) IS WONDERFUL! The event package comes with all the staff you need to make a beautiful wedding. A florist (Amazing BTW!), 'Flour Girl' cakes (AMAZING!), photographer, and DJ (Teresa was soo fun!). This resort has a great team. Carrie kept in touch with my-now Husband (who was planning this for us). Our wedding was on a Friday and I walked down the aisle at 17:00 in the evening. I had red roses and black lace on my tables. The florist did a beautiful job on the roses. All I can say was....Romantic Evening!! We had 40 guests and we loved having the intimate and romantic wedding to share with our loved ones. Thanks to Carrie for an AWESOME job! Definately recommending her and the resort for events. I am still on Cloud 9 from the wedding. My Husband and I are about to go on our honey-moon and be posting more 'trip advisor' reviews!!

Room Tip: The resort is remodeling one building at a time. 'The Tower' building is remodeled and is gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_400, General Manager at The Ridge Tahoe, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Truemartinez: Thank you for posting your experiences during your most important day, your wedding! Congratulations!!! Please trust we have shared your comments with Carrie and of course you've made her day. All of us send our most sincere wishes to you guys for a long and loving marriage. Have a blast on your honeymoon and best wishes for a wonderful holiday season.

Sincerely,
Dan Garrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ridge Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Tahoe

Address: 400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ridge Tahoe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge Tahoe sits high atop the Sierra's at 7,300 feet above sea level. Views are of the Carson Valley some 3,000 feet below and of the mountains. The property is spread out over 11 acres and connects with Heavenly Valley's Nevada, Stagecoach Lodge. Our on-site skier express lift provides free transportation directly to the stagecoach lift. Shuttle service is provided at no charge to and from the casino's in Stateline. Our property offers two bedroom suites, sleeping 6-8, one bedroom suites, sleeping four and deluxe hotel units, sleeping 2-4 guests. All two and one bedroom suites have full kitchens and fireplaces. Our 45,000 sq. feet clubhouse is the center piece of the resort where guests can enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Spa, Recreation, dining, deli, market place, concierge services, business center, full fitness center, 4 tennis courts (one in-door), two swimming pools (one in-door), BBQ's, Ping pong, full kids club program, guided hikes, rock climbing, snow shoeing and much more! The best part of the Ridge Tahoe is our people, we care very much about our guests and their vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ridge Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Ridge Tahoe Hotel Lake
The Ridge Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ridge Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.