We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like we remembered...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ridge Tahoe

Save Saved
You added The Ridge Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ridge Tahoe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Stateline
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not like we remembered...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Of course it wouldn't be the same. We stayed there in February 1989. We had a lovely 2 bedroom unit, our young sons were with us for a ski vacation and it snowed every night! The days were gorgeous and the skiing was fantastic. Times were simple then, The resort had no towers and we could ski down to Stagecoach Lift. This time we went during the shoulder season to see fall foliage and just relax. We had a 2 bedroom unit in Nagle 12 and it was lovely. The staff was great. No complaints. I just shouldn't compare the two different times. The lake and mountains were beautiful and, overall, a great trip. The Ridge Tahoe is a little far away from most activities, but we liked that. It doesn't take long to drive to South Lake Tahoe. The Fox & Hound bar/grill is just a short drive and their barbeque is so good!

Room Tip: Ask for Nagle building mountain and valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    155
    52
    44
    31
See reviews for
160
134
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had three nights in the Ridge, having debated whether to stay there or Ridge Pointe, the deal was the same for both.
The choice was made...I don't think it would have been much different in either. The Pointe is away from the main block, but unless you are using all the facilities regularly, I don't think it matters.
We asked for a room with views. We were allocated the top floor of the Tower building. It had a magnificent view of the valley, only snag, you had to climb on a platform in the bedroom to see out of the windows! From the bed, you could only see the platform. It seems to be because the room was above the roofline and the platform was covering the jutting out part of the roof, then the windows (which were narrow) were above that. Very bizarre! Disappointing, as the sun never made it into the room, it was a dark room. The other snag, quite big, was that the bathroom was tiny. The shower was over the bath and the toilet was right beside the bath. Therefore, to access the shower, you had to climb over the bath, having a narrow space in which to do so. Not good, when you ae not so young and nimble!

The next day we asked for a change of room. The guy on the desk wwas more than helpful. He sent us to 3 rooms, the first two were worse than ours (both in the Tower, one was below ground level and like a dungeon, the other very dark indeed). We were about to accept that ours was as good as it gets for a studio, when he sent us to see a room in The Cascade building, we had a 4th flour room, with a view of the west side of the mountains and buildings and that was an interesting view. The room was much nicer, with a far superior bathroom. It had a walk- in shower and a huge bath, double sinks and cabinets. Very nice. All the rooms seemed to have the Sleep Number bed, which was great, very comfie. Nice bedlinen and pillows, too.

So, the thing about the Ridge is that it all depends on which tower and which room you are in.
But, for the money, it is excellent and the location is very pretty. The drive from the Lake is not bad, about 5 miles and no problem to us. There is a shuttle bus every hour if you don't want to drive.
You could stay in a cheap motel in South Tahoe if you want to be close to things, but it would cost you more than the deal we got on The Ridge!

Room Tip: There are so many rooms, it is impossible to say. Our experience is above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was a gift for myself and my husband to celebrate a milestone birthday! Upon arriving after 9 p.m. checkin was very simple. Dial O and get the front desk and they give you a combination for the numbered box outside and all of your papers are there. The one bedroom suite was spacious, clean and had a great view of the Lake. Kitchen cabinets and bathroom vanity were a little outdated but served the purpose and were just fine. Kitchen was very well supplied. We were missing a cork screw and after calling the front desk it arrived immediately. Called maintenance to change a battery in a smoke alarm they came immediately. Very impressed. We happened to be there the end of Sept. and the weather was gorgeous. Kept the huge windows opened all night and placed a fan in the window to draw the cool mountain air in. Slept like a baby. It is about a 3 mile drive to the main road and a few minutes drive to the main resort The Ridge Tahoe. We spoke to the girl at the concierge desk and set up a Wine Tour that goes out every Wed. This is a must. You visit a few wineries (wine tasting is included in the price), visited the Apple Orchard for the very best apple fritters made and then had lunch at one of the wineries given by our host, Hank. Check the event calendars in the surrounding cities. The time we were there we went to the Oktoberfest in Squaw Valley and the Celtic Festival in Grass Valley. So many things to do in the area. Just research. As far as the Ridge View. Do take your own shampoo and conditioner and stop at the Safe Way grocery store to pick up items that you might need. The rooftop of the Ridge View has a hot tub, sauna and lounge chairs to relax and take in the breathtaking view. Our room number was #1844 on the 4th floor. The higher the floor the better. Plenty of parking. No problem with security. Overall this is a great relaxing resort. Does not have all the ammenities like the Ridge Tahoe but if you need something you can always get it at the main resort. We definately would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very pleased with our stay during second week of October:
* The few requests we made to housekeeping were handled speedily.
* Room was clean.
* Restrooms in the public areas were also clean and well-kept.
* Love the two racquetball courts.
* There is a simple 9-hole miniature golf course.
* Used dependable free shuttle to casinos several times.
* Friendly front desk personnel
*Small complimentary loaf of banana bread in fridge was fresh and delicious!
Cons:
* Only AT&T and Verizon cell tower nearby. Our AT&T cell phone dropped calls, but did get reception. My Boost Mobile cell phone (Sprint network) did not get reception.
* Wish they had sign-ups for wallyball, as no one showed up for the mixers and we were handed a ladder and net to put up ourselves.
Suggestions:
* For 2-bedroom units, bring your own vaporizer/humidifier. One was supplied, but air is dry. We did not ask for a second one, and it is possible they may have supplied one if I asked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Ridge Tahoe consists of 6 different buildings, so some of the experience will vary depending on the building. We stayed here as an Interval Exchange, & had the 1 bedroom suite in The Plaza building (meaning separate bedroom, full kitchen, living room & dining area). It was obvious the 2nd bedroom was locked off. We stayed in October when the daytime highs were 60 with overnight lows in the 40s, so the suite was not excessively hot as long as we kept the curtains closed when the sun shined in and opened the windows in the evening. The only windows were casement windows (no sliding door). On a couple windy days it was obvious why there was a chain so windows could only opened 4-6 inches. Furnishings were acceptable, although the leather chairs were a bit worn. The sleep number bed in the BR was very comfortable, the pull-out bed was even comfortable. Linens & towels were not worn. Plenty of dishes in the kitchen. Large flat panel TV in the LR, medium sized flat panel TV in the BR. Had a washer/dryer in the suite. Free daily newspaper delivered to your door. WiFi Internet cost $20 for 7 days (less for shorter periods) and the same code could be used on different devices. Free computers/Internet/printer in the main check-in building. Even though this resort was probably built for the ski season, there were plenty of things to do for entertainment at the resort itself, including lots of kids activities. On-site restaurant plus separate cafe. On-site "marketplace" with usual clothing and trinket items, plus good selection of groceries. Since this was designed as a ski resort and adjacent to the Nevada side of Heavenly ski area, the drive to the resort was a typical mountain road, about 1500 feet elevation gain over 5 miles, lots of curves & some 180 degree switchbacks. Winter weather would require chains, snow tires or 4x4 vehicle. This 5 mile route would be driven every time you wanted to get down to anything (like restaurants), but there is a shuttle bus you could take if mountain driving makes you nervous. We would definitely stay here again, but due to lack of AC or adequate ventilation, NOT during the heat of the summer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for just one night while passing through Lake Tahoe on Vacation. The parking in garage was very tight and the room to elevator was very hard to maneuver in. The room itself was on the larger side and it had a wonderful sleep number bed and a nice gas fireplace. Given that it was very hot the day we stayed there, we called down to front desk to ask where the A.C. control was and was informed that there was no air conditioning in the whole resort. The man on the phone sounded like i was wasting his time by asking such a stupid question. On the upside, the jetted tub was nice, but the shower was not separate and the water pressure wasn't very good. All in all, i would say not worth the money.

Room Tip: Get a Valley view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have been coming to The Ridge for over 20 years and this was my first time staying in the Terrace building. When I compare this resort to others that I have been to, it really falls short. For starters, everything seems worn out. The furniture in the rooms is cheap and hollow and none of it matches! It's like one piece goes bad and they replace it with whatever is on hand. The Sleep Number Bed they have is an interesting choice for an upgrade. I'm glad I got to try one out, but in the end, I did not find it as comfortable as a regular mattress. It seems like that money could have been better spent. They should have flat screen TVs. Most resorts have made the change, but The Ridge still uses the generic brand box and glass TV sets. In addition, the TV set, the stereo, and the DVD player are all different brands so there are 3 different remotes to keep track of; and who still uses a stereo? They should have portable music docking stations. Chances are if people can afford to own time here they can afford nice electronics at home and have better than what is available here. The carpets look like they may have been replaced recently, but they are not that well maintained. The carpet in the hall looks faded and worn. I'm 6'2" and the toilet in the bathroom sits about 2' off the ground. Worse yet, the toilet paper holder was attached to the lower cabinets at just below my knee level. They provide soap now for the sink and shower. When I first started coming here they didn't even provide that! They should go all the way though and provide shampoo, conditioner, and lotion, which are basic amenities that other resorts provide. The public areas also look well used. While they appear to be mostly clean, I noticed stains on the pool steps and bottom. Not necessarily from dirt but from age. Given that The Ridge is so far from the casinos and other entertainment, there should be more to do there. More restaurants would be nice. There is only the deli and the expensive Hungry Bear restaurant. If you stay more than a few days, you'll either end up cooking or eating elsewhere. They have movies that you can rent in the gift shop... an odd choice considering all of the available ways to get movies these days. They also charge a hefty fee for the Internet. So what are the good parts? The view from the property is incredible. What little food they have to choose from at the Deli is good. The rooms are spacious (though they need to start installing air conditioners). If you're not into gambling or doing much else and just want to relax, this would be the place. I enjoy coming here in part because of all the memories that i have of being here with my family when I was a kid. The things I mentioned above didn't bother me then, but as I come to appreciate traveling more now, I can see many things that The Ridge could improve upon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ridge Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Tahoe

Address: 400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ridge Tahoe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge Tahoe sits high atop the Sierra's at 7,300 feet above sea level. Views are of the Carson Valley some 3,000 feet below and of the mountains. The property is spread out over 11 acres and connects with Heavenly Valley's Nevada, Stagecoach Lodge. Our on-site skier express lift provides free transportation directly to the stagecoach lift. Shuttle service is provided at no charge to and from the casino's in Stateline. Our property offers two bedroom suites, sleeping 6-8, one bedroom suites, sleeping four and deluxe hotel units, sleeping 2-4 guests. All two and one bedroom suites have full kitchens and fireplaces. Our 45,000 sq. feet clubhouse is the center piece of the resort where guests can enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Spa, Recreation, dining, deli, market place, concierge services, business center, full fitness center, 4 tennis courts (one in-door), two swimming pools (one in-door), BBQ's, Ping pong, full kids club program, guided hikes, rock climbing, snow shoeing and much more! The best part of the Ridge Tahoe is our people, we care very much about our guests and their vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ridge Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Ridge Tahoe Hotel Lake
The Ridge Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ridge Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.