We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alas, no rooms have mountain view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Inn and Casino

Save Saved
You added Lakeside Inn and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lakeside Inn and Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168 Hwy 50, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Stateline
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Alas, no rooms have mountain view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

But our room had a balcony, was large and super-comfortable. No microwave or fridge but iron and ironing board. Very comfortable bed. Thermostat defective and vent in bathroom covered with dust. To go hiking amid sugar pines, drive one mile south and turn left on Lake Parkway Loop road. Pick up a free player's card at cashiers in casino as it gives you a free breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    61
    23
    13
    14
See reviews for
31
57
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, Ca.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here last weekend using a groupon, and everything was fine. You are not at the Wynn or Mirage, not even Harrah's but the place was good, rooms are older, and dated.
Everything worked fine, the staff was very helpful and friendly. We called for extra towels, and literally before I could put the phone down someone was knocking on the door with towels. Breakfast was great, the casino is small, but nice, $5.00 crap table was great, plenty of slots to play. We will definitely stay here again even without a groupon deal
Oh, and the location, down the street from the big casinos, you can walk it, maybe not in heels tho for the women, but if you like golf, go check out the Edgewood Golf course next door, awesome course, we hit balls on the driving range. $25. per hour, expensive, but worth it. The price to play there is pretty steep ($170)

Room Tip: we stayed in 172 in the Edgewood lodge, next to the pool, not too close to it though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the Tahoe area. The hotel is older but reasonably renovated. Rooms were good sized with lots of wood decor. Simple clean rooms with a good sized TV. Rooms do not have refrig or microwave. Casino on grounds. Rooms can be a bit noisy depending on your neighbors. Close to South Lake Tahoe without being immersed in the crowd. Overall a good value especially if you can find a discount. Very friendly service at the front desk. I did not try the food on site.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The staff are loyal and terrific (the downstairs hallways are lined with awards they've all won, a nice tribute). The property has a swell location, too.
But it is tired and long overdue for a restoration which, at the very least, cleans decades of smoke out of the casino walls, carpets, chairs and everything else. The vibe is pretty much downtown Las Vegas circa 1970 -- hardly the huge loud casinos of current times -- and there's something to be said for that, But there's a difference between retro and just plain old.
Others noting the quality of the food at the (only) dining facility on the property are correct -- it's good food with a marvelous view.

Room Tip: True lake view rooms seem to require advance planning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Got a Groupon and called them to requested them for non-smoking room. They were very courteous.

Checkin was a quick and the room was in a separate building which is a 2 min walk from the casino.

Clean room, good bed. A little noisy as the building is old.

Food was good at their Latin Soul restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It isn't a five star resort, but it is small, quaint, and comfortable. Only half a mile from the main casinos, it's easily within walking distance and has a very relaxed vibe. The pool and hot tub are nice, and the Timber House restaurant has fabulous food at a reasonable price! The staff is really friendly and nice (except for one really surly bartender that we've deemed "Mr. Grumpy Pants"). The decor is very rustic and circa 1970, but in my humble opinion, just adds to the cabin-like feel. Beds are very comfortable, showers work well and no issues with hot water. If you are looking for lake views, high-end amenities, room service, and fancy casinos, Lakeside Inn is not for you! If you are looking for a comfortable bed, great food and reasonable price, then this is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: one of the buildings, the Glenbrook, was recently upgraded. You can also request one that is poolsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hmm, never judge a hotel site that shows a view of a lake over the roof. I booked this, fairly much sight unseen, over the internet. Lake Tahoe - beautiful, right? Yes, it definitely is but, you won't see it from the inn's namesake. But, what do you get?

Well, the decor is charmingly rustic - the exterior shingles are mirrored in the room. We stayed in a king bed room on the ground (in the U.S. called the first) floor. Great for unpacking and re-packing our car. No view from the porch but it was nice to have a porch in the first place. Also, shame about the dangerous ripples/wrinkles in the floor carpet which are a potential tripping hazard.

The casino. We parked up out front (not realising the Reception was at the side) and I walked through the casino. It was smoky and crowded; not at all pleasant or enticing. As a result we didn't visit the casino here (but we did visit a nice casino along the road).

The other problem and, a minor one, was that the bath tap did not produce hot water. I called Reception and a maintenance man came. He said the valve had gone and it could take up to three hours to replace. His suggestion was to run the shower tap into the bath. When I checked out today I mentioned the problem again.

Upsides? The bed was comfortable and I had a good sleep despite our room being right at the edge of the building. Its close to other casinos. And, the breakfast was good.

All in all, moderate value but I think I might have chosen elsewhere given a second chance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeside Inn and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn and Casino

Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Stateline
Lakeside Inn Casino
Lakeside Inn And Casino Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV
Address: 168 Hwy 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Inn and Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside Inn offers accommodations of superior value and uncommon comfort, run by the friendliest staff in Tahoe. We stand ready to do whatever it takes to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one. At Lakeside Inn, guests find a Tahoe style and décor that sets us far apart from other casino accommodations. From the Front Desk and Lobby to the rooms, guests are reminded of the rich logging, mining, and recreational heritage that is Tahoe's alone. Newly refurbished rooms are unique and full of character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lakeside Inn and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Inn and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.