We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quiet place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Inn and Casino

Save Saved
You added Lakeside Inn and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakeside Inn and Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168 Hwy 50, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bike to the Beach Package
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Stateline
Sacramento CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Quiet place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the Tahoe area. The hotel is older but reasonably renovated. Rooms were good sized with lots of wood decor. Simple clean rooms with a good sized TV. Rooms do not have refrig or microwave. Casino on grounds. Rooms can be a bit noisy depending on your neighbors. Close to South Lake Tahoe without being immersed in the crowd. Overall a good value especially if you can find a discount. Very friendly service at the front desk. I did not try the food on site.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    62
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
34
61
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
L.A.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The staff are loyal and terrific (the downstairs hallways are lined with awards they've all won, a nice tribute). The property has a swell location, too.
But it is tired and long overdue for a restoration which, at the very least, cleans decades of smoke out of the casino walls, carpets, chairs and everything else. The vibe is pretty much downtown Las Vegas circa 1970 -- hardly the huge loud casinos of current times -- and there's something to be said for that, But there's a difference between retro and just plain old.
Others noting the quality of the food at the (only) dining facility on the property are correct -- it's good food with a marvelous view.

Room Tip: True lake view rooms seem to require advance planning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Got a Groupon and called them to requested them for non-smoking room. They were very courteous.

Checkin was a quick and the room was in a separate building which is a 2 min walk from the casino.

Clean room, good bed. A little noisy as the building is old.

Food was good at their Latin Soul restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It isn't a five star resort, but it is small, quaint, and comfortable. Only half a mile from the main casinos, it's easily within walking distance and has a very relaxed vibe. The pool and hot tub are nice, and the Timber House restaurant has fabulous food at a reasonable price! The staff is really friendly and nice (except for one really surly bartender that we've deemed "Mr. Grumpy Pants"). The decor is very rustic and circa 1970, but in my humble opinion, just adds to the cabin-like feel. Beds are very comfortable, showers work well and no issues with hot water. If you are looking for lake views, high-end amenities, room service, and fancy casinos, Lakeside Inn is not for you! If you are looking for a comfortable bed, great food and reasonable price, then this is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: one of the buildings, the Glenbrook, was recently upgraded. You can also request one that is poolsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hmm, never judge a hotel site that shows a view of a lake over the roof. I booked this, fairly much sight unseen, over the internet. Lake Tahoe - beautiful, right? Yes, it definitely is but, you won't see it from the inn's namesake. But, what do you get?

Well, the decor is charmingly rustic - the exterior shingles are mirrored in the room. We stayed in a king bed room on the ground (in the U.S. called the first) floor. Great for unpacking and re-packing our car. No view from the porch but it was nice to have a porch in the first place. Also, shame about the dangerous ripples/wrinkles in the floor carpet which are a potential tripping hazard.

The casino. We parked up out front (not realising the Reception was at the side) and I walked through the casino. It was smoky and crowded; not at all pleasant or enticing. As a result we didn't visit the casino here (but we did visit a nice casino along the road).

The other problem and, a minor one, was that the bath tap did not produce hot water. I called Reception and a maintenance man came. He said the valve had gone and it could take up to three hours to replace. His suggestion was to run the shower tap into the bath. When I checked out today I mentioned the problem again.

Upsides? The bed was comfortable and I had a good sleep despite our room being right at the edge of the building. Its close to other casinos. And, the breakfast was good.

All in all, moderate value but I think I might have chosen elsewhere given a second chance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just had our wedding party stay at this hotel. In the beginning we were very happy with how everything was set up. WELL - On our check out day - not only were our guest greeted with staff knocking at the doors at 8am to clean the rooms (check out was at noon) - but as a Bride - we forgot a couple expensive items. Within a half hour of leaving. We made 7 phone calls to get the items - and was passed around to multiple people, including security, who told my husband they would check the room and call back After 8 hours - we had to call back to find out that the items were not there. Then the next day the QA Mananger (Stacy) calls and flat out refused to believe that her staff would have taken the items - and accused OUR family of taking them. Granted we forgot the items - but be honest - to accuse the family - I blame the hotel for lying and stealing.

WE WILL NEVER STAY IN SUCH A PLACE AGAIN. And don't stay in the jacuzzi suite - the air conditioner does not work. The family in front of us checking out were complaining and they all just look at them like they didn't care.

This place is a joke. They ruined everything.

Room Tip: Stay some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

When we checked into this hotel, they wished my husband a happy birthday and he was given several coupons to use, including $30 off on our hotel room which was awesome! Our room was nice and everything very clean. We had asked for a quiet room on the 2nd floor and were given room 278 at the end of the building which was very quiet indeed. Our window looked out on another building that had no windows so there was a lot of privacy although no view. The bathroom had plenty of space for all of my "stuff" that I need to use every morning. Bed was comfortable. Air conditioning was adjustable. We played the slots for awhile at the casino downstairs and did OK, i.e., I didn't lose any money and was able to play quite awhile on what I put in. We had dinner in the main dining room and it was very good!

Room Tip: For a quiet nights sleep ask for a 2nd floor room "in a quiet location".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeside Inn and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn and Casino

Address: 168 Hwy 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Inn and Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside Inn offers accommodations of superior value and uncommon comfort, run by the friendliest staff in Tahoe. We stand ready to do whatever it takes to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one. At Lakeside Inn, guests find a Tahoe style and décor that sets us far apart from other casino accommodations. From the Front Desk and Lobby to the rooms, guests are reminded of the rich logging, mining, and recreational heritage that is Tahoe's alone. Newly refurbished rooms are unique and full of character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lakeside Inn and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Stateline
Lakeside Inn Casino
Lakeside Inn And Casino Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Inn and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.