We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anna at the front dek made our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   50 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Stateline
Valley Springs CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Anna at the front dek made our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night July 27th -28th. We were staying at another hotel that no rooms for us on Saturday night. On Friday we went into the Horizon Hotel to see if we could get a room. From the moment we walked up to the desk we felt like we were right at home. Anna was happy to see us and help us. She was able to get us a Veterans discount on our room. When we checked to see if our room might be ready early, it was. Big plus. We were able to sit out at the lovely pool area, listen to music and relax. we also had
The best room ever, great views of the lake, golf course and pool. We will be going back to The Horizon and will ask for Anna.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    44
    67
    70
    109
See reviews for
77
95
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked a room here at the last minute because it seemed like a good value and the location was ideal for the purpose for being there. To be honest, I would have rather stayed at the Motel 6 further down the way as the rooms are nicer there and they have more channels on the TV. The upkeep at this property is severly lacking, dirty walls on the floors of the hotel, dirty floors all around, the elevators were disgusting and I was concerned that the firehoses were all missing and replaced with extinguishers on the 2 floors we ended up on. The first room we were given (8th floor facing the lake), which had an awesome view, was occupied. Luckily as we opened the door, no one was there but this was still quite horrifying as the condition of the room was awful. The hotel staff promptly corrected their error and were very apologetic, however, the room we got the second time around didn't have quite the same view (supposed mountain view but really all we could see was the other tower, the golf course and the pool) but I was glad it was relatively quiet....at least until housekeeping showed up at 10am the next morning knocking on the door, which had the do not disturb sign on it and check-out wasn't until noon! Talk about a mood killer!! The casino was a little disappointing as well - it only had slots, and crappy ones at that! We ended up walking up the way half a mile to gamble at a local joint.
The bed was really uncomfortable, I've stayed at cheaper hotels with nicer beds, and the 3 pillows on the bed is all we had. Requesting additional ones was a joke! Overall a little disappointed with this place for the amount of money I payed for a room and certainly would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was put off by the reviews but this was a last minute trip for the 4th of the July and many other places were booked. The boyfriend and I had to get two queens since there were no single kings available but the room ended up being huge! the tv is a little outdated. But there is a really large balcony which is always nice and the pool is very large. The only real complaint was the shower it was a rusted and didn't look too appealing. But I think this hotel is great for the price, walking distance to big casinos and free parking garage which is always great. Casino is a little sad in comparison to harrah and harveys but may be good for those who like it. There is a movie theater so I would say good place for families but due to the price and location this seems really popular with the younger crowd.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel over the weekend, and it was beyond terrible. We arrived a little earlier and they were nice enough to let us check in early. When we arrived at the room, the carpets were completely filthy, we could see all kinds of nasty stains all over them which I am sure they were dried up bodily fluids of some sort. We looked under the sheets and they smelled dirty and even had hair on them. The bathroom was also very filthy. We called the front desk and they apologized saying that the room had not being cleaned yet and they moved us to another room in the main tower. When we walked to the room nothing had really changed from our first room, the carpets were sill stained and the carpets still looked like they had not finished vacuuming the room. The bed sheets looked cleaned but I still saw a small stain in one of the sheets. We call the front desk to let them know this room was not cleaned either. They sent out two employees to go check it out and they swore to us that they had just finished cleaning the room and that the sheets were new. Because we had booked the hotel the same day, we could not cancel the reservation and had no choice but to stay there. I must tell you that I am not a germ freak but I made sure that I wore my flip flops the entire time I stayed at the hotel because I would not recommend anyone to go barefoot. The rooms are very run down and in need of a make over. I would recommend to pay a little extra somewhere else and save your self the headache.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

o.k lets be honest the resort has some real challenges.location for our purpose was great, Tim McGraw concert and Celeb Golf. The view from the room (721) was spectacular. We parked the car and never needed it again.this is a fine place if your going to hit the concerts and crash.
I made some request of staff and they responded in 5star quality and professionalism. note : standout service with front desk manager ANNA and honorable mention goes to housekeeping JENNIKA. These two ladies are very helpful and customer friendly. We did enjoy a quality breakfast in the hotel restaurant at a great price .

Room Tip: balcony with lake view, fresh air with the balcony is worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife booked our stay with our two kids for this past Saturday night (7/6/13) at the Horizion. Surprise, surprise, she was upgraded to the 15th (and top) floor of their Alpine tower. We arrived at about 9:30 PM on Saturday,...gosh would have been nice to have had valet parking, or at least a bellman's cart. The room was with double beds and was spacious and comfortable. Woke up Sunday morning and opened the curtains to a breathtaking view,...a Gazillion Dollar view,...was a brilliant sunny blue sky day, the lake was front and center, Edgewood GC was to the right and South Lake and Mt Tallac were to the left. I have worked in, lived in and around Tahoe since 1982 and have never before stayed at the Horizion. This room with its incredible views made for a fantastic stay.
The Horizon's shortcomings seemed to be pretty well documented with previous reviews, ...best case many hotel features are worn. The place sure could use an upgrade/facelift, with new carpeting all around,...etc. ther issues:
The pool, is large and with an ample pool deck area. The main pool goes from 3' to 11', its not a whimpy wading pool. Nice place to hang out and or swim for fun or a workout.
The coffee place near the lobby-check in area, looks like a Starbucks (it's not), but most importantly they do a good job of serving most of Starbucks products.
We were looking for the cheapest hotel at Stateline and were happy with our stay.
The upgrade made the experience very memorable.

Room Tip: Absolutely loved our lakeview (north side) top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Arrived July 4th about 11ish and was asked to pay $30 for a early check in, which was a fair enough request I thought due to it being the 4th, but lets not forget the room was already triple the normal rate price., so paid the extra $30 and was told to wait 30mins, sure enough 30mins later room ready, now then I booked this room a month ago and requested a lake view as high as possible end room or quieter area as possible, I also stated as there was only 2 of us, we would be OK with a king bed and no need for 2 queens because a family may need them........so much for trying to be nice!
We arrived on the 8th floor to a room next to the elevator, the bathroom had not been cleaned and still had the previous folks toiletries in the bath area, the toilet was dirty,and if you think you're getting a lake view think again, yep there is a view alright, a small speck in the distance of blue and mountains, so take your binoculars if you are thinking of waking up to a view of beautiful lake tahoe because its not going to happen.
The trash can was over flowing just by the elevators on the ground floor as we arrived,when we left in the morning it was still the same, the windows doors are filthy, this place needs a re-vamp.
Staff are nice they deserve better, the machines are terrible and sparse empty casino, everyone is in Harrahs,Harveys or the best place the Mont Bleu.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go elsewhere! Take your own towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe

Also Known As:
Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe Hotel
Horizon Resort Lake Tahoe
Horizon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Horizon Lake Tahoe
Horizon Hotel Stateline
Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV
Address: 50 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Casino Resort is located in the center of America's all-year playground, where you can enjoy golf, skiing or the beach, each just minutes away. With world class entertainment, free live music and dancing, and eight first run movie theaters, the Horizon offers the most exciting and complete entertainment experience at the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.