We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5star Staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   50 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Stateline
Roseville, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“5star Staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

o.k lets be honest the resort has some real challenges.location for our purpose was great, Tim McGraw concert and Celeb Golf. The view from the room (721) was spectacular. We parked the car and never needed it again.this is a fine place if your going to hit the concerts and crash.
I made some request of staff and they responded in 5star quality and professionalism. note : standout service with front desk manager ANNA and honorable mention goes to housekeeping JENNIKA. These two ladies are very helpful and customer friendly. We did enjoy a quality breakfast in the hotel restaurant at a great price .

Room Tip: balcony with lake view, fresh air with the balcony is worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    67
    70
    110
See reviews for
78
95
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
reno
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife booked our stay with our two kids for this past Saturday night (7/6/13) at the Horizion. Surprise, surprise, she was upgraded to the 15th (and top) floor of their Alpine tower. We arrived at about 9:30 PM on Saturday,...gosh would have been nice to have had valet parking, or at least a bellman's cart. The room was with double beds and was spacious and comfortable. Woke up Sunday morning and opened the curtains to a breathtaking view,...a Gazillion Dollar view,...was a brilliant sunny blue sky day, the lake was front and center, Edgewood GC was to the right and South Lake and Mt Tallac were to the left. I have worked in, lived in and around Tahoe since 1982 and have never before stayed at the Horizion. This room with its incredible views made for a fantastic stay.
The Horizon's shortcomings seemed to be pretty well documented with previous reviews, ...best case many hotel features are worn. The place sure could use an upgrade/facelift, with new carpeting all around,...etc. ther issues:
The pool, is large and with an ample pool deck area. The main pool goes from 3' to 11', its not a whimpy wading pool. Nice place to hang out and or swim for fun or a workout.
The coffee place near the lobby-check in area, looks like a Starbucks (it's not), but most importantly they do a good job of serving most of Starbucks products.
We were looking for the cheapest hotel at Stateline and were happy with our stay.
The upgrade made the experience very memorable.

Room Tip: Absolutely loved our lakeview (north side) top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Arrived July 4th about 11ish and was asked to pay $30 for a early check in, which was a fair enough request I thought due to it being the 4th, but lets not forget the room was already triple the normal rate price., so paid the extra $30 and was told to wait 30mins, sure enough 30mins later room ready, now then I booked this room a month ago and requested a lake view as high as possible end room or quieter area as possible, I also stated as there was only 2 of us, we would be OK with a king bed and no need for 2 queens because a family may need them........so much for trying to be nice!
We arrived on the 8th floor to a room next to the elevator, the bathroom had not been cleaned and still had the previous folks toiletries in the bath area, the toilet was dirty,and if you think you're getting a lake view think again, yep there is a view alright, a small speck in the distance of blue and mountains, so take your binoculars if you are thinking of waking up to a view of beautiful lake tahoe because its not going to happen.
The trash can was over flowing just by the elevators on the ground floor as we arrived,when we left in the morning it was still the same, the windows doors are filthy, this place needs a re-vamp.
Staff are nice they deserve better, the machines are terrible and sparse empty casino, everyone is in Harrahs,Harveys or the best place the Mont Bleu.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go elsewhere! Take your own towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My family and I had the unfortunate luck of staying Thursday through Sunday for a basketball tournament nearby. No valet or security in the garage area. The lobby area smells like an old ashtray. Our first two rooms had mildew on the walls in the restroom. The room had sticky spots on the furniture. I had to walk to the lobby to complain because the phone in my room did not work, The worst part of the room was the smell. ,,They moved us to two new rooms which was better than the first two but still dirty and smelly. The arcade was a joke. To make a long story short I went on a shopping trip to buy bleach and disinfectant spray. The rooms were cleaner when we left 4 days later. I can't believe we had to pay to stay!

Room Tip: Save yourself some grief and go to Harrah's or Harvey's
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Horizon 6/28-6/30 in room 1404 over looking the mountains. We had a speedy check in with nice staff. A little worried about a few of the other reviews I read but our room was large and clean. The carpets were just fine and so were our blankets and bedspread. This a basic casino hotel not an elite. But the price was reasonable compared to the others in the area. It has a nice large pool which we enjoyed one afternoon. We did play a little on the slot machines and won so that was a plus. Location of course is a plus. If the owners were to update this hotel it would be great.

Room Tip: If your facing the mountains get a room high up so you don't hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I will say the only thing this hotel has going for it is the pool! The staff was friendly however we paid for a mini suite only to find old green flowered carpet that was stained and dirty and outdated furniture that was dusty braking and from what looks like something that came with the motel when it first opened! The TV is an old box TV that had many channels with snow and some that were viewable to a minimum! I feel that this motel is in desperate need of a remodel and I will NEVER waste my $ and stay here again. Now the pool and staff is great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, california, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked this hotel thinking that it couldn't be so bad since it was a major casino. Boy were we wrong! My husband and I checked in with our 1 year old and 3 year old to find that after removing the nasty bedspreads (as we always do) the blankets underneath on BOTH beds had hard crusty dried 'who knows what' on them. The picture on the wall was splattered with a nasty dried up liquid of some type that had run down the entire length of the picture. And the same with the closet mirrors. The floors were even worse. The carpets were covered in splatter stains everywhere. My husband is not a clean freak like I am, and even he said we cannot stay in this room. So they switched us to a new room and upgraded us to a balcony room. The blankets appeared to be cleaned, but again, dried up funk dripping down the furniture and terribly splatter stained floors. And there was a bunch of smashed up cheese crackers under the foot of the bed and the carpet in general like like it had not been vacuumed. We called for housecleaning to come by and vacuum and I went into the bathroom with my kids while they did so. When they left, much of the stuff was gone off the floor, but still quite a bit. I would think you would do an extra good job when being called for that main purpose. And the fridge they gave us was so gross we wouldn't use it. It had a thick liquid all over the bottom inside. The alarm clock did not work, so we never knew what the heck time it was and how much longer until we could get up and get out of there. The A/C did not work, and it took about 10 minutes before hot water would come through the pipes. Oh, and the shower curtain was all mildewed and the towels and sheets were disgusting as well. And let's not forget the loud partying ALL night long right above us. We didn't bother to call anyone because we knew it would fall of deaf ears. This is the only time I have ever taken the time to write a review, and I have stayed in some really nasty hotels. But I just had to warn others. Don't do it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe

Address: 50 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Casino Resort is located in the center of America's all-year playground, where you can enjoy golf, skiing or the beach, each just minutes away. With world class entertainment, free live music and dancing, and eight first run movie theaters, the Horizon offers the most exciting and complete entertainment experience at the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Horizon Resort Lake Tahoe
Horizon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Horizon Lake Tahoe
Horizon Hotel Stateline
Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.