We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best place I have ever stayed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   50 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stateline
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not the best place I have ever stayed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

we had this place recommended to us by the information centre at lake tahoe. It was cheap! But I was really expected something a bit better than this tired old establishment. The carpets needed to be replaced years ago and the poker machines were just ok. There was hardly anyone in the casino on all the occassions we were in there. Many more in the casino up the street!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    67
    70
    110
See reviews for
78
95
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iuka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We just spent the weekend at the Horizon Casino Resort attending a Segmented Woodturners Symposium. We chose to self park our car on the second floor of the parking garage rather than do valet parking. The hood emblem was stolen from our car the second day we were there. Valet advised us to report to security. Security seemed uninterested, offered to take a report but was indifferent about it and said there was nothing they could do. It was a waste of time. If this is how they handle security in the parking lot we're don't believe the resort is a safe place to stay. We would not recommend it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Did not stay here but did some slots....as noted not much of a casino very few slots but they did have my wwife fav but terribly bad servic e . Would not stay here dirty and no service.
No staff in the casino..waited over an hour for one drink that never came.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This poor hotel casino has been struggling for a few years now. 3 or 4 years ago they took out all the table games due to some kind of legal issue. We used to stay there and always liked the cafe inside the casino but the whole place just started going down hill. We walked in the casino this year and it was so quiet and just a handful of people at the slot machines. They have a few pool tables now but nobody was playing. There is a little bar with live bands that play and it appears that just some local people go there. There is also a movie theatre inside. We've heard that it will be torn down and some kind of condos put up. It's too bad because it used to be a great hotel and casino.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay there any longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

A middle of the road, clean and minimal hotel casino with a great $12.95 buffet. No table games in casino with just a small quantity of slot machines, small but adequate bar with one large screen TV and a huge arcade for the kids along with large pool and good size kiddy pool. A family casino hotel for sure. The buffet features an Asia table, an Italian table and an American food table. Good selection, average quality but good.

We just popped in on spur of the moment on a mid-October saturday night no problem. Clean, spacious room but old 27" TV (not flat screen not high res). No room service, one buffet and one restaurant. Across street from CVS pharmacy and Harrah Casino and next door to Harveys casino all at the state line.

The three star rating mainly for clean, family oriented hotel with minimal casino with good size room.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Don't stay there unless you don't care if there is either only heat or only air. They do not have both at same time. Their cockamamie excuse..."we have a 2 pipe system and only 1 works a time. We have to manually switch them back and forth." What the blank??? So...in between season's (spring/fall) you will either have ONLY heat or ONLY air. So you can either freeze or sweat to death! Not in a million years would I have ever thought I would have to ask the question upon booking a room in a hotel hotel , especially one of this caliber,...do you have heat and air conditioning supplied to the rooms that we can choose to use at the same time?? Are you kidding me? Carpeted floors were not vacuumed and had no padding under them, either. Casino tables were not running and you could seen all the way across the room and maybe see 15-20 people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The rooms were not very clean. There were dead flys on the floor near the window and a dead one smashed on the window. The heater didn't work....it wasn't nice to wake up to a 61 degree room. I found extra pillows in the drawer of the nightstand....it had red spots on it...maybe blood??GROSS!!
The casino was not very good either. Not many slots and NO live table games (there was one video blackjack table and one video roulette game).
BUT, it was cheap. And who spends much time in their room when they are in Tahoe? And you are walking distance to all of the other casinos.

Room Tip: Chhose this hotel only if you are looking for a cheap room that is near the casinos, shops and resta...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe

Address: 50 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Casino Resort is located in the center of America's all-year playground, where you can enjoy golf, skiing or the beach, each just minutes away. With world class entertainment, free live music and dancing, and eight first run movie theaters, the Horizon offers the most exciting and complete entertainment experience at the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Horizon Resort Lake Tahoe
Horizon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Horizon Lake Tahoe
Horizon Hotel Stateline
Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Casino Resort- Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.