We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there early.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hut Cafe

Red Hut Cafe
227 Kingsbury Grade, Stateline, NV 89449
(775) 588-7488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in Stateline
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Get there early.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Red Hut is a Tahoe institution. I don't know that anything they serve is so much different than elsewhere, but it is the history, vibe, and personalities that make the food taste better. Weekdays are not as impacted, but you need to go early on the weekends if you don't want to wait.
I long since moved from Tahoe, but in the 70's, my dad used to take me there for breakfast 1-2 times a week. (The one near Meeks Lumber) The place is still the local's fave, and any tourist needs to go there if they want to get the "true" Tahoe experience. Enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    53
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food at fair prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had breakfast here July 2014. The restaurant was filled with about 90% locals and about 12 off duty police....This is a small restaurant that seats about 40 people.The service was terrific and the food was very good....I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting or staying at the South Shore of Lake Tahoe... This was my first visit and I will return soon...Breakfast and Lunch only...no dinner service...Mike

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We love Red Hut. Great breakfast for reasonable price. I had the French toast with blueberry streusel bread. It was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like eating at moms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Food was good, we had the waffles. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. They went out of their way to make our experience a good one

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahoe
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Where to take out of town friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Red Hut has been here for so long its hard to not expect it to be nothing but great. my daughter brought a friend home for the week end. We had breakfast there today Sunday. Perfect , No better than that. I had an omelette with pepper jack cheese. sausage and ortega chilies.
Oh my to die for with a hardy helping of home fries as well. my wife had a BLT daughter "the usual" and her friend Too many pancakes and eggs. Service always good and smiles from the crew locals, regulars and tourist are all treated well. Lucky our wait was just a few minutes today.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hut Cafe also viewed

Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Red Hut Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hut Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.