We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Clark Gable stayed here!" :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doc's Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Doc's Cottages to your Saves list
Doc's Cottages
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   151 Stateline Ave, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Discount Rate, Click Here
Ranked #1 of 3 Stateline B&B and Inns
Deventer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"Clark Gable stayed here!" :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

On our trip through California, NV and OR we had a stop in South Lake Tahoe. Quite a place for road architecture lovers! Doc's cottages is actually in a street which is the state line between CA and NV. The cottages are situated on the NV side of the road. The lovely owners gave us a very warm welcome and some nice insights about the past of these cottages.

The cottages give you an old time feeling, they're in a quiet street, nicely surrouded by old trees. It's a well preserved funny lot besides the huge casino building on the state line. As if the place refused to step aside for the 80's concrete block. The cottage was nice, spotless, well renovated and had all modern amenities needed. The place is on walking distance from Lake Tahoe. The owners gave us a free access pass for the private beach there. We truly loved the place and will come back here !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
57
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Angie and Lloyd are wonderful hosts and make you feel right at home. I stayed in a small two bedroom cottage with my 2 adult children, and it was very cozy, clean and comfortable. There was a small fully equipped kitchen, 2 TV's and even 2 fireplaces (although the weather was so beautiful they were not needed). The location is pretty perfect...just up the street from a private beach (you get free access) and right behind Harvey's. There is free Wi-Fi, a BBQ area and a designated parking spot right by the cottage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back! I have stayed in Tahoe many times, and I wish I had known about this place long ago!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrop, CA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here 7-22 thru 7-24-13. It was our first time and we LOVED IT!! We stayed in cottage #5 and my parents were in cottage #9. Both cottages were clean and comfortable. Angie and the staff were incredibly helpful and attentive. They made you feel part of the family! We loved the location. Within walking distance of so many fun things including the casino, lake and beach access, and all the great shopping at Heavenly. We will definitely be returning!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davis, ca
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at Doc's Cottages in April, with my niece and her family who were visiting from France. They were in cottage #9, and we were in #4. Lloyd and Angie are exceptional hosts. They made us feel right at home. The cottages are super clean and comfortable. #9 was very convenient for a family of four, with a TV in each room. #4 had tons of charm. We enjoyed drinks and snacks on the patios. Lots of room for the kids to run about. Kitchens come in very handy. The place is within walking distance to the lake. My husband and I already have a reservation to go back beginning of August. The price is super affordable, especially given the location. Best kept secret in Lake Tahoe!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have been coming to Docs Cottages for almost 10 yrs now. The new owners, Lloyd and Angie have remodeled every cottage and they did a wonderful job. Their prices are always affordable and they don't ever price gouge!! They are located behind Harvey's Hotel and you can sit on your patio and listen to the outside summer concerts, so awesome!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had agreat stay. Cottages were close to everything. Great views, Doc's provided passes to the great beach. Weather was wonderful. Had a marvelous time. We're now part of each other's family. If you needed anything Lloyd and Angie and Johnnie were there quick. Very nostalgic setting. Kitchenettes were swell. We are from Prescott,AZ and visited with our friends from Henderson,NV

Room Tip: Just ask Lloyd or Angie and they'll fix you up. They treat you like family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We did not have reservations and it being the Summer season we felt very Lucky to have come upon Doc's Cottages. We were looking for a cabin or cottage so this place was Perfect. Very affordable and great location. The owners Angie & Lloyd were nice & friendly and very accommodating. We enjoyed our visit and look forward to returning- We'll Be Back!! Ted & Cat Tolle from Texas

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doc's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doc's Cottages

Address: 151 Stateline Ave, Stateline, NV 89449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Doc's Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doc's Cottages • South Lake Tahoe/Stateline, NV​ Clean and Comfortable Rustic Cottages at Reasonable Rates. Located directly behind Harvey's Casino and within walking distance to the Heavenly Mountain Gondola, Heavenly Village, beautiful Lakeside Beach, shopping, casual and fine dining. We are close to all South Lake Tahoe summer and winter activities. All cottages include kitchens, free WiFi, and free Lakeside Beach (a private beach) access pass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Doc's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doc's Cottages Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc's Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.