We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doc's Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Doc's Cottages to your Saves list
Doc's Cottages
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   151 Stateline Ave, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Discount Rate, Click Here
Ranked #1 of 3 Stateline B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The owner accommodated our late arrival (11:30pm) and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in cottage 9. Origonally built in the 1920s, the cottage has vintage knotty pine walls, which made it seem like you were in a cabin in the woods. Perfect for what we were looking for. Cottage 9 has two beds (one in it's own room, the other in the front room). There was a long, narrow kitchen, with a fridge, oven, stove, microwave, coffee maker, and dishes. The bathroom had a tub and shower. It was clean. The only complaint about that is that there were no hooks for towels or shelf for toiletries. There is a nice, private porch/deck with a BBQ to use, and your own parking space. The cottage is a short, two block walk to the Lake Tahoe beach, and just steps to the casinos. Over all, our stay was great! The owner was very nice, accommodating, and welcoming. We definitely recommend Doc's Cottages and will stay there again!

Room Tip: Cottage 9 is great for two couples or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd_Angie, Manager at Doc's Cottages, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of Doc’s Cottages. It seems like you had a wonderful stay with us.

It’s great that you enjoyed Cottage 9. Each of our cottages has its own character and it’s great that it added to your enjoyment of the trip. Some guests come back year-after-year and always request the same cottage.

Thanks for your feedback about the need for hooks and a shelf in the bathroom, which is useful to know. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ experience.

We’re glad that you had a fun trip and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stevinson, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

What a great place to stay. Walking distance from everything. Cute cottages, ours (#2) had been remodeled so it was very nice even had an electric fireplace which was very romantic. Free wi fi so we could upload pics of our vacation. Loved the patio for BBQing. My sister who stayed at the Harvey hung out at our cottage more than her room. Angie was very nice to talk to and if you have any questions she'll have the answers, hopefully next time we go up Lloyd will be there so we have the chance to meet him. A friend recommend it to me and I recommend the cottages to everyone.

Room Tip: #2 for a couple is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd_Angie, Manager at Doc's Cottages, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay at Doc’s Cottages. It’s great to hear that you are recommending us to your friends.

We’re very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the new facilities in Cottage 2. The patio and BBQ are great during the summer season, as I’m sure you can imagine.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very clean. Walking distances to everything.The owners are awesome hosts. All the amenities. I will definitely return to this place. Pet friendly. Great getaway for a couple. Starbucks right next door. Harveys casino entrance couple hundred feet away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, Manager at Doc's Cottages, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We're very happy you enjoyed your stay at Doc's Cottages and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We have a lot of couples stay with us for special occasions and short breaks so we're very pleased you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I've gotten to know the neighborhood up there being a ski pass holder and for many years we had a home at a certain now nameless place. For the past two years we've been looking for a new weekend home and we finally found it. Doc's Cottages has the old Tahoe feel yet right next to the nightlife we enjoy and walking distance to the mountain amenities. Clean and efficient with a friendly staff that immediately had us feeling like family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd_Angie, Manager at Doc's Cottages, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It’s great to hear you say that. We really do feel as though our guests are our extended family so we’re very pleased that you've picked Doc’s Cottages as your new weekend home and we’re looking forward to seeing you back with us soon. Thank you for taking the time to leave such pleasant remarks - it really is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a great stay at Doc's Cottages, We only wish we had more time to stay and enjoy. Our room was very clean and newly updated, We liked the fact that they had dishes and a microwave and oven/stove combo. The owners are very friendly and hospitable, they even had the fire place going for our arrival, being it was our anniversary. I thought that was sweet. When we were running late they did not rush us to arrive and check-in, instead they said to enjoy our stay and take our time to arrive which made me feel more at ease and i was able to enjoy my evening with out felling pressed for time. We will surely stay here again. so glad they updated such a historical part of Tahoe and not let it fade away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, Manager at Doc's Cottages, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We’re so happy you enjoyed your anniversary at Lake Tahoe – we feel it’s always nicer to take it easy when you’re on vacation. We wish you many happy anniversaries in the future and hope to see you back at Doc's Cottages in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I sure was lucky to happen upon this charming little cottage in the woods. Old time charm with lots of up to date amenities, (big flat screen TV, electric fireplace, larger than average mini-fridge, and a microwave)! The inn-keeper was very friendly and helpful, she even turned the heat up in anticipation of our late evening arrival and then made sure we had all we needed for our kitchen by way of cookware and utensils! Quiet because it's not on the main drag-strip, but literally only a couple of minutes to walk to Heavenly Village! Cannot say enough good things about it! We will definitely book here again when we return next!

Room Tip: Full kitchen, but not a big selection of cookware, so if you plan on cooking your meals, come with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, Manager at Doc's Cottages, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was so nice to have you here. We've put a lot of work into the cottages over the years and it really is a pleasure to know that our guests enjoy themselves. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My family and I reserved four cottages they were nice and clean. Angie and her husband were very attentive to us. Her husband gave us some good tips of things to do and places to eat. We were within walking distance to the casinos. We will definitely stay again next year. It's dog friendly place.

Room Tip: I love rooms 2, 4, They have been remodeled nicely. Room 5 is the bigger one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, Manager at Doc's Cottages, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your trip and got to see plenty of the area. It’s great to hear that you’ll be back next year – we look forward to seeing you (and your dogs!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doc's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doc's Cottages

Address: 151 Stateline Ave, Stateline, NV 89449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Doc's Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doc's Cottages • South Lake Tahoe/Stateline, NV​ Clean and Comfortable Rustic Cottages at Reasonable Rates. Located directly behind Harvey's Casino and within walking distance to the Heavenly Mountain Gondola, Heavenly Village, beautiful Lakeside Beach, shopping, casual and fine dining. We are close to all South Lake Tahoe summer and winter activities. All cottages include kitchens, free WiFi, and free Lakeside Beach (a private beach) access pass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Doc's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doc's Cottages Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc's Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.