We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stateline
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I had a great stay at Harrah's Lake Tahoe. We were in town for a ski trip at nearby Heavenly resort. The location was perfect as the Heavenly gondala was 3 blocks away. The prices at the onsite restaurants where high as expected but there are several affordable food establishments nearby. Harrah's is also on the Reno Airport shuttle route (South Lake Tahoe Express). From the outside the building does appear dated. I thought the floorplan of the casino was narrow and had lower ceilings than I was used to. The casino floor of MontBleau was by far the best of the 4 major casino's nearby. Our room was much larger than expected for a standard double double. We had seperate his and her bathrooms, a walk in closet, 2 queen beds, and a small couch w/ chase. The bathrooms each contained small TV's dating back to 80's but worked great. I would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    268
    120
    45
    39
See reviews for
132
339
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DRYTOWN
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Ate breakfast at American River Cafe.

I ordered the Harold's bisquit and gravy. I expected an wonderful old fashion meal, but was disappointed. The biscuits were very small and there was little seasoning in the gravy. And barely any sausage.

My husband ordered the "Captain Crunch French Toast (Diner, Drive in and Dives). We both expected that it meant they created the recipe and that the TV show filmed there. We felt that this was false advertising. It did taste good, but more Crunch would have been good.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We booked a "luxury" room through Expedia - $89/night plus $8 in taxes/fees for a Wednesday and Thursday night during the extremely busy Presidents' Week. The room was clean and nicely furnished with great views of the mountains and the Lake. I think the reason it was classified as "luxury" was that it had TWO full bathrooms (one with a tub, one with a shower stall). No idea why anyone would need a room with one bed, but two bathrooms, but it was fun nonetheless. Both bathrooms were very clean and nicely appointed. They also both had little tvs. Again, completely unnecessary, but fun to watch the winter Olympics while you shower! The main tv in the room (non-flat screen) worked well and had lots of channels. The bedding was nice although the mattress had probably seen better days. Also, we didn't use them, but we could see from our room that the indoor pool and hot tub were open. All in all, definitely a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

I love staying at this casino, it is very spacious, within walking distance to the heavenly Gondola and "de pais de resitance"(probably spelling it wrong) 2 BATHROOMS! One with a bath and the other with a shower - the closet is spacious, and a beautiful view. The room was clean and continuously well maintained, the ski rental shop is in the hotel and the bellhop will hold your skis and poles. Excellent stay, had a wonderful time. Kudos to Harrah's Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

What a dirty old disgusting hotel/casino. Paid for an above tree line room then was put on the 3rd floor had to go back to the front desk for 15 minutes and complain to get moved to the lucky 13th floor. Lucky us it was even a suite from the 60's. Have they not heard of the word "renovation." Remember if you are from out of country and not over 30 to bring your passport as a goverent issued ID is not exceptable. If you have problems and need to talk to the GM of the hotel casino dont wait by the phone 3 days later we are still waiting!! Atleast we know why the employees are so brutal they take after there bosses. What a waste of money never again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

Great rooms. Gambling downstairs. Walking distance from the gondola that takes you to Heavenly Resort. Beautiful scenery. Great food in town.

Stayed March 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Harrah’s is in a good location, about 2 blocks from the gondola to Heavenly.

There is plenty to do in the hotel itself. The spa is very good. Nightlife on the weekends is great. There is a lounge act in the casino on Fridays and Saturdays that is not to be missed. Vex, Harrah’s nightclub opens at 10:30pm on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. This club rivals the best Vegas night spots. VIP patrons are put in the spotlight in stage like booths.

Even on a Saturday night there were $15 blackjack tables to be found. Harrah’s had many unusual games such as 3 card poker and other nontraditional tables. There is a good variety of machines and plenty of video poker.

Other than an arcade and an indoor swimming pool, there is not much to keep the kids occupied. There is a movie theater at Horizon, just a short walk from Harvey’s/Harrah’s.
Harvey’s is connected to Harrah’s via an underground tunnel. In-between the two hotels is Cabo Wabo. Sunday nights there are packed. They bring in international DJs and the crowed looked to be a mix of locals and tourists.

Inside Harvey’s you will find a scaled down Hard Rock Café and a couple other eateries. Harvey’s did not seem to be nearly as lively as Harrah’s.

Friday Station on the 18th floor of Harrah’s has good steaks. Portions here are large. The buffet, also on the 18th floor was ok for breakfast and dinner.

The gym is two treadmills and some dumbbells in a 300sf room.

Internet access is $10.95 per day per device.

There is a very limited selection of beers in the hotel bars. Light beer drinkers have two choices. The wine throughout the hotel was pretty bad. We found a grocery store down the street and kept wine in the room.

There is a Starbucks and a well stocked gift shop in the lobby. The gift shop has a better variety of beer than the bars in the hotel, clifbars and just about every other necessity.

Skiing Heavenly – Heavenly is just a walk and a gondola ride away. This is not (in my opinion) a place for beginners. If you are going to ski Heavenly it is best to rent your equipment at the gondola. There are at least two rental establishments. Not knowing better, we rented our skis online from a shop in Harrah’s and ended up carrying all the equipment to the gondola. Additionally, the lockers fill up early on busy weekends.

Skiing Sierra – Sierra Tahoe is (again, in my opinion) a much better family skiing option. It is a 30 minute drive from Harrah’s. There are plenty of green, blue and black slopes. You can rent your skis at the bottom of the slope. These people have their act together. Four of us had equipment on and were headed to the lift in about 18 minutes with no previous reservation. Returning the equipment took less than 5 minutes. You can leave your boots in their shop. There is only one ski rental shop at the mountain. 360 BBQ at the top of the mountain is a good place to eat.

Getting around – Many may disagree with me but I would not recommend driving. Snow comes quickly and in large quantities. You could get lucky, but be prepared to put chains on your tires on the side of the road. If you are going to rent a car, ask if there is something available with studs on the tires.

The drive from the Reno airport to South Lake Tahoe is 80 minutes. Limos charge by the hour and charge for round trip when you are traveling one way. You are paying for the car to return to its starting point.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Address: 15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Hotel Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.