We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, for a reason” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stateline
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vail, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cheap, for a reason”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It's inexpensive, well located, and the rooms are generously large. That's where the good news ends, particularly for business travelers. Remember the 90s? Well that's what you get. First, they charge an arm and a leg for wifi, and the basic service barely beats dialup for speed, so if you do anything beside basic email, plan on paying over $20/day for "premium" service. The room has no above desk/table power outlets. Just like back in the old days you can look forward to getting down on all fours to find places to plug in and recharge. Also, no coffee service in the room, so you have to head down to Starbucks.The gym is large and poorly equipped, with one old stationary bike and a couple tired treadmills; no ellipticals. Moreover, there is NO WIFI IN THE GYM. so after paying over $20 for wifi, you can work out to the Keno screen. I travel to SLT for business frequently and will factor the additional cost and inconvenience into my calculations going forward.

Room Tip: get away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    268
    119
    45
    39
See reviews for
131
339
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location can not be beat. Close to Heavenly gondola ride and all activities around two Marriott properties. Nice restaurants within walking distance from the resort. Ck in was fast. Harrahs' were very accommodating about checking out one day prior. We booked the hotel for two days and had to check out one day earlier due to impending heavy snow storm. Even though the hotel had 72 hour cancellation policy they did not charge the extra.
We had the room at the 11th floor with two bathrooms with gorgeous view of the lake and the mountain.
The room needs updating. The food at the hotel are expensive. Nice big casino with lots of slot machines and gaming tables. The drinks at the casino was free flowing. The free wi-fi did not work even though it was included in the resort fee.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Guest Relations Manager at Harrah's Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your trip to Harrah's/Harveys Lake Tahoe and the Tahoe area. We look forward to future opportunities to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, NV
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check in was smooth - staff excellent. We were assigned an "executive" room and upgraded to the 13th floor (room 1328) which had a very nice view of the lake and surrounding area. No real complaints as the room and bath were clean - but the furniture was worn and should be replaced. The bed was comfortable - no issues there. The executive room option included a coffee pot, two separate bathrooms, as well as a full size sofa adjacent to the full view window.

The attached casino has a nice variety of gambling options, and there are several eating options on site (fast food, café, buffet and steak house). There is also a CVS pharmacy close by as well as the Heavenly Village area just adjacent to the casino.

This is not a budget hotel (both facility and food), but if price is of no consideration, it's a great location and facility. Walkable to the Heavenly Gondola for skiing and lots of free parking adjacent to the hotel.

Would recommend

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Guest Relations Manager at Harrah's Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello,

Thank you for your visit and comments. We're very happy you enjoyed your most of your stay. We recognize you have many casino gaming resort choices and are delighted you chose us. We’re pleased you enjoyed the casino and dining options. As one of the original properties in the Harrah’s/Caesars network, we do recognize there is some opportunity to continue to upgrade our rooms. We have, however, updated a majority of our rooms and continue to work on upgrades as we can. We look forward to future opportunities to serve you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

+ Great lake view, we went for upgrade to high floors, its worth it
+ Two bathrooms, nice.
+ Good location, quick valet service, decent casino
+ The restaurant with sports bar has pretty good food and service
+ Breakfast at the American river cafe had good ambiance (we got the right seat)

- WiFi wasn't working, even though included in resort fee.
- Front desk was terrible during check-in and check-out. Almost lifeless and unwelcoming attitude
- Room and the hotel was old and dusty

Overall, it was a mixed experience. Given the options in Lake Tahoe I would consider Harrahs or Harveys again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Guest Relations Manager at Harrah's Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello,

Thank you for your visit and comments. We're very happy you enjoyed your most of your stay. Thank you for making the effort to travel from the UK to the Tahoe area. We appreciate your business. I shared your comments with our Hotel Management for appropriate employee review and coaching. We strive to provide the best possible service. Although it sounds as if we succeeded in many areas, I apologize our front desk and housekeeping staff failed to meet expectations. Unfortunately, we were upgrading our Wi-Fi during your visit. Again, please accept our apologies for any inconveniences. We hope to better serve you again in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Harrahs, Lake Tahoe, is one of my favorite hotels. It is at the Lake with beautiful view; we always get the high floors. Admitted it is a bit aged, but overall is top, to my experience. Staffs are professional, rooms with two bathrooms. Lots of choices of eating places, most of them are at quality level. A good get-away from the city.

Room Tip: Request odd-number rooms, which has the California side of view.
See more room tips
Green Features: It is emphasizing GREEN, one of the bathrooms uses dispensers that cut out a lot of waste of plastic containers of shampoo, conditioner, etc.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Guest Relations Manager at Harrah's Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent visit and kind comments. We are delighted we are one of your favorites and truly appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to future opportunities to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Lake Tahoe with mixed emotions but left reasonably happy.. The hotel is very old and needs some work. The casino has a very good variety of machines, if you are in to that. If you have a choice, get a room on the highest floor. great views!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Guest Relations Manager at Harrah's Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit and feedback. Your review states you visited in March 2014. Although we are one of the oldest properties in the Caesars Entertainment network (the second eHarrah's property to open), we have updated many rooms since your stay and continue to upgrade when possible. We're glad you enjoyed the views and casino and hope you will visit again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I stayed at Harris the room service was really bad. I ordered from the kitchen and when it arrived the food was cold, the pie wasn't even right the server wanted a big tip. I guess that since all the Indian Casino's are taking all the businesses away from the Mountain employees aren't getting paid enough.
My dad worked for Harris back in the 80's and he was paid very good and Bill Harris appreciated all his employees at the time. My dad's job was Housekeeping and then he changed to the tables and was trained as a poked shell.
When I go up there I stay at one of the motels on the strip where my dad had a night job as a desk clerk and security just to make ends meet cause Harris didn't pay that well.

Room Tip: If you like the view, sleep on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Guest Relations Manager at Harrah's Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We apologize the room service food did not meet expectations. We strive to deliver excellence at all times; however, it sounds like we missed the mark from your description. We hope you told someone on property about the food quality so we could make it right. We do appreciate your busniess and feedback so that we may improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Address: 15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Hotel Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.