We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Wedding Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stateline
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Destination Wedding Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We chose this hotel for our destination wedding which took place on a yacht in California waters in Lake Tahoe. This hotel got good reviews and we were able to book rooms at reasonable prices. Our rom was on the 6th floor and we could see the lake by looking out an angled window. The main view was a parking garage roof next door.

The room was nicely furnished and quite large with two full baths. However, the furniture is shabby and dreary with all the wood at the carpet line scuffed and marred. Everything worked well including the air-conditioning and the room was clean.

The décor is quite strange with all the walls lined with oil paintings in a new-classical motif.

We had dinner at Friday's Station on the top floor and had wonderful and some of the worst service I ever experienced in a restaurant of that caliber.

Room Tip: Join the Total Rewards club with a Visa card to have the Resort Fees taken off your bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    268
    119
    45
    39
See reviews for
131
339
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It appears that Harrah's has forgotten their property at Lake Tahoe. My husband favors Harrah's properties due to his status with their gamblers' Total Rewards programs. As others have noted, the entire property needs a major overhaul from top to bottom. Even with a comp'd room for 3 nights, we could only endure one night there before we moved to Incline Village. We understand that Hard Rock is taking over one of the properties down the street from Harrah's. Hopefully this will create some competition with a new property and cause Harrah's to wake up and invest some $$ here. There is one good thing I have to say about the property: Friday's Station Steak and Seafood Grill on the top floor was a very pleasant surprise. Food and service were both quite good. Sadly, there is nothing else positive to say about this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I use to come to Jerez but after my horrible night club experience there I will never return. The night club management staff needs to be changed, I tipped the DJ $40 to make a request for a groom of a wedding party, it never was presented. I asked our VIP host many times when the request will be made, she kept telling me soon. 3 hours later the request still did not happen even though we had heard at least eight other requests come out an announcement for bachelor parties and other wedding presentations. I wasted my money and the overall casino is very unfriendly.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just got back from Tahoe.I have enjoyed many stays at Harrah's over the last 30 years. That has not been the case the last few times up there. The room wasn't very nice. The leg on the chair was bent and ready to fall off. Many items in the room needed fixing or replacement. Also the so called "resort" fee is a joke. 22.60 a night for things you don't really need or want. This is what happens when you can't tighten the machines any more. You charge fees that customers won't use and don't cost the company anything. Time to find a new place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our summer houseguests from Europe were excited to see Lake Tahoe. We booked a room a Harrah's Stateline but were both shocked and disappointed at what we found. The furnishings in our room were were tired. The wallpaper is peeling off in the elevators for goodness sakes! The downstairs cafe is gloomy. The buffet, which used to be the crown jewel of the hotel, was not at all special, small tough, steak, tiny crab legs, not one dessert worthy of mention. But what really was the worst shock of all was the pool. The fact that Harrahs still uses it in their advertising is astonishing. We expected to order lunch at the pool and WoW, were we surprised. The tiny indoor poor boasts one soda machine. There is no jacuzzi. A sliding glass door takes you outside to a grass and rocky "area" without any decor. There are plastic, yes, plastic, chairs and lounges strewn about, many of them broken. No pool boy, no attendant, no waitress. The area is beyond shabby, it is simply not maintained. We were embarrassed and our guest was horrified. So much for our afternoon by the pool at Harrahs
"Resort." Be careful, Harrahs, you're barely clinging to those stars!! It's time to close down for a total refurbishment.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice place to stay I'm not really into gambling but the room was nice. The buffet wasn't bad either and it was cheap. They have many restaurants to chose from and other great places are in walking distance.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Initially I was concerned that we were staying at a casino in beautiful Lake Tahoe but in all honesty, it was for one night passing through and it was perfectly acceptable, lots of food choices inside and a big (albeit it very smoky) casino, the rooms were massive with two bathrooms and in all honesty the bed was probably the comfiest we had in ten days of a road trip and we even had a view of the lake. There are probably better places to stay in this area but still recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Address: 15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Hotel Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.