We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely set up for Tahoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Harrah's Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Stateline
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reno
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nicely set up for Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I'm a local (Reno) and had never stayed at Harrah's Tahoe - but went for one night on Saturday - Room was clean, comfortable and surprisingly large. The carpet is a bit worn, but I can imagine the wear it takes with everyone walking around in their ski and snow boots on them. The one downfall was the shower - weird configuration to the shower heads, that only allows the water to be sprayed out low and straight ... strange - and not very hot water o ther than that, amenities were great, they have plenty of places to eat, play, etc. Starbucks, shopping, views of the mountains and lake. Being connected to Harveys is a plus --- Hard Rock has consistently good food, Cabo Wabo is fun, and Party with Artie is the best party in Tahoe!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    233
    112
    38
    36
See reviews for
117
297
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Been here in winter and summer. It's close to beach, quick walk, and skiing (we don't ski). The CS is good here, I'm a Damond member of Harrah's, and I think this CS can stand up against any other Harrah's property in Vegas. The whole hotel needs an update, but so does every other hotel in So Lake Tahoe, so I doubt it will happen. The rooms with two bathroom's are great, view from top floor restaurant/buffet are great. It's great for a quick trip. The rooms are really dated, 2 nights max per visit for us. Heading back soon.....this time with 3 kids. Arcade over at Harvey's, buffet, pool/hot tub, will be on kids "must do" list......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Harrah's Lake Tahoe has clean well furnished rooms. However, it does not supply amenities you may be used to from other hotel chains. No free tea packets or free coffee in the room, wifi is charged at a rate of $11 dollars a day per device, the restocking fee for the mini bar is $20 and you are cautioned against even opening the door of the mini bar (say perhaps to use the mini bar as a fridge) as you risk incurring the restocking charge. Now, I stayed here to use the gondola at Heavenly, but it is a bit far to walk in ski boots. You are better off staying at the Embassy Suites if you are skiing as it is closer, and it is more guest friendly from my experience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed one night and had our 2 children with us. Rooms were very large with 2 full bathrooms. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Prompt room service. Easy access to casino. Moved here from the Embassy Suites and couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just came back from four night stay over the holidays.

Pros: Location, walking distance to shopping, Gondolas, movie theater, restaurants,, etc Rooms are large and have two bathrooms, and mostly modern (except for the worn looking carpets and poorly insulated windows).

Cons: Many, the place is crowded, run-down, can't breath in the casino, limited and expensive choice of restaurants (also crowded), no lobby or anywhere else to relax other than the smokey casino. The front desk was understaffed, disinterested, unfriendly and some downright rude, and they don't have enough valets. If you forget to turn on the do not disturb light, housekeeping will wake you up before 9 am (8:30 at our room) to do cleaning. They don't give you enough towels so we had to ask for more every day - assuming you can get housekeeping to answer the phone. If you have a problem with your room, which we did, don't expect the front desk staff to go out of their way to help you.

If you get a good price, I would recommend staying at the Embassy Suites next door, or if you can afford it, the Marriott.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had slightly higher expectations or at least hopes for Harrahs. The pros are its proximity to Heavenly Gondola and some parts of the old school style. Also I have to say the service is done with a smile and quite efficiently which makes a mediocre place somewhat pleasant. We checked into our non smoking executive double queen room. We had to sign a waiver about smoking (we don't) and arrived to a very smoky smelling room with ash trays and matches. I didn't feel like switching rooms so they used an ozone machine while we went out. It seemed slightly better but I'm in bed now and smelling smoke and wishing I had switched. I'm sensitive and its gross. The casino is cool in its old style but lots of drunk unsavory types. We went to the arcade which had good games but was a pig sty. Trash all over the place. Ate at pizza place in Harvey's that was also quite unkempt (trash all over the place, tables not bussed). So for me, it's kind of a turnoff. The room is large and reasonably nice. We were told they were just renovated. I'm not sure what is new--the bathrooms have some peeling plaster and wallpaper. Maybe newer carpet? Beds are fine furniture is scuffed so that's not new. We do have free coffee in the executive room and two free waters. Not sure what else I paid extra for. Room is clean but not perfectly so. Bathroom floor had some stuff on it (not cleaned entirely). In sum, for $300/nt its way overpriced. Maybe an off time for $100/ night would be a good value. The years of recession is showing in this part of Tahoe and at Harrahs for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geyserville, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Harrah's features large comfortable rooms with sitting area, two bathrooms, and floor to ceiling views. Definitely a cut above the sister property, Harvey's, the hotel still offers great weekday rates, and discounts and comps with the players card (Total Rewards). The casino is great fun, staff much friendlier than Vegas. There's a good buffet with incredible views on the top floor. My only nitpick is the rooms and common areas starting to be in a need of a little touch-up; beds and pillows a little soft. Still, it's my place to stay in beautiful Tahoe.

Room Tip: Best views on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harrah's Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Address: 15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stateline
#1 Casino Hotel in Stateline
#2 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Lake Tahoe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Harrah's Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Hotel Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.