We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, boy, this hotel has seen better days!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oh, boy, this hotel has seen better days!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Check-in and staff helpful and friendly. Our room, 835, definitely smelled of cigarette smoke and the furnishings were dirty and shabby! Yikes, there were holes in the drapes, the finish on all of the furniture was coming off- bedside table, desk, coffee table and headboard. The carpet had a huge snag, and cigarette burns. It was so badly stained I couldn't imagine not wearing something on your feet at all times. The windows had a heavy exterior film on them, marring our lovely view of the roof and parking lot.They really should call this property a high rise motel. Definitely wouldn't recommend staying here at any price!

Room Tip: Don't stay in 835
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    441
    177
    59
    47
See reviews for
256
581
58
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed ony one night this time, our first in years, and we were sad to see that the grand old lady is starting to suffer from shabbiness and wear. It didn't start out too well when they didn't have a non- smoking room ready for us. In fact, they brought in an ozone machine and said we'd never know the difference in a few hours. Well, 6 hours later we returned (they'd forgotten to remove the machine) and as former smokers, we certainly knew that the room had been a smoking one. In fact, the hallways reeked of smoke -- not a wonderful thing for a lung cancer survivor like me! The once-plush room was dated, with worn upholstery, dirty carpet -- but the views out the window still can't be beat! We didn't eat at the top floor restaurant; probably should have as the lower level coffee shop, dark and dated, served a scrambled egg and smoked salmon meal that wasn't edible (though my husband's evening breakfast was fine). We will likely give Harrah's a pass on our next visit, sad to say...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in October 2012 for a mid week getaway. We stayed Monday and Tuesday night. Room 1527.

Service
Check in was quick and without incident. However, I noticed that the desk agent said my room number out loud - why do they still do that - its security 101 to NEVER say the room number out loud! Room was taken care of as expected - no complaints. At the casino drink service was very good and friendly.

Value
The nights were comped so needless to say it was a great value.

Sleep Quality
The bed was comfortable with thick pillows which was nice. The room was easy to keep at the right temperature.

Cleanliness
The room was clean and I have no complaints. Some wear and tear starting to show in the showers but nothing surprising.

Restaurants
We ate mostly at the coffee shop in the basement as it was usually the only thing open for breakfast. Food was good and a little on the pricey side for what it is (typical coffee shop fare) but service was a little slow and the manager was over the top cheesy friendly - a little on the creepy side to be honest.

We tried to go to the buffet on the 18th floor but it is only open for dinner. They have a small food court with the usual mall-type fare - greasy and fast.

Casino
The casino had a good selection of machines. We didn't win but had a good time (I love it when people complain that they lost money at casinos).

Other
The room we had had two bathrooms, one with a toilet and tub/shower and the other one with a toilet and shower. I have never seen this in a hotel room before. It was nice to be able to shower at the same time.

The amenities they give you are minimal. I am not sure why hotels think a tiny bottle of shampoo or conditioner is going to suffice for two people.

Our room had a coffee maker with free coffee. We talked to a couple who had a room on the 6th floor that only had a Keurig coffee maker with no free coffee (pay coffee in the mini bar). Not sure if this is because we were in a different level room or not.

The pool is indoors so is open I believe year around. We didn't know that until we bumped into a couple coming back from the pool. We went and had a good soak in the hot tub.

Room Tip: Seems like higher floors get the coffee makers with the free coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed at Harrah's for two nights- room was spacious, his and her bathrooms- view not bad but, as others have mentioned, the rooms are in need of updating. One issue we experienced is that the AC tends to work at its own pace, so it can take awhile to get the room comfortable....we did get the room via priceline which made up for the AC issues....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs Ny
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at Harrahs West tower 5 nights and found it to be comfortable and the staff very helpful. The dealers were very nice also. The only negative was finding your way around as it was all different levels and we kept getting lost. Over all it was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Michigan
Level Contributor
208 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel was above and beyond what we expected. The room had a wonderful view and the bed was extremely comfortable. There were two bathrooms and a huge, walk-in closet. They did not spare any expense. The room was clean. No hint of smoke as is often the case in a casino hotel. There were plenty of elevators. The desk clerks and bellman were so friendly and helpful. It was so convenient to walk all around the South Tahoe area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at Harrah's Oct. 7 - 8, 2012. The room was lovely. We asked for a room with a walk-in shower with hand rails. We were given a room with 2 bathrooms, all the amenities we required, a lovely view, very comfortable beds, and wonderful food in the hotel restaurants, with a 10% discount in the Cafe with our Player's Reward Card. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely stay again. We did not feel it was over-priced at all.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor, and had a nice view of the lake and the mountains in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Harrah's Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Address: 15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stateline
#1 Spa Hotel in Stateline
#1 Casino Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Hotel Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.