We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If They Offer Another Groupon Deal, Consider It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If They Offer Another Groupon Deal, Consider It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We bought 2 Groupons for weekend stays at Harrah's Lake Tahoe for $260 each. It seemed like a good value for our family given Harrah's regular prices. In addition to the room, we received with each Groupon $10 gambling money, $15 restaurant credit, and use of the exercise room each day; there was also about $35 in tax we had to pay. So, it was $135 a night. The rooms were spacious and it was difficult to decide which of the two bathrooms to use, in each room. We asked and received connecting rooms which through a series of door adjustments became one big suite. BTW, the beds were very comfortable. Everyone in the hotel was very nice: they made reservations for us elsewhere, met our needs, and were genuinely friendly. The hotel is conveniently located near the Heavenly gondola and shopping. Our only complaints were the heavy doors, some of the windows could be cleaner, and you had to get coffee in the room from the room bar. Overall, we were surprised that our bargain Groupon did not mean a bargain trip: the hotel was another nice part of our wonderful weekend visit to beautiful Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    437
    174
    59
    47
See reviews for
251
575
56
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Our complements to the wonderful staff at this hotel and casino. The front desk, concierge and the dining staff who served us were above average in their efforts and served with a smile. Our highest complements to Joanna and Alex at the front desk, who treated us like family. We were comped a standard room on our account, however we received a wonderful blessing by getting a double upgrade the beautiful jacuzzi suite (this room cannot be purchased or seen online). Our suite was amazing in so many ways and we felt like it was a second honeymoon for us. While staying here we enjoyed a comedy show and meals at The Hard Rock Cafe, American River Cafe all which were great. We didn't get a chance to use the pool, but the gym was clean and the equipment was in top condition. All and all you can bet we'll be coming back as soon as we can! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in Harveys, but hung out here quite a bit since they're connected by an underground tunnel. The location can't be beat, it's a short walk to the Heavenly gondola. Harrahs is also nicer than Harveys (I don't know about the rooms, since we stayed at Harveys) and the buffet on the 18th floor has great views of the mountains and lake.

One thing to note. The comps are really hard to rack up here compared to other casinos, even other casinos under the Total Rewards umbrella. Plus you can't use the comps at many of the food places in the casino, like the Fatburger.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Overall Harrahs is a good place. Can get reasonable rooms and there is a huge Arcade downstairs for the kiddies. Good restaurants. The issue was our bed was THE HARDEST MOST UNCOMFORTABLE BED EVER! (room 814). We were thankfully moved to another and was quit comfy. Good sized rooms. Relatively clean. Awesome having 2 bathrooms! Would stay again, JUST CHECK BED FIRST!!!

Room Tip: Check the bed firmness first for your right comfort!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Harrah's Lake Tahoe really needs a face lift. It is okay to be old but do it gracefully. The carpets are original and threadbare in spots. The mattresses and pillows are soft and lumpy and the cleaning staff do not change the linens daily. Furniture in the rooms is damaged and the TV ancient. It is a 26 inch Zenith picture tube. The hotel charges $12.00 for 24 hr. internet and $6.00 for in room coffee. Talk about nickle and dimeing you to death. And now for the gym.....it still has the original carpet on the floor. That is a lot of sweat collected over the years. There were three of those old fashioned TV's but only two worked. So, when you are running on one of only two working treadmills you have the pleasure of staring at a blank wall two feet in front of your face. Lots of fun. Very limited gym equipment and a small workout area.
The casino machines do not pay like Reno or Vegas. It is like they have you trapped in the mountains with no place to go, so they can charge you whatever they wish.
I would not return to this hotel and would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

In October of last year, I purchased two night stay at Harrah's Lake Tahoe and just booked my reservation last week. We visited Lake Tahoe mid-week and had a wonderful stay.

Our check in experience was very good. It was quick and efficient and very friendly. The valet and bell services were also efficient and friendly.

The room was surprisingly spacious with a panoramic view of Heavenly Ski Resort and Lake Tahoe... We had a nice sitting area with ample seating, a very comfortable king bed, walk in closet and two bathrooms. The room was updated, clean and very, very comfortable.

If you are a skier, the hotel is only a block away from the gondola for Heavenly Ski Resort, so it is very convenient. The hotel has its own restaurants, but there are also plenty of other choices that are within walking distance from the hotel and Lake Tahoe is also only a couple of blocks from the hotel.

My only issue is that the lobby and casino area are smoking environments. However, the floor that our room was on was non smoking and there was no trace of smoke either in the hall or the room. So, other than making your way through the lobby, it was not a major issue for us.

We did eat at the Stagecoach Chop House on the 18th floor and had a wonderful meal. The restaurant is expensive, but we had a great window table looking out at Lake Tahoe, great service and a very good meal.

All in all, Harrah's was a very nice place to get away to and I would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are above the neighboring hotel and offer good views of Lake Tahoe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

For a place that costs $150-200 a night, I expect to AT LEAST have free Internet and a fridge! What a rip off! They charge $11 a night for internet PER device, and they will stiff you $10 if you request a fridge! Also, they will not WARN you about the $10 fee! It will just be charged to you as an incidental.

The rooms are nice, and the views can be great, but still, after paying all that on top of a hefty 13% room tax, they need to give you more stuff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Harrah's Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Address: 15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stateline
#1 Casino Hotel in Stateline
#1 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Hotel Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.