We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Pier

Sushi Pier
177 Lake Tahoe Blvd, Stateline, NV 89449
775-589-2067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Stateline
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
666 reviews 666 reviews
525 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
826 helpful votes 826 helpful votes
“Great Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

All you can eat sushi for a great price. Skip the basic rolls and try some of their unusual selections. Really very good. Service was friendly and quick. Did not rush us to finish. Usually go to Sato for all you can eat, but feel this was better. Atmosphere is definitely better at Sushi Pier. Would highly recommend, not the best I've ever had, but pretty darn good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    21
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sushi ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Amazing:.. My 3rd visit but still awesome. My only complain pls give me a real spoon to eat my miso soup.. Disposable is not cool!! But other then that this place is awesome with a great value and everything fresh!! Yummie!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sushi Pier Does Sushi Well!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stopped by Sushi Pier for a late lunch. Friends recommended the All You Can Eat option. I can tell you we walked in hungry and walked out completely and utterly stuffed! I can tell you that my partner and I love sushi and Sushi Pier does sushi well.

We went on a Sunday afternoon and the place was relatively quiet. The restaurant seemed to have filled up in the 1 1/2 hours we were there. We started off with the Miso soup and the vegetable tempura. The Miso soup was a little salty but it was warm and it went down really well! The tempura was crispy and delicious. I've never had a bell pepper tempura and I have to admit, it was really good.

My partner is a huge salmon and crab lover. He had the salmon nigiri which he enjoyed. He also had the Donald nigiri (salmon nigiri with crab, unagi sauce and a dab of sirracha on top)! He loved it. He also had a upside down crab roll which he thought was delicious.

I had the philadelphia roll. The smoked salmon and cream cheese was absolutely fantastic. The king kong roll was a little interesting. I think this was my least favorite roll that I tried. The roll had tempura shrimp and cream cheese inside (I think) and it was dipped in tempura batter and deep fried. I think the rice became mushy and really gave a weird texture to the roll. We both shared a Marilyn Monroll which was another version of the Philadelphia roll (except with fresh salmon instead of smoked salmon).

We finished our meal with the Happy Endings desert which was a tempura fried banana dressed like an ice cream sundae. Absolutely fantastic!!!!!

I will say that if you go, beware! The rolls are very huge (10 to 12 pieces). We walked out completed stuffed! The sushi is fresh and the rolls are creative! We will definitely be back!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Rice rice rice and Saran Wrap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went to Sushi Pier for all you can eat dinner. Almost did not go in because the doors were so dirty, but read the reviews. Nice selection. Rolls were very heavy on the rice, not sure if that is a regular thing. One of our rolls had pieces of plastic wrap that did not seem to matter much to the staff. We did get a small discount, but felt the abundance and density of the rice took away from the creativeness of the rolls.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sushi done well”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I particularly liked the horseshoe sushi bar. The fish was fresh and the staff was very friendly. We were made to feel like locals.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Pier also viewed

Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Sushi Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.