We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harveys Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Harveys Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harveys Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 50 at Stateline Avenue, PO Box 128, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Stateline
GreenLeadersSilver level
rocklin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Never again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Of course a casino will offer you discounted rooms to entice you to stay and gamble. I booked a room for my boyfriend and I, which was over $100 at the discounted price, and attempted to add an additional night. Nothing going on in the city; yet, price went higher in 20 minutes of booking.
Rooms are clean, but simple. I'm assuming this is the tower for the "discounted" rooms offered. We tried to enjoy the spa at 9:30, and shockingly they closed at 9pm. Wow....never heard of any spa closing so early, especially in Nevada. Casinos were slow, last time stating here. Stick with Monte Bleu

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    290
    165
    66
    56
See reviews for
139
340
32
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I didn't realize I left my house keys and camera in my room safe until a few day's after I got home! Called Harvey's housekeeping and got the friendliest person " Esmerelda" on the phone! She found all my stuff! Soooo Happy! Thanks Esmerelda!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed in hotels all around Tahoe and this might be my least favorite. It's just not my cup of tea. If you like to gamble, and ski/board it is walking distance to Gondola and has a lot of casino action. In the summer they have concerts and they have good banquit facilities for corporate meetings.
The Pool is bla and the hot tub is nothing to write home about either. We have had two different rooms here, one updated and with a lake view and one... well... not. Your room can vary wildly so book early and ask.
I have stayed across the street at the Marriott for less, with better service, nicer pool and only thing missing is the casino. If you are not there to Play, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good hotel right by ski mountain. You can walk right to the Gondula.Good food and nice casino. Room was big and bathroom was nice also. Great place for the price and location. Ski rentals were easy right in the hotel........................................................................................................

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Easy access to heavenly mountain. Great casino and connected to harrahs casino so if you want to eat at different places after youve been to all the resturants in Harvey's just go through the tunnel and you don't have to get ready to go outside in the 20 degree weather since you'll be inside the whole time. We like Harvey's casino a more the harrahs because it wasn't as crowded so it was alot easier to get a spot to play the tables. Minimum table bets on most tables were 5 to 10 dollars while we were there which was nice as well. Heavenly mountain is great but pricey great views of the lake from the mountain. We took the hour drive to north Tahoe to ski diamond peak which was a great mountain also with great views from the top and is now the best small mountain I've been to. Tahoe is now my favorite place to go to in the winter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I unfortunately got bad rooms - they overlooked the roof of a building with piping and smelled of cigarettes even though I had booked non-smoking and had been led to expect a lake view. After essentially being told "Tough luck" by the hotel staff - I tried to resolve my dissatisfaction by compromise - offering to pay for one upgrade of the two rooms i had booked. The staff, including the manager not only uninterested in resolving the issue, they were very rude about it - telling me they would easily sell out the hotel and make the $25 per room from someone else if i wasn't prepared to pay. Clearly this hotel is more concerned over $25 than ensuring their customers are happy. If you dont mind that the staff are rude, at least do yourself a favor and ensure you book a deluxe room - the standard rooms are sub-standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We always stay at Harvey's between Christmas and NYE every year and still love it. First off, you can't beat the Stateline location. Secondly, Harvey's is a stone throw to Heavenly Village where you can take the gondola up to ski/snowboard and where there are plenty of shopping and dining options to choose from. One of our favorites is Fire + Ice; check it out for sure!

While the rooms in the main tower (not mountain tower) are a bit dated with older fixtures and wallpaper, they're pretty spacious with large bathrooms and vanity areas. I especially like that the separate shower has glass a door instead of a curtain. Germaphobes can appreciate that I'm sure. The beds and bedding are nicer than average plus there are in room safes. There is also a desk, small table and flat screen TV.

We absolutely LOVE the outdoor heated pool and hot tub, especially in the winter when its snowing. There is nothing better than sitting outside in the hot tub, looking up at the falling snow and having it evaporate before it hits your face. If you prefer something warmer, Harrah's allows use of their amenities and has an indoor pool and hot tub.

If you're a Total Rewards member, the Diamond Lounge is awesome with free appetizers and adult beverages.

While Harrah's is more upscale than Harvey's, it can sometimes feel like more of a party scene. The casino is busier and there is a night club there. If that is what you're looking for, the properties are connected so you won't have to worry about walking outside in the winter and can easily shuffle back and forth between both.

Of all the years we've been coming to Harvey's, we did have a few setbacks this trip:
1. We could hardly spend any time in the casino because the cigarette smoke was so thick. We don't normally experience this here so we hope it was just a one time flaw.
2. Two of the on duty Total Rewards (Diamond) hosts was neither accommodating nor friendly. I'm sorry to say, but if we're loosing major bucks in a casino it would be nice to not be treated poorly on top of it. While our room may have been comp'd, we definitely paid for it and then some gambling.
3. The valet kid was rude and impatient. This of course translates into making a guest feel like we're taking up his valuable time. In turn, I ended up having to find a bellman to assist with our luggage. He was of course pleasant.

All in all we still love Harvey's and will be back to stay again. We would recommend it to travels visiting South Lake Tahoe.

If you're an experienced ski/snowboarder, make your way over to Kirkwood for the day! The terrain is much more fun than Heavenly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the "California side". I've always thought this was the best pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harveys Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harveys Lake Tahoe

Address: Highway 50 at Stateline Avenue, PO Box 128, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harveys Lake Tahoe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Harveys Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harveys Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harveys Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harveys Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.