We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel if you get a deal.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MontBleu Resort Casino & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MontBleu Resort Casino & Spa to your Saves list
MontBleu Resort Casino & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Hwy 50, Stateline, NV 89449 (Formerly Caesars Tahoe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stateline
Osaka, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Decent hotel if you get a deal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Received a very good 40% off price through Expedia.com. That price makes this hotel average, if I had to pay anymore it would loose a "star".

Good location, near a lot of other hotels/resorts, small shopping, eateries. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Comfortable rooms, but odd shower situation when the circular shower with translucent window has no door and the translucent side faces the rest of the room...hmm. I as afraid to touch the carpet...not too clean looking. Beds were comfortable and clean. Very happy the staff put us on the 6th floor - quiet and no smoking smell.

Regarding smoking...I'm not a fan of the smell, but understanding we're in a casino it's inevitable. The hotel did well in general to alleviate that smell seeping into rooms.

Would consider going back, but would also research surrounding non-casino options.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    208
    137
    121
    113
See reviews for
102
293
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I love this hotel! Not fancy, not new, but I LOVE the pool and spa!

I have stayed at lots of hotels in South Lake Tahoe and MontBleu is my favorite because of the pool with a water fall. The waterfall goes off every hour on the hour. The rooms are clean, but old. The buffet is great! Use your AAA membership for a discount.

Room Tip: Use AAA for discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teeside
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We had a 6-night stay at the Montbleu as part of snowboarding trip to Tahoe. We booked through Virgin holidays, stayed in a standard room, received 1 night free and $20 per person credit to spend in the hotels restaurants.

First of all the good points. The hotel is in a good location if you're there for snowsports - 10 minutes flat walk from the Heavenly gondola, Shoreline boards, North Face, shopping mall etc. Harrahs and Harveys are slightly closer on the Nevada side and the Marriott (California side) is closest of the lot, but still not bad. Secondly, there's seriously good apres-ski potential here. Players club members (free to join) get $1 (that's right $1!) margaritas, nachos, quesadillas and tacos between 1-6 every afternoon. There's also a nightclub on site and of course the casino is open all night. Finally, the pool is nice and there is a well-equipped gym on site (not that you need that after a day on the slopes!)

Now the bad.

The rooms are in serious need of a facelift. They were clean but run-down - need a lick of paint, change of decor or something. It was like stepping back into the 1980s. Our shower was pretty awful, either scalding hot or freezing cold like a hose-pipe - there was nothing maintenance could do. The walls are also paper-thin, we could hear everything (yes -even that!) in next door's rooms which you don't need at 5.30am when you've got a powder day coming the next day. Luckily the hotel moved us....which was just as well. We were moved from a smoking onto a non-smoking floor (even though we asked for non-smoking initally) - this was a bit of an improvement as the smoking rooms (and indeed the whole of the floor) absolutely stank. If you get put on the 7th or 14th floor then ask to be moved.

Next, although the pool is good; it is frequently very busy - especially on weekends. The clientele aren't exactly the greatest either - twice we had our towels taken, once with the keycard for the room in (you can't get into the pool without your keycard and my shorts didn't have any pockets.) Not good. In fact the hotel clientele in general leaves a lot to be desired. You get your usual share of the rougher elements of society in a casino, but the Montbleu seemed to have more than most.

Wi-fi is also a rip-off at $11.99 a night. Especially when Harrahs next door has it free. Mind you that means going into Harrah's...which in my opinion was just as dingy as the Montbleu. There is a business centre at Montbleu, but there is only one computer and usually a queue to get on.

My advice to anyone looking into staying in Tahoe would be this. If you want to party, Montbleu is an ok choice - you'll not be staying in the room much anywhere. If you're going for the snowsports and want some comfort, then I would stay in California - you'll get a better ambience here.

Room Tip: Don't stay on floors 7 or 14!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

Another great stay. We always have a great time here. We had a mini suite. I've noticed the rooms need some maintenance but overall a great place to stay

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I was torn between giving this hotel a 2 or 3 star rating. It is old, worn-out looking and smoky. The casino was fine if you were going to gamble and they have a couple of nice bars. The hotel rooms on the other hand are in desperate need of a deep cleaning and some upgrades.
Multiple stains were on the walls, sofa, carpets, etc..they were everywhere. They were even in the hallways and elevators. The decor in the rooms have not changed one bit since this hotel became Montbleu in 2006 (it was Caesars previously). Caesars columns and decor everywhere without one penny put into keeping the rooms updated. OLD TV's....no flat screens here. And the picture was terrible.
Sadly the other casino-hotels nearby like Harrahs, Harvey's and Horizon all look pretty run down compared to years past as well. Maybe they aren't doing well. It sure looked that way to me and I was there last weekend after some good snowfall. I expected it to be crowded at night after everyone's ski-days were over, but it was pretty empty. The food in the casual cafe downstairs was terrible too. Disappointed

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Montbleu this past weekend for my birthday... it was another fabulous stay here. We got a great room with a beautiful view. The hotel was nice enough to send up a bottle of champagne to start off the birthday celebration when we checked in. Tried the buffet and it was well worth it! Look forward to coming back here soon!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at Montbleu on Presidents Day weekend to get in a few ski days at Heavenly. It was my second time to stay at this hotel. Its close enough to Heavenly that you can get away with no having a car, and I did not rent one this time. Rooms are comfortable and clean. We had no issues that needed reporting. The higher end restaurant on-site was really good, and had a great wine selection. Del Sol was good for a late night snack.

The casino was pretty sleepy during the week, but suddenly on Friday night and Saturday night it became super crowded with young folks...much younger crowd than Harveys or Harrahs had going on. Interesting dynamic. We will come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MontBleu Resort Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MontBleu Resort Casino & Spa

Address: 55 Hwy 50, Stateline, NV 89449 (Formerly Caesars Tahoe)
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MontBleu Resort Casino & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 419
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MontBleu Resort Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montbleu Resort Casino And Spa
Montbleu Hotel Stateline
Montbleu Lake Tahoe
MontBleu Resort Casino & Spa Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MontBleu Resort Casino & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.