We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trader Dick's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trader Dick's
1100 Nugget Ave, Sparks, NV 89431-5750
(775) 356-3300
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Loved the atmosphere and the food was mouth watering. Wait staff was wonderful.
Table felt a little crowded for four of us.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Trader Dick's: Far from the Madding Crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I went to the Sparks Rib Cook-off on Sat., Sept. 1 and sampled three of the cookers, none of whom won a prize, but their ribs and sauces were delicious. To rest our weary legs and to get out of the hot sun, we went into John Ascauga's Nugget to visit Trader Dick's and its famous and huge fish tank. We wrapped ourselves around a Mai Tai each and watched those lovely fish for, oh, 3/4's of an hour. At one point, we turned to watch the streams of refugees from the crowds at the Rib Cook-off coming in and then we turned back to the quiet sipping of the rum and the peaceful viewing of the colorful tropical fish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Fast prompt experienced service. Wife had New York strip which they prepared perfectly. I had Prime Rib medium, was more medium well and not as tender but flavor was great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trader Dick's Restaurant is wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Trader Dick's sampler for two appetizer is great. The coconut shrimp and thai eggrolls are very delicious.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno nv
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Went back to Trader's Dicks Again!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have eaten in Trader Dicks for years As long as it has existed Few people know it was once in a building across the street from the Nugget. I was very pleased to see it hasn't chagned. Same decor Our server said it was her first night and she did a great job Two in our party had the special dinner and that comes with a baked alaska dessert! I had prime rib and first bite remembered John raises his own beef and it has a high quality taste Can't miss with this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Dick's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trader Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.